We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£125
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
AnnieinWales
Talgarth, United Kingdom

`A wonderful stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jun 2022
This is an 'old school' hotel. It is not a concrete block, it has character and charm that is often lost in today's vacations. I attended an event in the area and stayed with Nigel and the team. I could not have been more looked after. The food was fantastic, the staff was so helpful, Lynne on reception and the other staff, could not have been more accommodating. The breakfast was huge and kept me going all day. I found it peaceful and restful, it's history is clearly evident. I have made an honest evaluation of a character and historical hotel. Situated in the heart of Appleby and is ideal for a vacation. Thank you so much for looking after me. I will definitely be returning.
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: If you want to have a stay in a character hotel, this is it. Not a chain hotel. I loved it!
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.3 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £136
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vio.com
    0.4 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £143
    • Hotels.com
    0.3 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    2.5 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
    Free parking
    Pool
    eDreams
    • Lol.travel
    0.3 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • eDreams
    3.9 miles from Tufton Arms Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
    Reviews (486)
    Filter reviews
    486 results
    Traveller rating
    197
    151
    75
    38
    25
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    197
    151
    75
    38
    25
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews two night stay nigel meal break pubs character groupon
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    8 - 13 of 486 reviews
    Reviewed 26 May 2022 via mobile

    Went for a meal for my daughters birthday not happy with plastic tablecloth’s and waited over one hour for our meal that was poor quality the hotel was empty no excuse just a shame as not much else in Appleby, maybe not place so much on selling your wine but selling your hotel

    Date of stay: May 2022
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Y111VTmarieb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 May 2022

    Had a 2 night stay.
    Booked a deluxe suite and were very disappointed with the accomodation. We went back to reception to check ans were offered an alternative suite which was okay, but we then had to ask for the 'extras' that we were expecting and had booked/paid for.
    It is an old hotel with lots of history but felt everything was dated, very worn and crying out for for some TLC, and a really good update.
    There was a function taking place on the 2nd day but, because of this, both our days were disrupted with various pieces of furniture and odds/sods being 'stored' here, there and everywhere.
    Staff were helpful and friendly, although both mornings we were woken by staff (who were starting to clean rooms) talking so loudly and incessantly. Very noisy.
    Food was okay, but plentiful.

    Date of stay: May 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank annie9464
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 April 2022

    Disappointing to learn our "newly renovated" ground floor apartment 21 was actuallyrenovated in 2017 and appears as though no ongoing maintenance or deep cleaning had been carried out since that time. The bathroom, particularly the tiled shower area over the bath had heavily soiled grouting with black mould evident. The bathroom floor tile grouting was also similar. No soap holders provided at the shower or sink, nor was there a toilet roll holder provided. The bathroom door locked had clearly broken off sometime ago.
    Within the kitchen area the microwave contained what appeared to be the remains of a previous occupants splattered pizza. The tea towel, certainly had seen better days, was well worn, discoloured and had a hole in it.
    Finally, a hotel guest or staff members car was parked immediately outside the bedroom window, we were awoken at 5.55am by the sound of a diesel starting and driving off.
    Needless to say we shall not be returning.

    Date of stay: April 2022
      • Value
      • Rooms
    Thank philsF8805FV
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 April 2022 via mobile

    Originally booked this Hotel as a ‘deal’ on Groupon but had to cancel due to covid.
    2 years on we re booked but decided to rent one of the self catering accommodations as we like our privacy. What a great decision that was!
    The accommodation was perfect, spotlessly clean with every amenity and more and so quiet and peaceful.
    Set on one side of a pretty cobbled courtyard, attached to
    the main hotel and with the option to use hotel facilities, ( breakfast, restaurant, bar…..), if desired.
    Good sized bedroom with queen size bed ( and tv) and a
    decent sized en suite. The living area comprised a lounge with dining table, coffee table, 2 seater settee and a sideboard with a large tv, divided by a breakfast bar with a
    decent sized, well stocked kitchen area which included, fridge, dishwasher, cooker/oven and microwave. We actually took a few things with us but all the necessities
    were there already ( dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc.)
    Breakfast cereals were provided along with tea/coffee
    makings (as in an hotel room).
    Very warm and cosy despite the dropping temperature and snow outside.

    The overall description would be similar to having a suite.
    We have stayed in much worse hotel ‘rooms’ at more than
    double the nightly rate!
    If we return to Appleby we will book this accommodation again and would highly recommend it if you are looking for
    a cosy, self contained personal space.
    We didn’t really interact with anyone else as there was no need, but the staff we did encounter were very welcoming,
    friendly and helpful.

    The hotel itself, a beautiful old traditional building, is
    perfectly situated in the centre of the Town which has several pubs/restaurants, butchers, fancy goods shops and post office ( a rarity theses days!) as well as a Spar and Co
    Op.
    We didn’t eat in the hotel so can’t comment on the food but the menu looked impressive.

    As an add on …..We did visit the excellent Indian restaurant in the town and the food was very good but, at the time of
    our visit, March 2022, served soft drinks only but this didn’t seem to faze any of the diners and it is clearly a popular restaurant.

    The Town also has a Royal British Legion Club, again a rarity these days and, as active members of the RBL and Poppy Appeal, we naturally visited and were made very welcome.
    Appleby itself is a delightful town with a lot of history and some beautiful old buildings, including the Tufton Arms.
    Overall, this was one of the best short breaks we have had and the best accommodation. Many thanks to the Tufton Arms for providing such a warm welcome and such superb accommodation. We will be returning at some point in the future I hope!

    Date of stay: March 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank SWalesWelshlady
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 24 March 2022 via mobile

    We booked a self catering apartment, which on arrival seemed very nice. However we soon realised that for £175 for 2 nights, it is not worth the cost.
    In the apartment we could not access Wifi(a modern problem I know).
    There were no instructions to operate the oven which seemed overly complicated and we still haven’t worked out how to operate the multiple button pressing microwave.
    The sofa in the lounge is the most uncomfortable one I’ve sat on in some considerable time.
    It is in a very good location in the centre of town, but I am sorry to say, we will not be returning.

    Date of stay: March 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank S4ndbank
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews