We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay”
other travellers have booked this property
 Lying in the beautiful Eden Valley, between the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales, it is an ide
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Lying in the beautiful Eden Valley, between the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales, it is an ide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Lying in the beautiful Eden Valley, between the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales, it is an ide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Appleby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanne K
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed half term and what a lovely place, the owner was very welcoming. it’s in the middle of nowhere so come prepared. We visited mainly the Lake District so give yourself an hour to get to the centre of the main attractions. Lots of lovely walks too. The accommodation was lovely lots of space to relax, it could do with updating a bit and maybe some more glasses to drink from as they were a mismatch but we managed. Also bizarrely there was bedside lamps but no bulbs in them!!
There’s a bbq and cause we had great weather we managed to use it, it’s a little rusty but we cleaned it up and it was ok.
I would definitely recommend and go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Hello Joanne,
Thank you for your review and for pointing out the some issues that i wasn't aware of... i am happy to report that the laps have bulbs in now and new glasses are in. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay here and i hope to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes,
Amalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Sharo...
1 review
“New Holme Cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Stayed for 3 days at end of May with my friend. We both took our dogs . The owner Amalia was very welcoming. She even brought us some milk as both me and my friend forgot, which was very kind and saved us having to go to the shop 7 miles away... we replaced it the next day. What a beautiful home. And beautiful place. Enjoyed our relaxing peaceful stay.. the dogs loved all the walks we took them on. Visited Appley and Kirby Stephen lovely little villages...would highly recommend ... will definitely be going back..
Thank you for having us ... x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2018
Hello Sharon,
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you, your friends and the dogs had a good stay. I was very happy i could help. I'm looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
Amalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H
2 reviews
“Lovely remote relaxing stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The location is lovely and remote so we had our meals planned with a food store delivery. The views are stunning as you travel to the location. The 2 twin bedrooms and 1 double was great for elderly parents, 11 year old plus 3 adults with a lovely big kitchen / diner. There is one shower in the en-suite. Great games room on the caravan site which was a big pull for us plus wi-fi in the cottage. Also can do walks from the cottage. Amalia is lovely and brilliant to communicate with. She lives next door and there are 2 other dwellings which are privately owned. It was a lovely stay and we would definitely like to return. Perhaps in the warmer weather as we had to make a quick getaway as the snow was falling and we needed to get home....

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Hello Ann,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here, despite the weather. Was lovely having you here and i hope to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes,
Amalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Hello,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes,
Amalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah301
Liverpool, UK
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

They lady who dealt with our booking was very friendly and helpful. The house was very clean, comfortable and peaceful. A lovely break away from it all with the family - look forward to returning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Hello Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. I am happy to hear you and your parents had a good time here and hope to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes,
Amalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Hello Norma,
Thank you for taking the time to review New Holme. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I am glad you had a good time here and hope to welcome you again sometime. I am sorry for the misunderstanding about the bathrooms, i will double check the description on TripAdvisor and fix this.
Best wishes,
Amalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Hello Dorothy,
I am happy you and your family had a good time here and i am looking forward to welcoming you again this June.
Best wishes,
Amalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing