We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,727)
Filter reviews
1,728 results
Traveller rating
1,135
426
108
40
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,135
426
108
40
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housea garden view roommain restauranton arrivalheelis suitesalt roomlovely hotelcourse mealjacuzzi batheden valleydeluxe roomthe main housedining roomstwo night staygroupon dealleisure facilitiesvenison
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,092 - 1,097 of 1,728 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel felt like something out of 'Fawlty Towers'. We have stayed in other hotels/B&B's in the area in the past and thought this time we'd try out the Appleby Manor (described as a 4* hotel). We were travelling up to the region for a close friend's wedding and so it was a special weekend for us. However from the moment we arrived, the hotel couldn't stop telling us what was not working..."yes sir, we have a spa (well, in reality a plunge pool, sauna and jacuzzi), but the jacuzzi isn't working, and the area is under maintenance right now"..."yes sir we have a private car park, but you won't be able to park in it when you return from the wedding because we lock it at 23:00"..."yes we understand that wifi is not available in your room, but all other rooms and areas have access".

And it didn't stop there, the bed was probably the most uncomfortable bed we've ever slept in (or tried to sleep in), with 'rocks' for pillows. If you plumped the cushions/pillows you were totally covered in dust and there was mould in the bathroom.

Plus we decided to have dinner in the restaurant upon arrival and we were both served venison that was not only overcooked, but smelt as if it was past it's use-by-date. I must say that the duty manger did kindly replace these dishes with a different option and did not charge for our main courses.

Upon check out I spoke to the duty manager (as the general manager was not working on our departure date) and when I asked if the general manager had left any comments regarding our feedback throughout the stay, her response was "the manager doesn't think that anything you have raised is a problem that warrants any specific feedback or compensation". Needless to say, we didn't agree.

I must say the views over the surrounding landscape from the dining areas are spectacular and the majority of the staff were very welcoming and polite, including the duty (deputy) manager. There's also a lovely games room and well stocked bar, but the overall experience was very poor.

Room Tip: There's no value for money in upgrading, stick with the basic room deal.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Oli_B_4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Olie_B
So sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Appleby Manor.
I would like to respond to many of your comments by giving a timeline of your booking.
You called the hotel 2 days before your arrival complaining that you could not book a taxi locally for your transport whilst you were here, you asked us to assist, we tried to get a taxi but none were available, you were very unhappy about this but I cannot see what we could have done differently, we are not a taxi service.
On arrival we explained that the front car park was locked at 11.30pm but the rear car park is available to park in all night although this is not locked, we have not had a problem in this car park for the 14 years we have owned the hotel.
We do not advertise the leisure club as a spa, even on our own website we say the pool is small and like a plunge pool. I apologise that the Jacuzzi is out of order but we have cracked pipes underground and requires the floor to be dug up - so not an easy fix.
The Wifi was working perfectly during the week end, possibly you had a problem with your security settings?
On your first day after checking in and being disgruntled you approached our house manager Paul and threatened a bad review on TripAdvisor if you did not get recompense and a free nights stay - unfortunately we do no respond to threats very well, its my stubborn streak!
You were not charged at all for your dinner on Friday evening as a gesture of good will.
I find it hard to believe that there was dust from you pillows and mould in the bathroom as we regularly score top marks in the AA cleanliness report and also score very highly on TripAdvisor under this section, we do have alternative pillows, feather, foam or acrylic if you had requested them.
Thank you for your comments about the staff, we do feel that we go the extra mile to provide excellent service as attested to by the vast majority of reviews on this site.
I believe my staff tried to accommodate and solve all of your issues but I am at a loss to see how we could have done this as you did not mention some of the points you have raised in your review whilst at the hotel.
Regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Just the place for a quiet break on the edge of the Lakes. Luxury surroundings, good food, attentive service, stunning views and friendly staff. We could not ask for more. Beautiful gardens and plenty of seating areas. Lots of information about things to do.

Room Tip: No lift, so we were on the ground floor in the annexe.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Fantastic, thanks for your great review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, we try to make it feel like a home from home and we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere.
We are blessed with a great outlook over the Eden valley and the Lake District Fells - as you say there is no better place to enjoy a relaxing drink with the sun on your back.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay. Friendly helpful staff provided excellent service. Excellent breakfasts and evening meal in the Bistro. Meringues and bubbly were a delightful extra! Will be returning!

Room Tip: Some traffic noise from A66 on north side - so ask for a room facing south. You'll get the best views there too!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure that our guests get the best possible break from the outside world.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a deal via travelzoo. The deal was for 2 nights bb and evening meal with merigues and bubbly. When we booked in we were informed that our evening meal was not included even though we printed proof. And this same deal is on their own web page. What a fraud. We were then given our room up in the attic with view of the roof. No lifts so we had to climb up 50 plus stairs with our luggage. Spar and sauna room out of action during our stay. Never again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abriNorthWestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear abrinorthwestuk
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay but you have your facts all wrong.
Firstly the Travelzoo deal does NOT include Dinner - as stated on the voucher.
I have your voucher in front of me whilst writing this reply so i am 100% certain that your deal did not include dinner, you even admitted that you had made a mistake on check in to our front of house manager so it is a bit rich calling our deal a fraud.
Also the deal you referred to on our website is different to the Travelzoo deal and priced at £149 per person rather than £149 for the stay so double the cost you paid.
Please in future do your research and make sure you are comparing the same deal before you make disparaging remarks, also check the voucher so you know exactly what you are paying for to avoid silly mistakes!
Regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a brilliant stay at Appleby Manor Country Hotel. Upon arrival, we were guided to our room, which had received a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite. Needless to say this was a pleasant surprise. The executive suite included a huge en suite bathroom which included a built in television and jacuzzi bath, absolute luxury! The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, always making the effort to stop and engage in conversation. Even the cleaners in the morning were smiley and chatty. The breakfast was fantastic, varied and very tasty, served by a team of waitresses who were also very friendly and accommodating. The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful, so many attractive flower arrangements and a pleasant outdoor seating area.
The ONLY disappointment were the leisure facilities, some of which were out of order (jacuzzi, steam room) and the Turkish sauna room didn't seem to be operating efficiently, however, the jacuzzi bath in our room more than made up for the lack of leisure facilities!!
Brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois-MaeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We like to think we go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the best possible experience, i will pass your fantastic comments on to the team.

Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews