We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here last year using an Amazon deal, and it was great. The hotel itself is a beautiful building and the setting was gorgeous. Our room was pretty small, I'm guessing as we were on a deal weekend, but it was still very nice and cosy. The deal we had included afternoon tea when we arrived, a dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights, and breakfast, all of which were really nice. The dinner at the restaurant was particularly good but not cheap, so I'm quite glad that was included. On our second night we went into Appleby and ate at the pub and again the food there was excellent.

All in all it was a really nice relaxing stay and it's really well located to see the Lakes. I would definitely go back if there was another deal because it was great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We like to think we go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the best possible experience, i will pass your fantastic comments on to the team.
So glad to hear that you thought your break was good value for money as this is always our aim.

Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    378
    94
    34
    17
See reviews for
120
1,127
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Lancs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just spent a night at Appleby Manor and what a great place, we were greeted by a lovely man who showed us to our room and around the hotel, the weather was gorgeous so drinks on the patio were called for the views were magnificent, dinner was outstanding and the staff brilliant we will return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnedglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Fantastic, thanks for your great review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, we try to make it feel like a home from home and we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere.
We are blessed with a great outlook over the Eden valley and the Lake District Fells - as you say there is no better place to enjoy a relaxing drink with the sun on your back.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, Glannau Mersi, Deyrnas Unedig.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Appleby Manor is hard to fault. The building is a blend of traditional and modern, with terrific views to the west over the south west over the Eden Valley. The iconic Settle-Carlisle railway can be be seen thorough the trees.

Arrival was straightforward, There's a big car park, and the receptionist gave a short guided tour of the facilities on the way to our room, just past the small indoor pool. The room was modern and large with doors at the far end leading on to the patio. There were two cushions in the room for the wrought iron chairs outside. We were worried in case the patio was really a smoking zone, but it didn't materialise.

The bathroom wasn't cramped and the shower powerful and hot. The extractor was a bit noisy, but then so's ours at home.

The breakfast menu was really good, and I enjoyed smoked haddock and poached eggs.

On the Friday while we were there, there was wedding. The staff informed us and booked us in for dinner at 8:30pm. We were out most of the day and in evening there was little impact from the wedding guests. In fact we enjoyed the live music (girl on a piano) from the adjacent restaurant - though the bridesmaids' karaoke should have been rehearsed!

Dinner was excellent. I had the soufflé and venison. The suggested accompanying wine was ideally suited, and supplied in generous 250ml measures. The local cheeses were just right too.

The bar had a great selection of classic malt Scotches (duly sampled) and the coffees were good too.

We had a query over an item on the final bill but that was rectified without fuss. All the staff were lovely and helpful. Then we left having had a great couple of days in Westmorland. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BionicJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Its always great to get a fantastic review from a top contributor like yourself.
I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
Great to hear you will be coming back to Appleby manor, we do get a lot of repeat visits from our guests and it is always nice to welcome back a familiar face.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

What a lovely little hotel.
So quiet and relaxing, with lovely views. The rooms are spacious and clean and the newly modernised bathrooms are great. The food is excellent, extremely well cooked and presented. Would highly recommend it to any of you foodies out there.
The hotel is suited to older people or those that are looking to escape the city to find peace & quiet. (Library quiet) :-)
My only (small) negative for this lovely getaway is the size of the pool, it's tiny! I would advise expanding it and losing the jacuzzi or vice versa, there isn't room for both.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, making us very welcome.
I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayhoLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Really pleased you enjoyed the food in the restaurant, its really good to get feedback about the food as we put a lot of time and effort into making it as good as possible.
We are currently looking into revamping the leisure area with a brand new spa, but a job of this size takes time to plan and to fund! We do state on our website that the jacussi is currently out of order.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I have just spent two nights at this wonderful hotel and we cannot find fault with it. We were greeted warmly and shown around the hotel before being escorted to our gorgeous double room (room 7) overlooking the front of the house. Yes it was over the front door but we did not have any disturbance and still had an amazing view. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and water (bottled from their own borehole) which was all replenished each day. We had pre-booked dinner in the restaurant for our first night, which I would highly recommend. The food was impeccable! The AA rosette, thoroughly deserved. We were treated with complimentary canapés whilst sitting in the stunning conservatory with a delicious glass of Cabernet Sauvignon for me (£8.50 for a large glass but worth it if you enjoy good wine) and a pint of the locally brewed lager for the hubby which was also very tasty and perused the menu. The polite staff took our order and carried our drinks through to the restaurant when our table was ready. We didn't have to wait long before being treated to an absolutely mouthwatering amuse Bouche (homemade pea and ham soup with garlic oil and slithered almonds) and homemade bread rolls. One starters were also delicious (scallops for me and cheese soufflé for the hubby) followed by a rather scrummy sea bass (me) and monkfish and chips (him). We were given plenty of time to sit and savour each meal but did not feel ignored. Hubby had ice cream to finish and I had a liqueur coffee. Each part of the meal was fantastic and we promptly returned to the extremely comfortable lounge to finish our drinks and play some board games.

After a wonderful breakfast the following day, we took a leisurely (15 minute) walk into Appleby and although there isn't much to do we didn't mind and took the time to look around the local shops and river. Upon returning to the hotel, we took the opportunity to use the leisure suite and although the jacuzzi was out of order, we were able to use the pool and sauna all to ourselves. The steam room isn't great and the suite could do with a bit of TLC but it didn't bother us.

After our relaxing leisure time we were then treated to a complimentary strawberry meringue and prosecco each which was perfect. We had booked into the Bistro for our evening meal and although it is a lot more relaxed than the main restaurant, the staff were no less attentive and the food was still exceptional (the one pots are highly recommended).

We played pool, table tennis and some more board games and even had a leisurely stroll around the beautifully manicured gardens.

All in all, this was a wonderful experience although after some reservations (booked through Living Social) and reading of ridiculous reviews, I was a bit unsure of what to expect. However, both me and my husband would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Any rooms in the main house (we stayed in room 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Si_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review, the staff will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will of course pass your comments on to the chefs and front of house team, as i have said before our staff are the hotels greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in due course.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you're after nice and relaxing then this is the place, in the countryside away from the noise. We had booked through a deal, so dinner was in the Bistro rather than the restaurant, the food was nice. Not much to do in Appleby area food wise..wished we'd eaten in the main restaurant on our second night as the menu looked good though more expensive than the bistro with more extensive wine list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YJeffray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure that our guests get the best possible break from the outside world.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for two nights, Thursday and Friday.
We had a pleasant greeting and were shown around by the lady on reception before being shown to our room.
We were in room 24 across the car park from the main building. We were a little disappointed being there rather than the main part but not enough to request being moved to another room.
The room was a reasonable size and comfortable for a short stay. I think the shower and curtain could possibly be updated but it was lovely and warm. I would suggest closing the bathroom door fully at night as we were too warm leaving it open slightly. We turned the heating down and closed the door on the second night and it was fine.
The selection of TV channels wasn't too large but enough for us as you don't go away to stay in.
We were given a voucher for a gingerbread tea on arrival and really enjoyed it. The coffee we had with it was the nicest that we have tasted for a while. My also shared a sandwich which was excellent.
We enjoyed a swim in the small pool before sampling the steam room and sauna which were ok.
The jacuzzi was out of action but we weren't too bothered.
We had an evening meal on the first night and both thought that it was spot on. My venison was exceptional. We had a bottle of wine which was pleasant but not cheap. I also had a glass of pudding wine which very good. The drinks weren't cheap but we aren't big drinkers so it was no problem. The breakfast was very nice and there was plenty of choice, reasonable times too.
The gardens were very nice and spent ten minutes chatting to a gardener before finding out that she was one of the owners. Very down to earth though.
I will certainly return but look out for one of the special deals.

Room Tip: Room 24 might be awkward to get up the steps to if unsteady on your feet. We also did the Rutter Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnyBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow, thanks for your great review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, we try to make it feel like a home from home and we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere.
Many thanks for taking the time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
p.s Pleased you thought my Mum was down to earth, she seems very grounded to me!!

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
23.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,836 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Property: Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing