We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anniversary Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent a two night break with dinner in the Bistro on the first night and dinner in the Restaurant on the second night. The hotel, room, meals and staff were all excellent and could not be faulted. The views from the hotel and the flowers in the garden were stunning, The location is close to the lovely village of Appleby with the northern Lakes at hand for further exploration. Brilliant break which we will be repeating.

Room Tip: Views from the back of the hotel overlook superb countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the Manor. The team take great pride in providing the wow factor to our guests and always try to exceed guest expectations, its so good to hear you were looked after well.
I will take pleasure in passing on your fantastic comments about the hotel to all the departments in the hotel. Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    366
    90
    33
    15
See reviews for
113
1,083
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Couldn't really fault anything with our stay. Our room was in the coach house rather than the main hotel but it was clean and modern and met all our requirements.

We ate in the bistro and the staff were very pleasant and the food was tasty and well presented.

Relaxing over a drink in the conservatory whilst admiring the views and the well tended gardens made a nice change from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The bar staff were friendly and attentive, as were the reception staff.

It was a shame the jacuzzi wasn't working, but we were aware of this prior to arrival. The other spa facilities were enjoyable and we pretty much had them to ourselves - they didn't seem very popular with the older guests, of which there were quite a few!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Really pleased you enjoyed the food in the restaurant, its really good to get feedback about the food as we put a lot of time and effort into making it as good as possible.
We are currently looking into revamping the leisure area with a brand new spa, but a job of this size takes time to plan and to fund! look out for a new facility in 2015
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staff top professionals, polite never rushed and always had time for you ....
Carried my cases up the stairs because he realised had had an operation.
We enjoyed a totally relaxing time at this hotel
We will go back but in one of the suites

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel had tremendous views across the Eden valley Even in the rain
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jimgraves42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
We like to think we go the extra mile to make sure our guests get the best possible experience, i will pass your fantastic comments on to the team.

Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed one night as part of a walking weekend. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent in the restaurant, particularly enjoyed the pork and unusual caraway coffee. The breakfast was also very good. Sitting in the conservatory sipping our drinks and watching the sun set over the hills was a lovely moment. The room was a good size with 2 comfortable chairs and a table. The bed was very comfortable which was essential as my husband had jarred his back whilst walking. We intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmallhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure that our guests get the best possible break from the outside world.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just back from a wet and windy trip to Cumbria which was saved from being a complete disaster by the warm and friendly welcome we got from the Appleby Manor Hotel. Our garden room was well furnished and comfortable, the views of the fells quite stunning (even on a dismal day), the cooked to order breakfast with cumberland sausages was delicious and above all the staff were kind and happy to be there. All-in-all a lovely hotel that we would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Sorry the weather wasn't any better for your recent stay, at least we brightened your day with a warm welcome. Its always great to get positive reviews from a senior reviewer like yourself, i will post your review on the staff notice board so they can take pride in a job well done.
Many thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Appleby Manor for 2 nights, the package included dinner on the 1st night, and gingerbread tea. The hotel itself was very nice, all the staff were friendly and the food was lovely. The gardens are beautiful - with gorgeous view over Appleby. This was a very nice mini break; I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone thinking of booking/staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon452014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Wow, thanks for your great review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, we try to make it feel like a home from home and we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's great for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for taking the time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was well presented and had a great welcome at reception.We had booked on a deal and I upgraded the room as it was our anniversary and my wifes birthday. We were given a tour of the facilities and shown to room 42 which was overlooking the gardens and putting green. The room was very clean and bed comfortable. Only minor points which did not detract from our stay but would suggest that the floor tiles in the bathroom are grouted as a lot missing and silicon is finished off around the sink and the black mould is wiped off from around the bath.
The breakfast was excellent and we had an evening meal which was top quality.
The hotel was a good base as we went to Ullswater to go on the steamer and have a walk. it only took 30mins to get there. Would also recommend a trip to Kendal.
All in all we had a great stay at the manor and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navidrof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor. Thanks for highlighting all the great things to do in the local area we are really blessed in our situation so close to the Lake District, North Yorks Dales and the Pennines.
Many thanks for the mention of the grounds the gardeners will be thrilled you enjoyed them.

Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
22.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
12.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
22.0 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
23.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Property: Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing