We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful market town”
Review of Tufton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tufton Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Last week we spent Sunday to Wednesday at the Tufton arms in Appleby. Our room was right at the top of the hotel, it was clean though quite small. We were on a groupon deal so we were not surprised, clearly at this time of year they can sell the premium rooms no problem. We had a very enjoyable stay. All the staff were well trained and very friendly and helpful. It is worth mentioning that the young members of staff were polite, articulate and friendly and a credit to the hotel and the hospitality industry. The menu choice was smaller than some other places we have stayed, however everything we had over the 3 days (we ate in the hotel every night despite a choice of restaurants within a minutes walk) was well cooked and presented. Our daughter and three grand children aged 1 year 3 years and 6 joined us on the Tuesday for the day as they only live 75 minutes drive away, the weather was warm and fine and we found plenty to do, in the town for children of their age. Feeding the ducks and good playground. If it's raining the there is a heated indoor pool and Appleby castle is a few minutes walk from the hotel, though we didn't have time to visit on this occasion.
All in all we look forward to staying there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arcrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived on Friday afternoon in July and were pleased to find the hotel in middle of small traditional English town. The staff were friendly and hospitable and our room was clean and comfortable and we had a great shower! The room was at the top of the building and it was relaxing to hear the church bells chiming and look out over the roof tops. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. We had wanted to explore the Lake district but the weather was so bad with heavy rain we left a day early!

Room Tip: Higher room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pammy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed one night on a cycling journey from Glasgow to Leeds. they even looked after our bikes for us. Very reasonable price wise and they let us have an early breakfast on Sunday. Well done to all who helped on our stay.

Reception is welcoming and a variety of places to sit and have tea coffee or something stronger.

Rooms are beautifully decorated and bathrooms are very well appointed.

A good spread at breakfast before you tackle the menu.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 as there is a terrible view out the back if you like that sort of thing I think rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The staff were welcoming and very helpful -- especially as my train was delayed, missing the last connection to Appleby, and they organised a late taxi to meet me at a more distant station (thanks, Tanya). Comfortable huge bedroom on the first floor with a separate sitting area. Overall, the hotel has quite an old-fashioned quiet feel to it. Excellent breakfast and delicious dinner. Hotel is thoroughly recommended, and there is lovely walking from the front door -- and surprisingly good local bus services if you start to go lame.

Hotel is 5 minutes walk (down) from the station, about 10 minutes back.

I stayed Sunday and Monday, and it was agreeably quiet at night (cf other reviews), but in country towns, life does start quite early so being woken at six or seven am in a market town centre would not be regarded by me as unexpected or unreasonable -- not that I was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllisW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked this hotel as part of a Groupon deal. Booked into room 6 - lovely little room that although was slightly small was very adequate and very clean.
Ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and the food was lovely and great value - 3 courses each for £44. Breakfast next morning was also very nice.
Drinks in the hotel were average hotel prices - £6.20 for a small wine and a vodka and tonic.
The only issues we had were the possibility of venturing outside of Appleby on an evening - there were no taxi services at all that would pick us up to take us anywhere which was really disappointing. Also the hotel wouldnt help us with a taxi they just kept supplying us with telephone numbers advising us to try them!! No offer to try and ring and organise one for us. The only other niggle was as the hotel serves alot of fish the hotel seemed to permenently smell of fish in the public areas - it was fine in the bedrooms.
Overall a really enjoyable stay and we would definitely return to the hotel although we didnt really like Appleby - other areas of the Lake District are much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just back after spending two VERY enjoyable nights at The Tufton Arms Hotel.

Our room right off the courtyard was bright airy and very comfortable. Two breakfasts and two dinners later our party came away well full and well impressed.

The staff, though many were quite young were impeccable in their attentiveness and helpfulness. Amy even found time on a busy first evening to befriend my very demanding granddaughter. Brilliant service!!!!

In DIRECT contrast to philip l's criticism of the food and dining room ambiance can I assure him that on BOTH of our visits it was bright cheerful and BUSY.. not JUST with guests either. Many of those using the restaurant were locals and obviously known to the staff as regulars. I can fully support "the boss's" response to philip. The chips and fish WERE obviously fresh and very good.

Dennis_Jo 2013 ... decorating is in progress !!!

My only criticism was that our first night was interrupted by the all night operation of the massive extraction unit from the kitchens. As it was NOT on throughout the second night I can only assume that someone did not switch it off at the end of the evening. The rest was first class.

Bottom line is often.."would you go back??" Most surely YES from myself and daughter.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 21/22 IF you want to avoid the stairs. IF lucky you can park right outside the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank depribsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and I would have given it 4 stars for a couple of little niggles. Firstly we had to scrabble about on the floor to find a plug socket that would allow us to use an ordinary phone charger.Buffet breakfast nothing wrong with that but bacon was always burnt and toaster didn't toast or burnt! Clean hotel and friendly enough staff. I would stay here again despite my niggles. We had a Groupon deal which I felt was worth it but I doubt I would pay full price to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northernlass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
0.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
12 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.3 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
11.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
10.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufton Arms Hotel

Address: Market Square, Appleby CA16 6XA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range: £91 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tufton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the medieval town of Appleby, just outside the Lake District and 15 minutes from the M6, this intimate family-run hotel offers excellent food, in its relaxed newly refurbished bar areas and in the Conservatory Restaurant. We are a fish restaurant and have developed an enviable reputation for dishes such as Gumbo's, Chowders, Goan Fish curries, Fresh Mussels (3 different ways), Cajun Prawns and Calamari, and our constantly changing fish specials all fresh daily from Neves in Fleetwood. We still have our traditional sources of great beef and Cumbrian lamb on a grill menu so meat eaters are not left out! Originally a 16th Century coaching inn, it was rebuilt in the Victorian times and is now a Grade II listed building. It blends both the contemporary and the classical creating an atmosphere that reflects the traditional charms of the past as well as the sophisticated elegance of the present. With stylish soft furnishings, heaped cushions, deep sofas, polished wooden floors and open fires its homely comforts are further completed by warm and friendly hospitality and free wi-fi. Each of the 22 en-suite guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Beautifully appointed they offer all the necessary modern comforts and luxuries one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Guests can choose from a range of different accommodation options including Single, Classic Double and Family options. For those special occasions they also offer Luxury Double rooms and spacious Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tufton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufton Arms Appleby
Tufton Arms Hotel Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing