We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely country hotel with beautiful gardens and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely country hotel with beautiful gardens and good food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I don't know which hotel JPTravel44 was staying at but I certainly don't recognise the lovely hotel that we stayed at, and would be very keen to stay at again, from his description. Our experience was totally different, from a very comfortable and well appointed room to WiFi that worked fine, food that was very good, service that was friendly and attentive without being obtrusive and gardens that were lovely and well kept.
Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your defence of the hotel from a previous reviewer - it is appreciated!!
Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable. So happy that you enjoyed your meals, we do take great care in selecting the best local produce we can to insure we get the best possible quality on to our guests plates.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    386
    95
    35
    17
See reviews for
124
1,146
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Noting is too much trouble for the friendly, efficient staff at this hotel. You are made to feel welcome as soon as you step throughout the door. the outside flower displays and garden are magnificent at this time of the year. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which was light, airy and sparkling clean. The food in the two restaurants is excellent. We have visited many times and the standard is always the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure that our guests get the best possible break from the outside world.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've been to Appleby Manor several times now with my mum and we've always had a great time.
I visited in July for mums 70th birthday and decided to bring along her two sisters. One sister is quite disabled and uses a wheelchair so we booked ground floor garden rooms as usual.
Everyone was so helpful especially when my aunty found the mattress too uncomfortable. Staff couldn't find another one that was any softer so brought a huge duvet and extra pillows which helped enormously
the only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the only way into the hotel with a wheelchair was across an extremely stony driveway which was very difficult to get the chair across. Also there were no ramps to get the wheelchair out of the room onto the patio and the step out into the grounds was quite high and took three of us to lift my aunt in and out of the room. There are also no handrails to assist those with a disability. However we did not let this spoil our weekend and we had a great time and we will be back again next year.
Thanks to all the staff who are always polite and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
I would highly recommend for a peaceful break.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks for your fantastic review.
So please we have met your already high expectations of Appleby manor.
I take on board your comments about the disabled access we do struggle a little due the the age and configuration of the building but have this in mind should we do any alteration in future.

Hope to welcome you back for a 8th visit soon!

Regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at Appleby Manor and come back because of the quality of the service, the ideal location close to the Lake District and the excellent food.

There is a beautiful garden and a small pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. We didn't use them this time but have in the past.
The guests are generally older, particularly during the week.

Room Tip: I would recommend that, if you can, you upgrade to either a Deluxe room or to a Garden room as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Wow, thanks so much for your great review and we'll pass your comments onto all of our teams. We are glad you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Mike and Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

only stayed one night. All staff pleasant, friendly and helpful. Room was fine, as was bathroom though this showed the odd (small) signs of decorative ageing. Breakfast was good though no better, and with fewer choices, than the £40 B&B I'd stayed at the night before. I'd intended to dine there as the menu looked very good, if a little pricey, but plans changed and I didn't get the chance to try it. Local taxi firm clearly closes shop before midnight, which left me five miles from the hotel and a very nerve-wracking ride on a borrowed push bike to get back, only to find the car park and hotel locked tight for the night. Had to ring for management to let me in - this presumably also has implications for room service. The hotel is very much on the outskirts of Appleby - over a mile from the town centre, and up a pretty steep hill! Views from the patio and some of the rooms are excellent. Overall a really nice hotel with excellent service but you need a car and have to plan ahead if you want to stay out after dark!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review, the staff will be thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay so much. I will of course pass your comments on to the chefs and front of house team, as i have said before our staff are the hotels greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in due course.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was a disappointment from start to finish. The room was extremely outdated, with wall paper peeling off the rooms and lots of stains on the walls and the ceiling. There was some serious black mould across a fair amount of the bathroom. When we told the person on reception about this they didn't look surprised or apologise he simply said they would fix it. He did get it fixed that day however there was still no apology for us having slept one night in a room with black mould. If it was that easy to wipe off why wasn't it done before we arrived?!

The bathroom looked unfinished as it appeared to be lacking a ceiling - you could just see up into the abyss of pipes and darkness! Very unsettling.

The jacuzzi also wasn't working and won't be for some time according to the staff member I spoke to. This wasn't made clear on arrive which was disappointing since we went for a long walk and were looking forward to that on our return and only discovered it wasn't working when made our way down there.

WIFI was next to impossible to get to in our room or the communal areas.

In the guest directory it explains to make staff aware of anything that you are unhappy with as soon as possible so they can put it right so we decided on our second night to go tell the manager on duty our feedback. Whilst the manager was polite enough she simply listened to the feedback leaving us feeling silly for even mentioning to her our grievances.

We actually got a good deal to stay here - costing only £75 a night. However it was in no way worth this price, let alone the price it's advertised for.

There are loads of other places to stay in this area. Really think twice before spending your money here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPTravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Appleby Manor.
I would have to disagree with you on many of the points you have raised, the room you were in was just decorated last year, the false bathroom ceiling is designed that way and not half finished.
We do get inspected regularly by the AA in fact our last inspection was just a few weeks ago which has confirmed our 4 star rating and has raised our percentage score due to the cleanliness and £150k investment into the bedrooms and public areas over the last year.
Regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We booked a weekend break through Amazon for my birthday celebration and we were certainly not disappointed !
On arrival we were given a warm friendly reception by the lady on ghetto desk who on checking in showed us all round the hotel where the leisure centre could be found ,the restaurant, the bistro conservatories and bar and lounge areas. She then proceeded to show us to our room.

When. I booked I was told the room was on the second floor and that there was no lift
and that the room didn't have a view.

We were a little disappointed in the room as it was up four additional ver steep steps in addition to two flights of stairs and although the room was really large and had a lovely king size bed and a large settee which could convert to another bed a large flat screen T. V , two club chairs a well stocked hospitality tart, a very big bath room ,lovely toiletries and big fluffy white towels , however the tiniest of windows with a view overlooking a roof! The room was depressingly dark.

On the plus side the rest of the hotel and it's gardens is beautiful and very well maintained.

The staff are wonderful and very friendly always a smile and a word for everyone.

Our deal included a 4 course meal in the restaurant and thus was amazing the attention to detail and quality of food was superb. The second night we booked the Bistro option for a reduced rate of £20 per person for three courses which was good value for money and standard just as high as in the restaurant .

Our only niggle would be the deal included a glass of fizz and fruit meringues, but when we asked we were told there should have been a voucher in our room that should have been presented between 4 and 6. We explained there was no voucher and the young lady said she would make sure one was put in the next day. However this didn't materialise, so we asked her again and she said she would sort it, so at 4:00 pm we climbed all the stairs but sadly still no voucher so once more we found the lady and she got quite shirty and said well do you want than now, we said yes that did. We waited over an hour and still no fizz or meringues , A young man called David came to clear a table nearby and we explained to him and he sorted it out and delivered within 10 minutes with a smile and apology. Such a shame this took the edge of a nice touch.

Having had my moan we will certainly return and look forward to receiving any offers from their own web site maybe then we won't be banished to room 14.

Room Tip: Try and avoid room 14
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent locally sourced water provided free in the room
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Fabulous! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable. So happy that you enjoyed your meals, we do take great care in selecting the best local produce we can to insure we get the best possible quality on to our guests plates.
I am so sorry we did not meet our usually high service standards with regard to the Fizz and meringue - i can only appologise. I am pleased that David rectified the problem but it should not have happened in the first place.
You will now be on the data base so you will receive our best offers via email or post.

Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
23.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,856 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Property: Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing