We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time we dined here....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

On our previous stay we did not use the hotel's restaurant facilities and promised we would on our next visit. Well we returned again and were not disappointed. The menu catered for all and the cuisine was amazing. We dined in the main restaurant and in the 1875 bistro, equally we thoroughly enjoyed both. Breakfast is always excellent and plenty to choose from. Staff are always welcoming and friendly, and again made our stay pleasant one. Thank you again to all.

Room Tip: Go for an update to a garden room for the view and on lower level for patio access to terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chosen-Path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Perfect! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable. So happy that you enjoyed your meals, we do take great care in selecting the best local produce we can to insure we get the best possible quality on to our guests plates.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned home from an amazing stay at Appleby Manor!

It surpassed our expectations!

The quality of the food and service we received during our stay was perfect!

Mike our breakfast server had us laughing each morning and we would like to thank everyone who served us individually but we can only remember the names of the bar staff. So thank you Simon and Adam and to all who helped make our break away special.

We can highly recommend the steak if you go so thank you to the chef's also.

We hope to return in the late Autumn.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Great to hear we surpassed your expectations, its always our aim to provide to wow factor to our guests.
We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as the team put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. I will pass your comments on to Mike, Adam and the rest of the team.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

Hope to welcome you back for years to come!

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having got married inapril 2013 and my now wife being a teacher our honeymoon was spent at Euro Disney in a family room with the kids.
When we were given a voucher for hotel voucher shop as a christmas present we decided that we deserve a proper honeymoon so with the kids packed off to the grandparents off we went
the offer which we took was 2 nights bed & breakfast with 4 course al a carte meal on the first night all for £230, as it was a special occasion i suprised my wife by upgrading to a deluxe room with a jacuzzi bath for an extra £30 a night (worth every penny)

On arrival we where greeted and shown around the hotel ground floor then to our room,
We stayed in room 9 which was clean and has lovely a very comfy bed as well as nice period furnature
the only down side was the television and lack of channels not even the full freeview list, this didnt really spoil our stay but would be a welcome improvement,

The food is excellent we ate in the restaurant on the first night and the Bistro on the 2nd
The breakfast was also of a very high standard although at the risk of sounding common missing baked beans,
All the staff where friendly and the level of service was excellent
I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and hopefully will visit again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Great, Thank you so much for your great review. It gives everyone at the manor a great buzz to know you have enjoyed your time with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you find this review helpful, please tick to say it was at the end please.

We have just come back from a two day break at this lovely hotel. The staff were excellent, they were genuinely helpful and catered to everyone's needs.

The food is a MUST!! Spot on, enough portion size and tasted amazing! I had the lamb stock pot, it was divine, my other half had the sirloin steak, he always uses mustard but said it was perfect and did not need any, all reviews about the food being great are true. Oh by the way! Eat in the bistro as the prices are slightly cheaper than the main restaurant.

The room, number 11 on the second floor was super clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, only a double but still good to sleep on. The window in the bathroom was broken but at least it closed and didn't play any negative part in our stay.
Breakfast was done to perfection ( be careful, the plates are not just warm they are burningly hot, I caught both thumbs trying to turn the plate round) even the waiter burnt his thumb on another plate that he was carrying.

Each guest is given a guided tour of the hotel, wonderful customer service.
A pool table and table tennis were available also.

Books on the table at breakfast were quite entertaining.

The pool area........ unfortunately, this was the only thing that let this hotel down, the pool is not very big but we knew that when we looked on the website, however, it was full of floating particles which made us get out immediately we saw it, not sure what it was but it looked disgusting and clearly needs a very good deep clean.

The views are amazing, so tranquil, like another world, you could lose yourself whilst sat in the lounge or conservatory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We are planning to upgrade to leisure facilities but a job of this size does take time to plan and build but we hope to have a brand new spa built in the next 12-18 months.
Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was our second stay here, and again we were not disappointed. The hardworking staff, on a busy Easter weekend went out of their way to see that everything was in order. We stayed in room 3 on the first floor, spacious room overlooking the garden, so lovely views, the bathroom was on the small side, but everything was kept clean and tidy. The TV reception in the room was poor quality, not sure why this is, in this day and age.
We ate in the Bistro one night and restaurant following night. Top quality food on both occasions, although service for the main course was slow, due to busy Easter weekend I guess. Must say though, we are not great fans of eating off of pieces of wood and slate! I know its modern, but have to say we prefer a good ol plate! Overall a lovely stay, and yes we ill be back again next year. thank you

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy-Hayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Fantastic! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable, we like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure our guests leave with and smile on their face, refreshed and relaxed.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have booked this hotel for our silver wedding anniversary, we have booked a deluxe room as we wanted something special . Special it is not I have never been so disappointed ,yes the hotel is very relaxing but the rooms are not what is advertised on the internet. The bathroom is substandard and not what is advertised . When told reception we was shown another room that had the bathroom that was advertised but the room was tiny. You only get your anniversary once we made the wrong choice

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
So sorry you were disappointed with your stay, I was surprised you were unhappy with our deluxe rooms as most reviewers on TripAdvisor rate them very highly as they are all over 30 sq meters all have been refurbished within the last 4 years and all benefit from bathrooms with jacussi baths and bathroom T.Vs. We do not have misleading photos on our website every picture is genuine, also all the rooms have a 360 degree ipix image so our guests can explore every room we have.
I think the problem is you have seen a specific image and presumed you would get this room, first of all you would need to request this and not assume we know what you want. When you arrived and expressed your disappointment we did offer to move you to the room with the bathroom you had seen on the internet but you declined this move.
I really do not see what more we could have done to accommodate your request.
Regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just back from a three night break at Appleby Manor Hotel - revisiting old haunts from the past when we stayed at Wild Rose Caravan Park with the kids. Appleby hasn't changed much - very pretty little village but still feel it could offer more as really not much to see apart from the pretty church and Appleby Tower (if it had been open and not covered in scaffolding). First stay at this hotel, stayed in Room 1, which was very nice but with no view but we weren't there to sit in our room and the hotel has a very open a bright conservatory you can sit in. Did feel a bit like a doctors waiting room at times however but that was down to the other guests who didn't really seem to want to converse with anybody and spoke in whispers to each other!
Staff were very friendly and helpful, service was top notch at all times. Ate in the Restaurant twice and bistro once and the different atmospheres made a pleasant change, fitting in with your mood but you couldn't fault the quality of the food in either. Clearly it comes from the same kitchen but the Chef and kitchen staff obviously pay the same level of attention to presentation etc and the Bistro isn't viewed as the 'cheap' alternative - the slow cooked lamb stew in the pot was lovely. Breakfast was also very good but highlight was the Rice Pudding as desert at dinner which my wife loved, in any event there were clean plates every time we ate!

We managed to swim in circles in the pool - not the biggest in the world but we had it to ourselves and just floating around was very relaxing.

We returned home well fed, well looked after and having thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Only comment I would make is that the mugs on the tea tray in the room are a bit naff and I think they actually do the hotel a bit of a dis-service - seems trivial but they reminded me of Blackpool Guesthouse style (not that I have ever stayed in one). Something with some country scenes, or even a copy of the great picture of the hotel in reception printed on them would be far more in-keeping with the general ambience. But if that's all we have to moan about I'm sure that management will be happy - but you are much better than these 1 star mugs.

Excuse the 'odd name' this will be posted under, because of what I do can't have a Facebook account in my real name but I am a real person and we did stay here 3 days this week!

Room Tip: Only stayed in Room 1, nice room but view is over flat roof and has no outlook, but room os very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieOrmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure that our guests get the best possible break from the outside world.

regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,403 reviews
20.7 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range: £95 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing