We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay. ”
Review of Bongate House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bongate House
Ranked #9 of 17 Appleby B&B and Inns
rct
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must stay. ”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here last year it was an obvious choice to stay again. Very welcoming hosts and comfortable stay. Spotless rooms. Excellent breakfast and great area for natural beauty.will definately stay again and highly recommended.thankyou john and mary.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anthonywelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BongateHouse, Owner at Bongate House, responded to this review, 17 September 2015
Thank you for your very kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
30
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ingleton And Belton Lincs.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Leaving for our walk to Kirkby Stephen after our stay at our lovely hotel in Appleby. Friendly service, smart, clean room. After our fantastic breakfast. We were given a huge packed lunch to eat on our walk. We can recommend this hotel, as a central position for walking in this area. We would have liked to stop longer, and see more of the area. Appleby is a wonderful town, with lots of nice cafe's, pub's etc. We had lunch at a nice cafe on the bridge, sat on a balcony in the sun looking over the river. The walk we did was from a walk that Wainwright did in 1938 - Walk in the Pennines. Going from Settle up to Hadrians Wall back down to Settle. This is only a days walk. Fantastic trip. We are hoping to do several trips from the book. From Kirkby Stephen next to Garsdale, then to Sedbergh then home to Ingleton. So if your in the area, we can highly recommend either a night or more at the Bongate House. We missed out on looking round the lovely gardens, but we saw it from our balcony. There's even room and chance to get married there if that is what your looking for!!!

Room Tip: Spacious, nicely decorated, tea coffee and biscuits. Balcony, Nice shower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingletonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The third evening of our Reeth-Sedbergh long distance walk and having enjoyed the beauty of High Cup Scar, we arrived in Appleby-in-Westmorland and to the warm welcome offered by John at Bongate House.
This is an immaculate B&B with nicely furnished rooms and a snug feel about it. John is a wonderful host and nothing is too much trouble.
Noteworthy positives:
Bongate House is in a good location, just south of the main centre of Appleby and in easy reach of the Royal Oak where we enjoyed a superb evening meal.
The rooms are nicely decorated. My bed was comfortable and I was refreshed for the next day's hike.
Breakfast was nicely cooked and there was a good selection of fruit and cereal on offer too. Salmon and scrambled eggs is also on the menu!
For those travelling by car, there is a good sized private car park.
It is my plan to return to Appleby to explore the area on foot further in the not too distant future and based on this visit, I would not hesitate in returning to Bongate House to rest my head once more after a good hike. A very nice B&B. Highly recommended! Thanks again John for a lovely overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richthehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Home from home its a lovely clean quiet place to stay in Appleby nothing was to much trouble we had room 9 it was ideal for my husband the breakfast was to die for plenty of room to park the car would stay there again no problem

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbarnes0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for two nights midweek while leading a guided walk up Cross Fell. Was made to feel very welcome by John and team; the room was clean, the bed very comfortable to tired limbs and the shower superb. Excellent breakfast both mornings; I had to leave early on the last morning but was still served coffee and toast with fruit and cereal which was very welcome. My wet clothes were dried out for me in the boiler room, indeed nothing was too much. I will stay here again if in Appleby in the future, well recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

On our way up to Scotland for the Malts rally we needed a place to stay and decided to return to Bongate House which we have used before. As before John made us very welcome and we had a great room looking out over the town and the fields. He also booked us into the pub for our meal on the night we arrived - which was very welcome

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived at Bongate house after a long wet and windy day in the Pennines. John took us in, produced a tray to put our muddy boots on by the radiator and ordered a table at the pub around the corner. The double room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The next morning we were well rested to enjoy the hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleby hotels
0.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.3 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#7 of 17 in Appleby
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#5 of 17 in Appleby
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barrowgarth Guest House
Barrowgarth Guest House
#6 of 17 in Appleby
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bongate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bongate House

Property: Bongate House
Address: Bongate | Appleby in Westmorland, Appleby CA16 6UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bongate House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***under New Ownership*** ***renovations Coming 2017*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bongate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bongate House Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing