We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two relaxing,wonderful days at appleby manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

situated in a beautiful setting in the eden valley this family owned hotel didn,t disappoint.we upgraded£30/night for a large room with a view which was well worth it.surrounded by friendly staff,excellent food and decent wines explored the surrounding area including a trip on the carlisle settle railway.the hotel is well stocked with brochures and help from the staff on how to spend ones time.
look forward to going again.it was a perfect country break

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Fabulous! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable. So happy that you enjoyed your meals, we do take great care in selecting the best local produce we can to insure we get the best possible quality on to our guests plates.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a couple on "mini-moon" for two nights in April. We greatly looked forward to "four star" service. However, the staff seemed over-worked, with some members being too pre-occupied and busy to genuinely be of help with things. The spa seemed in desperate need of refurbishment, with the sauna out of action.
The room, location and grounds were nice and this was not a bad stay. However, we wanted more from this potentially excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review of Appleby Manor.
Sorry you felt that you did not get the attention you expected, There are certain times when service does get very busy, especially at weekends, we strive to give all our guests the best possible experience and service as attested to by the many great comments about the staff on Trip Advisor.
We are currently looking into revamping the leisure area with a brand new spa, but a job of this size takes time to plan and to fund! We do state on our website that the jacussi is currently out of order.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We've been to appleby twice in 2013 and found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. The quality of the food was excellent and well presented. The hotel has character and is very clean with garden rooms being of exceptional quality. My only disappointment is the leisure pool as it's design doesn't allow you to swim and the sauna which doesn't heat up efficiently. However our overall stay was fantastic and we will return

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review for your second visit, the staff will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will of course pass your comments on to the chefs and front of house team, as i have said before our staff are the hotels greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in due course.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We only stayed one night but particularly enjoyed the lovely location and views.
Our evening meal was of excellent quality and the presentation and service was impressive.
Breakfast too was of a high standard.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable and nice and spacious.
Perhaps the only niggle was a large crack in the basin in bathroom which was a bit off putting.
also Jacuzzi not available in spa but it was explained this was due to maintenance issues.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Worth trying to get a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet58D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Really pleased you enjoyed the food in the restaurant, its really good to get feedback about the food as we put a lot of time and effort into making it as good as possible.
We are currently planning to revamping the leisure area with a brand new spa, but a job of this size takes time to plan and to fund! we expect the new facility to be ready late spring 2015
We do state on our website that the jacussi is currently out of order due to cracks in the under floor pipes, sorry for any inconvenience.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just spent four wonderful days at the Appleby Manor. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Everyone went the extra mile; my room was clean and extremely comfortable & food in the bistro and at breakfast was 1st class...can't wait to visit again next year if not before. Thank you again to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Fabulous! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable. So happy that you enjoyed your meals, we do take great care in selecting the best local produce we can to insure we get the best possible quality on to our guests plates.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We've just stayed here for 2 nights through Groupon deal. It was a lovely stay and we really enjoyed it. We paid £179 for bubbly and meringue on arrival, 2 nights bed and breakfast and a 3 course meal on first night. Breakfast could have been better on the first morning (possibly as we went down for breakfast towards the end?), seemed as though was sat out for a while. My husband had the full English the second morning which he said was lovely and much better than the previous day. I had pancakes on second day and they were lovely! They also have fresh pastries, cereals, yoghurts, etc. Our room was big and very nice (room 7). Huge bed with dresser and lovely bathroom with very powerful shower which is always good. Our meal on the first night was gorgeous! I had mushroom soup to start, husband had chicken ceaser salad. Main I had steak and he has pork and chorizo one pot. Dessert I had brownie and ice cream and husband had tiramisu. There was a £5 surcharge for the steak but it was definitely worth it! The meringue and bubbly was nice, we sat in the conservatory and ate it with stunning views. Service was really good in both bar, restaurant and reception. It also has a games room with table tennis and pool table. Overall a very enjoyable stay and great Groupon buy!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank emmyem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure that our guests get the best possible break from the outside world.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here last year using an Amazon deal, and it was great. The hotel itself is a beautiful building and the setting was gorgeous. Our room was pretty small, I'm guessing as we were on a deal weekend, but it was still very nice and cosy. The deal we had included afternoon tea when we arrived, a dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights, and breakfast, all of which were really nice. The dinner at the restaurant was particularly good but not cheap, so I'm quite glad that was included. On our second night we went into Appleby and ate at the pub and again the food there was excellent.

All in all it was a really nice relaxing stay and it's really well located to see the Lakes. I would definitely go back if there was another deal because it was great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We like to think we go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the best possible experience, i will pass your fantastic comments on to the team.
So glad to hear that you thought your break was good value for money as this is always our aim.

Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,403 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range: £96 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing