We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful two night break at Appleby manor Hotel.
A beautiful hotel in a lovely setting with very attentive staff and excellent food. A real winter treat!
Several places of interest to visit nearby even in winter.We loved Appleby, Penrith, Ullswater (limited sailings),The Rheged Centre and the amazing Lowther Castle (you need a dry day).

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was super - spacious and lovely views. On ground floor- suitable for peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor. Thanks for highlighting all the great things to do in the local area we are really blessed in our situation so close to the Lake District, North Yorks Dales and the Pennines.
Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of November, with the help of a super Travelzoo deal. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were most impressed. We had a super room in the original Manor house, loads of space, quiet and with a wonderful view. The food was tip top. 2 evening meals, one in the restaurant and one in the more informal Bistro were excellent. Not a huge choice but it was all tasty and well presented. Breakfasts were fantastic with absolutely everything you could ever wish for available (the full English was up there with the best I've had). A good ,well stocked bar and lovely public rooms including a huge conservatory. Weather wasn't great and I'd love to return in the summer as the surrounding area is spectacular.
The thing that clinched it for us however was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Always with a smile on their faces and (I believe) genuinely proud of their hotel and keen to ensure all of their guests enjoyed their stay. It made us fell very welcome indeed.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a fantastic choice if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Fantastic! Many thanks for your review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife booked 3 nights for a birthday treat for me, after having been highly impressed with the website information. Indeed there were many positives during our stay. We were warmly welcomed and shown round the manor. The evening meal was lovely, as were our breakfasts, great attention to detail, a wide choice of food, and served cooked to order, fresh, hot and delicious. There was a wide choice of excellent wines and a prompt courteous room service. The staff were attentive, welcoming and friendly and always ready to help. They seemed a very competent and reliable team, obviously well managed.

Some features however were disappointing. As we sat down for our evening meal we noticed the restaurant was cold (probably because it wasn't in use, and we were the first couple to sit down for the evening meal) To be fair, the restaurant manager did apologise for this, but surely the heating should have already been on. The swimming pool was tiny, and really just a plunge pool. Our bedroom was outside of the main building up into an annexe of buildings, which meant going outside and braving the elements, climbing a slippery wooden staircase to reach a platform that provided access to each room. The bedroom too was on the chilly side, with one radiator not working, and the double bed was uncomfortable. On our second day, we returned after a 12 mile walk around Haweswater to find the room cold, no heating on, and very little hot water for a bath which quickly ran cold. This was probably because it was 3pm in the afternoon, the heating came on around 4pm. This didn't sit with the "luxury bedroom" claim that "set Appelby Manor apart" written on the website

We visited on a "special offer" and we certainly would not have felt we had received good value if we had paid the full rate. The prices for beers, wines, and meals were very steep.

The Manor sits in wonderful countryside, and within minutes by car you find yourself in some beautiful surroundings. We completed some wonderful walks which helped to make our weekend. We just had higher expectations of our accommodation and facilities and I believe with much justification.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I will make sure they are passed to the relevant departments. I am sorry the temperature in different areas of the hotel was not as it should be, we have installed a biomass boiler and the water temp is considerably higher than we used to have resulting in a few complaints that the hotel was too hot, we are currently trying different sets so we can regulate better. I will take your comments on board and look at changing the timings so it better heats the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mike and Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The manor itself is a really lovely building. It has a wonderful cosy and homely feel. I was very impressed with the games room, lounge, restaurants and bars. I cannot fault the staff at all. They were all friendly, welcoming and really attentive to our every need. We had a lovely meal in the oak room and enjoyable drinks in the conservatory. The breakfast was fresh and with a good selection of hot options and lovely pastries. I would have liked to have beans with the full English but that's just personal preference. in terms of service I really would have liked to have been asked what I would like sooner so that I wasn't left with cold toast and no drink by the time my main came. We did use the spa and it was ok as an added extra. I think the fact that they don't have it as a main selling point is good as it isn't an up to date 'proper' spa. The thing that really let the place down was the room. We were in the coach house and the room just wasn't very nice. The bed was really slanting towards the head and not very comfortable. The décor was really dated and just not good enough for the price we paid, even with an offer. I would have really complained had we paid full price.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend the coach house rooms; however as I didn't see the ones in the main house I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review, i am so sorry that some aspects of your stay did not fully meet your expectations. I am pleased the service and food you received from the staff was to our usual high standards.
I really do wish you had voiced your concerns when staying at the hotel as we would have tried our utmost to resolve any issues you may have had about your room.

Regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The biggest asset this place has is its staff. So attentive and provided a consistently high quality of customer service throughout our stay. From the restaurant staff, to reception, to housekeeping - I can't speak highly enough about them.

Our room was very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and cosy.

We dined in both the restaurant and bistro. Both were lovely meals and catered well for my wife who is a vegetarian. They were both good value for money.

If there's one drawback to this hotel then it's the leisure facilities. The pool is a plunge pool so not much room for swimming. The sauna and steam room are quite basic pieces of machinery too. An upgrade to these facilities is the only thing stopping it from being a 5 star hotel in my opinion.

It's a very minor gripe within an exceptional venue. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
Great to hear you thought your break was good value for money!
We are currently looking into revamping the leisure area, but a job of this size takes time to plan and to fund!
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay, lovely atmosphere within the hotel, the staff made us feel very welcome and the dining was fabulous. The garden room was more than adequate and kept very clean, unfortunately the weather did not allow us the use of the patio area. We did use the small pool and spa and enjoyed over an hours relaxation together. Will certainly attempt a return trip to this hotel in the future. The town of Penrith is a short drive away and offers a quaint change from the usual shopping malls . Would just like to congratulate the all the staff for their hard work and hope you continue to maintain your high level of customer relations and the service you provided for us.

Room Tip: The Garden room does offer a lovely view over the valley and fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. Thank you also for your comments about your Meals, we do try to use as much local good quality produce as possible. I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at the hotel, the view from the hotel restaurant is beautiful. The spa was adequate the pool is very small but we made the most of it. The Restaurant was good the food was beautifully presented.

A special mention to Carole on reception who was extremely helpful, in fact all the staff were friendly.

The only gripe we have is the fact we had to pay £60 extra for a garden view, when in fact all we could see were trees. Every other hotel we have stayed in we have seen the trees for free, we were in room 42. We travel constantly as we own a travel company and we are always looking out for good hotels to use in our business.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay, even though the weather was terrible.

The cost of the room service was the dearest we have ever seen at £10 per person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireLass210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Great, Thank you so much for your great review. It gives everyone at the manor a great buzz to know you have enjoyed your time with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range: £91 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing