We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Appleby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Appleby
Ranked #1 of 16 Appleby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Got this via living social spent 1 night
great little place and they was so good to the dog

Had mat biscuits and a ball waiting for him also could eat with us which was nice

Was a bit far out for walks near the lakes but other wise great

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madali22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    128
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
53
283
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Good hotel, the staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is very reasonably priced with a good variety of dishes. The specials change nightly and this gives you some nice alternatives to the usual menu.
My room was in the attic and I have to say it was lovely. There is a bit of traffic noise during the day but this soon quiets down in the evening. The facilities were good and there is free wifi available.
Definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a family room in the attic with a double and single bed. There is a separate dressing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Beautiful room,with your every need catered for even a set of straightners along with a hairdryer,the bathrobes were so cosy.The staff were very warm and friendly and the food was good and fairly priced ,will book again.Think will take my dog next time as they are dog friendly and have maps of walks that are close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is a first class very clean place the staff are very help full food is first class also it is a pet friendly hotel highly recommend there are plenty of nice walks around the hotel also the Lake District is with easy reach the hotel has plenty of brochure,s on the local area and beyond .

Room Tip: Ask for garden room as it opens into the large well kept garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We arrived with no expectations as we hadn't planned to stay in Appleby. Booked in at the last minute and found the staff great when we arrived - the booking hadn't come through but it wasn't a problem.
We were in a garden room - lovely access to the tables and chairs, and thought the 'foster' teddy a lovely touch as well as the bedside reading. If you stay I can recommend reading the compendium - very tongue in cheek and appealed to my sense of humour!
Dinner and Breakfast were both plentiful - loved the chips with my ham steaks, just like mum used to make!

Room Tip: It's worth the 'premier garden room' if you want to wander into the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideSusanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The unattractiveness of the exterior of this inn (ugly) belies the interior which, apart from the bar area (very pubby), is to a high standard (good). We stayed in a premier room and were pleased with the decor and the quality of the fixtures and fittings. The dining room was similarly well appointed and the food was not bad (the menu and the preparation of the dishes could be better). The sullenness of the serving staff was the worst aspect of our experience. There were not only unfriendly, they displayed a lack of interest which was possibly a result of a lack of training and professional pride in their work. Unmotivated is a term that fits. On each of the two mornings we breakfasted here, it took between 20 and 30 minutes before we were served our breakfast. The rating we give this property is largely down to the poor service we experienced, but the location on the outskirts of town of this property, with its frontage only 5 metres from the busy (noisy) main road into the town centre, also negatively influences the rating.

Room Tip: A garden view room would be quieter and enable one to open the windows without suffering from the ef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I and my parents had a meal here. I was very disappointed with my meal. I had the breaded mushrooms, which were that dry that I really thought they had been reheated. I had the chicken stroganoff for my main course, which I was also very disappointed with. I feel sure the rice was out a packet!! The hotel advertised HOME COOKED FOOD. My husband didn't feel that the pate was home made, The scampi was over cooked.My parents were quite happy with their meals.When we were paying the bill the barman just took the money with no thank you!! Needless to say we will not be returning to The Royal Oak.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royalblue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
0.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
0.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.4 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#5 of 16 in Appleby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wild Rose Park
Wild Rose Park
#1 of 4 in Appleby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Appleby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Appleby

Property: Royal Oak Appleby
Address: Bongate, Appleby CA16 6UN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Appleby 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Locals Kyle & Jan took over the Royal Oak in April 2006, following a ground floor lounge & restaurant refurbishment the hotel & pub has been re-launched. The Royal Oak is situated in the heart of the Eden Valley in the historic market town, Appleby in Westmorland less than 10 minutes from junction 40 southbound and 38 northbound of the M6. This traditional coaching inn boasts 9 En-suite rooms and its very own Holiday Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Oak Appleby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Appleby Hotel Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing