We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Quiet Location”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Limes
Ranked #5 of 17 Appleby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Can highly recommend this B&B run by Penny. She is a very welcoming host who gave us very helpful advice about the area in a very unobtrusive way. The upstairs double room has a lovely view. The B&B is located in a small village called Colby, just outside Appleby, which is famous for the annual Gypsy/Traveller Horse Fair. Good local evening eating options.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaEllenRath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

We arrived very late at night (2300) on the Friday night, but Penny was most welcoming. You have an option (or options shall i say) to request a cooked breakfast the next morning and also to specify a breakfast time - i believe the times are anytime between 0730 and 0900. I opted for the scrambled eggs with Salmon and looked forward to eating this the next morning.

We settled into our room (Merton room) which was absolutely charming. The ensuite is small but more than adequate for our needs. I'm quite critical about cleanliness and i have to admit that both the room and bathroom were spotless.The bed was very comfortable and the pillows provided my neck with the best possible support.

We slept right through the night only to be wake up to the smell of home made bread! My breakfast was so delicious i could have had more!

If anyone is going to the lake district or even passing through, i would not hesitate in recommending The Limes for a stay. Penny and Dave were excellent hosts and i cannot fault them in any way whatsoever.

We will always hope to stay with The Limes if we are in the area.

PS - A big thank you to Penny and Dave.
Kam

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTwos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

What a find! Penny warmly welcomed us into her beautiful home and served us tea and cookies in her lovely garden. Our bedroom upstairs had the most incredible views over the countryside. Everything was perfect, the comfy bed, spotlessly clean modern ensuite. There was an excellent selection for breakfast. It was such a treat to wake up in the morning to the smell of fresh bread baking! Most delicious! Our hosts helped us plan our drive around the lakes district. It is so picturesque country and we wished we had more time there. We were lucky we could extend our stay for another night due to a cancellation. I would not hesitate to return and recommend this stunning B&B! Hands down, this place won our votes for the best B&B during our travels all around UK and Ireland. Thanks Penny and Dave for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclinksgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

A lovely B & B, we were made to feel very welcome with a much needed cup of tea and home baked flapjacks. The room was very comfortable and very clean with a relaxing view of the snow capped hills beyond the paddock and trees. Our breakfast was delicious all prepared with local produce and tasty home baked bread. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our walk into Appleby and our drive into Penrith. We would defiinitely recommend a stay with Penny.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, in early march of 2012. I arrived here 1st in my car with my other half arriving soon after in her car. Penny was there to meet me and showed us to our room and proveded 2 cups of well deserved tea and some very scrummy flapjacks. The room we had was the one downstairs. Although not very big, it fullfilled our requirements, double bed and an en-suite and was clinically clean, but the slippers provided were a bonus for my other half as she had forgotten to pack hers.
Penny then booked us into the Tufton Arms in Appleby that night, for a meal, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast that i had was fantastic, full english, but you can have just about anything you want breakfast wise, from cerial to fruit. We enojoyed 2 very nice restfull nights sleep in a quiet village with a fantastic hostess, great food, and a very nice ambiance to the whole building. We will hopefully be returning sometime this year for another couple of nights.

Room Tip: A great place to stay, nice company, great location and very centrally palced to visit many fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fazertony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This lovely B&B is beautifully clean and well presented. The welcome is incredibly warm and the food wonderful. You can request packed lunches and extra home made cakes. The room we stayed in looked over a meadow to the river and woods. It was very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: The Murton en-suite room has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 492Leah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Very warm welcome from Penny. - extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean - delicious breakfasts, with great choices - abandoned toast for home made bread, and oh that marmalade!
Packed lunches excellent. Nothing too much trouble. Delightful views looking across meadow down to the beck - so very peaceful and tranquil. We will return without any doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleby hotels
0.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.3 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#8 of 17 in Appleby
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby
530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wild Rose Park
Wild Rose Park
#1 of 4 in Appleby
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bongate House
Bongate House
#9 of 17 in Appleby
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Address: Colby, Appleby CA16 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby
Price Range: £77 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limes B&B rests in the heart of the Eden Valley in the village of Colby, two miles north west of Appleby. We have the Pennines to the east and Lake District to the west.We have three lovely centrally heated bedrooms one with king size bed and en-suite, one downstairs king size / twin bedded with en-suite and one double room with private bathroom. All with their own Freeview TV and coffee/tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing