We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Nearby Hotels
YHA Dufton(Appleby)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hollies(Appleby)
US$146
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limes(Appleby)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandford Arms(Appleby)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bongate House(Appleby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveller rating
1,146
426
110
40
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,146
426
110
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housea garden view roommain restauranton arrivalheelis suitesalt roomlovely hotelcourse mealjacuzzi batheden valleythe main housedeluxe roomdining roomstwo night staygroupon dealleisure facilitiesvenison
Filter
Updating list...
1,485 - 1,490 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

6 of us spent 2 days at Appleby Manor and we enjoyed our stay very much. Friendly and smartly presented staff (not always the case in other establishments) who looked after us very well. Large bedrooms with comfy beds, soft towels, big TV all with a good level of comfort. Excellent choice of items for breakfast, and dinner was very good.
Lovely area to spend a few days in a very nice quality hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house, there are some rooms in a coach house
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you so much for your great review of the Manor. The team take great pride in providing the wow factor to our guests and always try to exceed guest expectations, its so good to hear you were looked after well.
I will take pleasure in passing on your fantastic comments about the hotel to all the departments in the hotel and especially Mike and Greg.
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is awesome. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel special. The staff knew our names when us into dinner (nice personal touch) and were lined up when we entered the restaurant. Food quality is fantastic and fresh. There are plenty of nice seating areas to relax and a games room for children, The room was comfortable with a nice large bathroom
I wanted to give this a 5* but two very minor gripes. One is getting from the car park with your cases. Its all gravel so you have to either drag them or carry them. Not easy if they are heavy.(Tarmac path please?) The second one was check in. The receptionist was pleasant and started to show us to our room and around the hotel at breakneck speed, we could not keep up with her, our cases slowing us down trying to get through fire doors and on occasion we lost sight of her. SLOW DOWN. Overall i would highly reccomend the hotel and am looking forward to returning in the future

Room Tip: Leave your bags in the car until you know what room you are in. Some rooms are in an annex that you can park your car outside of.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STUGDERBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

I wiil pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do try to create a relaxing and friendly and unstuffy atmosphere within the hotel and It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on thier face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeded in this goal. I am sorry you felt the show round was rushed, i will of course speak to the front of house team about this comment.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully we can get 5/5!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a two night stay at Appleby Manor and what a great time we had we stayed for 2 nights in one of the deluxe rooms with the jacuzzi bath etc. We booked for dinner bed & breakfast and everything was perfect the food was amazing as were the staff and the facilities at the hotel I really cant fault it at all and we certainly will return to Appleby Manor in the near future

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are great be sure to ask for a Jacuzzi bath
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed 30th&31st May, fabulous location, very quiet, fantastic gardens, secure parking, fantastic dining room, wonderful breakfast room, beautiful lounges, outside seating, wonderful staff. We were guided to our room by the receptionist who showed us the facilities. We had one evening meal with cocktails the food was amazing.
We had room 34 ground floor with a patio area and French window although not private great for the purpose of having a space to read the paper. Great room with lovely armchairs.
Not central lakes of course but probably about 20 minutes from Ulswater. We live in Dorset will go again highly recommend this hotel have made arrangements for our son and his wife to stay there for their anniversary. The only fault the pool is tiny

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Middleton70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

I wiil pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do try to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere within the hotel and It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on thier face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

From the moment we received Marions welcome and witty poem a few days before our visit, to the time we checked out on our final day, we were made to feel at ease. Our room overlooking an extremely well kept garden was clean and had everything we required.
The staff were friendly and approachable with a sense of humour. We were lucky to have had the luxury of a beautiful few days, which gave us the opportunity to explore the lovely countryside. All this and great food made our stay very enjoyable.
Janet and Douglas

Room Tip: If you have not been to the Lake District before, make sure you visit Pooley Bridge, then take the 592 road to Lake Windermere. The views are breathtaking.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glenburnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review especially Marion!.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews