We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Stay at Bank End House”
Review of Bank End House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appleby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bank End House
Ranked #6 of 17 Appleby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our 8th stay at Bank End House which in itself shows how highly we rate Dave and Jackie Watkinson's bed and breakfast. As usual we enjoyed the warm welcome and cup of tea in the library which also gave us a chance to both catch up on news and discuss with Dave our hiking plans for the next couple of days. His detailed knowledge of the surrounding area and likely weather conditions is always a great help in deciding where we will go for some good hiking. Our spacious rooms with their modern en-suite facilities were immaculately clean and comfortable with some nice touches including a cafetiere with real coffee and fresh milk. As usual Jackie's breakfasts were excellent offering an extensive and well balanced choice of cold and hot food. I particularity enjoyed her locally sourced bacon and sausages. Bank End House is within easy reach of both the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales making it the ideal location to explore this part of Northern England.
Thanks to Jackie and Dave for yet another wonderful stay - we shall return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 300BobT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Eccentric welcome. Tried their hardest but are not natural bed and breakfast hosts. (Had forgotten to empty the bins from the previous guests) Rooms were spacious warm and comfortable. Breakfast fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMM22101963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Jackie and David at Bank End saved us! We had been very disorganized and failed to book somewhere on stay on a busy racing weekend in town so everywhere was full they managed to help us. It was a a lovely stay with a fab breakfast to set us up for a days racing!

Richard & Jacqueline

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacwil2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

From the personal welcome to the friendly goodbye every effort was made to ensure a relaxing and comfortable stay. The country location afforded peaceful views across rolling fields with moorland hills beyond. A spacious room with modern en suite, tastefully decorated, ensured a restful night sleep. Breakfast was served with the same attention to detail, down to the freshly squeezed orange juice! Our thanks to Jackie and David Watkinson for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Time14traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A truly excellent stay with great attention to detail. We highly recommend a stay at Bank End House where you will be made very welcome and all your needs no matter how small will be addressed. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lovely large rooms with great facilities. It is very easy to find and there is off road parking. Brilliant breakfast and there is a large choice. Very hospitable place to stay! Thank you Jackie and David for such a welcoming stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

With the very helpful assistance of the Appleby Tourist office,we arrived at Low Bank House to be greeted on the doorstep by Jackie and David Watkinson who welcomed us into their home with a pot of tea and joined us for a home from home chat.I can be a bit critical but for Comfort,Cleanliness and a good breakfast ,Joycelyn(Joyce) and I have nothing but praise.
Please pay a visit toBank End House.Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 96allan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleby hotels
0.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.2 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#8 of 17 in Appleby
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bongate House
Bongate House
#9 of 17 in Appleby
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wild Rose Park
Wild Rose Park
#1 of 4 in Appleby
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank End House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank End House

Address: Bank End House Bank END, Appleby CA16 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby
Price Range: £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank End House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing mid-Victorian country residence standing in two areas of grounds and situated a mile and a half from the centre of the historic market town of Appleby in the old county of Westmorland. just off the A66 and less than thirty minutes from the M6 motorway we are ideally placed to explore not only the delightful little-known local Eden Valley but also the adjacent Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and the North Pennines. We opened as Bed and Breakfast establishment in 2006 having retired early from working in education in London seeking a change of life. Since then we have worked hard to provide superior accommodation for those of you who wish to stay as guests in our home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bank End House Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing