We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Firstly, i must say i booked this as a groupon deal, this is by far the best hotel i have ever been to booked from discount site.

Very good hotel, clean, brilliant service and excellent food both breakfast and dinner (i highly recommend the pancakes for breakfast). The spa/pool area was a surprise as it has a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, amazing for such a small hotel! The public lounge area is also fantastic, it has a mass of big, comfortable old fashioned furniture which really gives the old country house feel. The room (the garden view) was large and comfortable with nice beds, a clean bathroom and a nice view of the surrounding area.

I cant think of anything bad to say about the hotel or the stay at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhawkins223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

I wiil pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do try to create a relaxing and friendly and unstuffy atmosphere within the hotel and It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on thier face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,441 - 1,447 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here on a travelzoo package including, amongst other things, a room upgrade. I had booked it for my girlfriend's birthday and had high expectations from the travelzoo sales pitch. However, on arrival we were shown to a room in the coach house, ie not in the main hotel. It turned out the small print said the upgrade was "subject to availability" meaning "no chance". Our standard room in the coach house had a great view of the car park and nothing else. On settling down for a rest after a long journey we discovered that the room also featured paper-thin walls and we were forced to listen to an entire episode of Britain's got talent from the neighbouring room. So far my relaxing break in the lakes was having the opposite effect. The food, service and rest of the hotel were fine but my stay was certainly not 4-star and I wouldn't recommend to friends for fear that they would have the same disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your review, i am so sorry that some aspects of your stay did not fully meet your expectations. We do not try to hide any details of any of our breaks in the small print as the free upgrade on check in was displayed prominently on the travel zoo website and our own site and also on our online booking portal.
As you booked for Easter weekend and took our last room there was unfortunately no upgrade available. I can only offer my apologies for the noise from the adjoining room although we cannot regulate other guests actions.
I am glad you enjoyed the food and service and hope the negatives do not prevent you visiting in future.
Regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We visited this hotel after finding an excellent deal on 'moneysupermarket.com'. From the moment we arrived we were easily checked in and made to feel very welcome, along with a full tour of the hotel and beautiful grounds.
Our room overlooked the gardens and a lovely view of the surrounding countryside.
We didnt dine in the restaurant on a evening, however the cooked breakfast was quite simply the best we have ever had.
Overall, an excellent hotel with very polite and friendly staff, lovely gardens and leisure facilities. The bedrooms were spotless and the bed was one of the most comfy we have ever slept in whilst staying at a hotel!!
Would certainly recommend, however be prepared to pay quite a bit for drinks and meals at the hotel as this is a 4* hotel but certainly has the prices to match.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you so much for your great review of the Manor . Thank you also for highlighting our Breakfast menu, we like to use as many locally produced items as possible using Cumbrian pork, local dairies and fish from Morcambe bay.
Thank you also for the comments about the cleanliness of your bedroom and the comfort of the bed. I will take pleasure in passing on your fantastic comments about the hotel to all the departments in the hotel.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have just had a few days in the hotel for my mothers 80 . It was absolutely wonderful , we could not fault a thing . The staff are so friendly and really helpful . The food was fantastic , everything about our stay was wonderful . We would defiently recommend this hotel to anybody .

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fificats29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you so much for your great review of the Manor. The team take great pride in providing the wow factor to our guests and always try to exceed guest expectations, its so good to hear you were looked after well.
I will take pleasure in passing on your fantastic comments about the hotel to all the departments in the hotel.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

What a wonderful weekend we had, it too was a 'moneysupermarket' deal, everything was first class, from arrival to departure, excellent food, friendly and informative staff, nothing was too much trouble, not a speck of dust to be seen anywhere, the building itself along with the garden was just what you would expect from a first class hotel, and Appleby Manor was certainly that, great location for Yorkshire Dales and 'the lakes',would highly recommend, and certainly stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

I wiil pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and especially the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals so much.
I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful weekend staying at this wonderful accomodation.Everthing
was perfect,Accomodation,Food,Staff and the location is in the nost beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Many thanks for recommending the hotel, i am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the manor and the Lake District, hopefully we have enamored you to the area and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed mid february for 2 nights as part of a groupon deal, my birthday present from my better half.
We were checked in by very courteous staff, one of whom showed us around the hotel and then onto our room, situated on the second floor. This was clean tidy and the bed was comfy. Towels were changed next day and tea/coffee replenished.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was fantastic, from canapes including curry popcorn right through to dessert. I had the bresoila, cured in the hotel followed by duck and it was as nice as it looked, beautifully presented. My partner had game terrine followed by the roast beef which she enjoyed immensely but her favourite was the pud, a lemon asiette.
We used the leisure facilities, a little small but adequate for ourselves and the four or five fellow users at the time.
Breakfasts were great too,plenty of choice, i would recommend the fresh pastries, very good.
We would definitely stay again and would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsyerunkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you so much for your great review of the Manor. The team take great pride in providing the wow factor to our guests and always try to exceed guest expectations, its so good to hear you were looked after well and felt you got 5 star service.
I will take pleasure in passing on your fantastic comments about the hotel to all the departments in the hotel.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range: £91 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing