We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great food”
Review of YHA Langdon Beck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Langdon Beck
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in here whilst doing the Pennine way. It was the best food I have had for the whole Pennine way, so far. The rooms were clean and tidy. It is located 5 mins away from the Pennine Way. I would highly recommend it to all

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rtplatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

New management are excellent. Nothing too much trouble and great food quality. Great drying facilities. Sells beer! Pub is at least 20 mins walk so drink in the hostel. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Having stayed in many youth hostels before I know what to expect. In comparison to others we have stayed in this one was tired. Curtains needed cleaning / changing, garden in entrance area was overgrown and neglected, kitchen had a broken cooker and one with very intermittent gas pressure and living room sofas were grubby. However, it had comfortable beds and clean bedding and there aren't many other choices in the area.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank holgate79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Six of us enjoyed a nights stay at Langdon Beck while cycling in the North Pennines. The hostel manager Jamie gave us a great welcome, served us some generous portions fine food - Somerset brie & beetroot tart- and we stayed in clean rooms which had great views. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We arrived here with tired legs and stayed for a night after a few days on the Pennine Way, the staff were great, the beer was tasty, the hostel kitchen had everything that was needed, and the room had a fab view. What more could you ask for? There was no lounge area as such, it was just an extension of the dining area, and the couches were occupied by those nerdy hostellers that you come across now and then that have their heads in a book and speak to no one.....but apart from that, it was a great hostel and I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouflonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Loved the atmosphere - staff very with it and friendly, and a lot of care and thought put into the whole way the hostel is set up - from the wind turbine to the way the rain water is gathered and the sourcing of locally grown food - great! It is a hostel, so four poster beds are not available, but it's all you need - re-discover your youth!

Room Tip: reserve ahead - family rooms for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlweld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
1.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
229 reviews
22.9 mi away
YHA Dufton
YHA Dufton
#2 of 4 in Appleby
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn
#7 of 20 in Barnard Castle
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
501 reviews
19.8 mi away
YHA Hawes
YHA Hawes
#2 of 4 in Hawes
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#18 of 20 in Barnard Castle
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Langdon Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Langdon Beck

Address: Forest-in-Teesdale, Barnard Castle DL12 0XN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Barnard Castle
Price Range: £14 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Langdon Beck 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your YHA Langdon Beck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Langdon Beck Barnard Castle, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing