We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes
Ranked #4 of 17 Appleby B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Under 10 minutes from Appleby (pretty market town). Modern house on a quiet road. Inside everything is to a very high standard. Rooms have a Scandinavian feel with a lot of light wood finish. Excellent bathroom en suite for one of our rooms. One bedroom has to go downstairs for bathroom but that is fine and the bathroom itself is great. A library of books and DVDs on the landing is a nice touch. you wake up to a beautiful view and come down to a wonderful breakfast in a light filled room. Penny is a perfect host. We only stayed one night on the way to Scotland but this would be an excellent base for touring.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in this faultless B&B for one night. The Limes is a beautiful home and the Oranges have created a wonderful B&B. Penny was even kind enough to relax her rules of a two night minimum stay for an ensuite room (needed for health reasons) and wouldn't accept extra payment. After a VERY long drive, Penny couldn't have been more welcoming with a delicious panini supper available to us as well as a complimentary cup of tea and cake on arrival. Spotless, comfortable bedroom. Beautifully prepared breakfast eaten around a friendly, family dining table with the other guests. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AquaSuliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangesberg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Would certainly recommend this B & B, accommodation, service and breakfast was great. It can not get better than this. There was even gluten free options.
Location, between the Yorkshire Dales National Park and the Lake District is good. Both areas are easily explored by day trips from here. We got a lot of good tips and advice on how we would go from B & B to see more. Big plus that you could order field lunch to take along. How convenient isn't that?
If you travel to the area, book accommodation here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Me, my partner (who was 8 months pregnant), her parents and sister booked out the whole place for 2 nights to attend a wedding. Never had such personal concern and attention to detail before. The place is spotless and facilities are a good standard. Penny is a fantastic cook, I recommend buying the lemon traybake! Wish we could have spent more time there, if we ever go back to the area, we will be stopping here.

Room Tip: Biggest room is the upstairs double and it has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Civil_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Went for the first time with my Mum for 1 night last year and loved it so stayed 2 nights this time.

Penny is brilliant and a very welcoming host and nothing is too much.

The room was the same as last year and spotless again. Very comfortable bed. Still love the home made flapjack so bought some more!! Even bought a new table and chairs for the patio area when we were there!

What can I say about the breakfast..... awesome, just awesome. Home made bread with a cooked breakfast. Perfect.

Can't wait to go back next year.

Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a top notch B&B and hosts, Penny and David, are outstanding - nothing is too much trouble. The warmest of welcomes awaits with tea and homemade treats which can be eaten in the garden lookng over the fields and fells of the north Pennines. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and the upstairs double has a lovely view. It's very handy for nearby Appleby and shrewd advice is given over the best local eateries and hostellries which are only a mile away. Breakfast is wonderful - it will set up for the rest of the day if you wish and the wonderful smell of the homemade baking will tempt you downstairs! This B&B is recommended without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a wonderful B&B. Penny and David make this place what it is - warm, friendly and welcoming. We could go on and extol all the virtues of this place - the breakfast, the views, the cleanliness, the facilities, the homebaking etc as others have done before. But without the charm, humour and friendliness of our hosts it would not be the truly wonderful place it is. Keep doing what you are both very good at. We will definitely be back

Room Tip: Back double room upstairs has wonderful view out of the large window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
0.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
325 reviews
12.0 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrowgarth Guest House
Barrowgarth Guest House
#6 of 17 in Appleby
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Property: The Limes
Address: Colby, Appleby CA16 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limes B&B rests in the heart of the Eden Valley in the village of Colby, two miles north west of Appleby. We have the Pennines to the east and Lake District to the west.We have three lovely centrally heated bedrooms one with king size bed and en-suite, one downstairs king size / twin bedded with en-suite and one double room with private bathroom. All with their own Freeview TV and coffee/tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing