We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Declining standards of once great park”
Review of Wild Rose Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Rose Park
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Declining standards of once great park”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have been coming to this site for more than 20 years with my family staying in our touring caravan and had some fabulous times at what was simply the best caravan site we had ever visited.however,I have noticed its steady decline in the past couple of years exemplified by our most recent visit over the Easter bank holiday.
Whilst our pitch was fine,albeit expensive,we have always accepted that you get what you pay for.On this occasion £126 for a 3 night stay.
I do however feel compelled to voice an opinion.The toilets and showers next to the old camping field were outdated and have lacked any investment for many years and sadly are showing their age becoming scruffy and unappealing.The showers in particular have nowhere to hang clothes and mismatched doors.Similarly the entrance door to the block appears to have been vandalised and looked like this last year.
Perhaps the greatest disappointment is the emergence of the club house/ bar and the crowd that this now attracts to the park.The construction of a new leisure facility is a clear indication of the future direction.
Don't get me wrong I am no prudish,anti fun ,anti drink snob but what was once the best and loveliest caravan park I've visited with a fantastic safe and welcoming ambience is fast turning into an all inclusive crude holiday park akin to those at Berwick and Scarborough with a very different clientele.
For me and my family we will start our search for another gem for our short breaks along the lines of the old Wild Rose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    48
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
133
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We arrived just before the 4pm for the caravan to be greeted with smiley staff who gave us the key- the caravan was lovely and warm, well maintained, nice touch of a welcome pack, we stayed in a platinum caravan and cannot grumble at all with the standard of it. The site was very quiet but the barman was always welcoming to the 3 of us. We did eat in the restaurant it was fine. This is in a lovely rural area stunning scenery, the out door play area was nice for our child and she enjoyed playing on it. Excellent value for money a good base to explore the lakes

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank molyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a long weekend at Wild Rose (Thursday to Sunday). Stayed in the Hazel Heights touring area in a motorhome. Facilities are good with a mini-market, "pub" and take away on site as well as games room for the kids and outdoor pools for the warmer weather. There's also a couple of kids play areas which are well equipped.

They are installing new camping pods in one of the play areas and have replaced the main tent camping field with an "Exclusive" static area which is under construction. I believe this may help negate some of the previous poor reviews the site has been attracting. There's also a new restaurant under construction which gives promise of future potential for the site.

I've been visiting the site since 2006 and on first visit I would describe it as "Exceptional" - now I would describe it as very good with potential to be exceptional again - just need to be careful you're not drawing the wrong crowds in with the facilities now on offer.

Personally preferred the restaurant previously but the "pub" has a good atmosphere and a cosy environment with some entertainment and live sports if that's your thing.

Looking forward to my next trip where hopefully it will be back to exceptional with the restaurant up and running - keep working at it guys, this is a great site with perpetual opportunity in one of the most beautiful areas of the country.

Room Tip: Hazel Heights is quiet with good views but can be a little exposed in inclement weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break for new year at Wild Rose and have to say the trip was one of the best we have had. We were a group of 19 adults and kids and stayed in 4 caravans which were spotless, warm and very comfortable. As a family, we havebbeen staying at this site for over 20 years and have seen the park change owners a few times, however, in my opinion, the current owners have added a new and welcome dimension to the site. It feels a lot less 'cliquie' thanIit used to, more family friendly and has the addition of a much better club house.
This brings me on to my final point. The family and staff who run the bar/restaurant, they simply made our holiday. Amazingly friendly and helpful throughout the entire break, from the superb James Bond themed new years eve party to the unexpected private party on new years day and opening just for our party the day after for a slightly more sedate evening! I could go on about more of the little touches they added for us but I'd be here all day, suffice to say, we will be back throughout the year and will definitely be back next new year. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickpick18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

just returned from camping at wild rose we were well impressed when after putting our tents up in a downpour on muddy ground a member of staff turned up in their tractor with wooden boards for the grass around our tent this saved on our tents getting extremely muddy! kids loved the trick or treating on Halloween night and a good time was had by all back at the cockahoop bar and we had an even better night at the bonfire party fireworks,live music karoke,disco were all fab. The showers were the best ive experienced on a site nice and hot and underground heating (could do with a hook on back of door to hang towel on though) the only negative thing I will say is the toilets next to camping field need to be checked more as it was messy with toilet paper on floor still didn't spoil our stay so the site is getting 5/5 from us.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lorna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here on a Fri- Mon break with our little dog. In total there were 7 in our party including 3 children all 10years old and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The clubhouse was very reasonably priced and lots of special offers noted all over - which leads me to the food !!!!! OMG we were in heaven, the quality of the food served here was brilliant, but if you're looking for a la carte then this is not for you, this is a hearty good food restaurant with decent portion sizes and lots of meat dishes and tasty treats for all. The onsite mini market was running low, but as we had gone in the last weekend in October they were trying to run stocks down for the winter, there was still plenty of the essentials needed though. Our children used the onsite arcade regularly and when the machines broke or ate their money the staff were all to happy to replace the lost money and even join in the fun with them. The halloween activities provided were brilliant, pumpkin carving, fancy dress, trick or treat trail and the karaoke/ disco was really entertaining. All in all an extremely enjoyable weekend was had by everyone in our party and we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: All caravans and lodges looked to be ample for the number of people they catered for, our was a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyLBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I came here with my grandaughter age 5 on the 18 oct 2013 for a 3 day break.
This park is lovely,very relaxed and has a little play area that was just perfect for her.
I have been here 3 times over the past 2 years.This park is in the middle of the countryside and is ideal for those that want to 'escape to the country'.
the restaurant and bar is very friendly ,the food is very good value for the prices charged and the atmosphere is very welcoming.
I cannot understand the negative feedback.I have travelled the world and find the Wild rose to be an ideal location to relax.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparky0885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
2.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
13.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Low Hall Country House Accommodation
2.1 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby
496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#7 of 17 in Appleby
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rose Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rose Park

Property: Wild Rose Park
Address: Wild Rose Park Mill Lane, Appleby CA16 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Rose Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Park Located in the unspoilt Eden Valley, and spread over 50 acres our 5 star park offers something for everyone with a strong emphasis for relaxation and peace, far away from the hustle and bustle of the rat race. At Wild Rose Park guests and owners alike love having the very best of both worlds. Our modern but homely onsite restaurant and pub was rebuilt in 2013 and has a great welcoming atmosphere. It's perfect for those looking for a tasty bite. Enjoy our gorgeous local produce and gives our guests and owners the perfect spot to mingle or unwind after a day's enjoyment or plan tomorrows fun. Those who look enjoy being out walking, cycling or simply breathing in our pure, clean Cumbrian air will not leave us feeling short changed, nor will golfers out there who will love the challenge of our local 18 hole course and enjoy our special rate green fees. Kids young and old will love a cooling ice cream beside our outdoor heated pool, others will enjoy the challenge of fishing our exclusive stretch of the clean River Eden. The golfers out there will love the challenge of our local 18 hole course and enjoy our special rate green fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wild Rose Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rose Park Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing