We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Rose Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Rose Park
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a good base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

stayed at this park for a week 11/07/14 and found it to be a very good base for exploring the surrounding areas[eden valley lake district yorkshire dales] all within an hours drive the caravan we stayed in was a platinum 3 and as a previous reviewer said you would think we were the 1st to stay in it very modern and spacious for a caravan. bar on site is new only ate there once and it was ok though they stop serving at 5pm on sundays which i found a bit strange. pool was nice kids loved it. shop also had strange opening times but had all the basics and reasonablely priced.staff we encountered where all pleasent so to finish if you want a quiet park certainly [when we stayed] and not at the price of the lakes i would recommend this park. would i return yes i plan to next year

Room Tip: go for a platinum worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    35
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
94
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

First the positives, great park really quiet, excellent staff, care taker was fantastic, could not have been more helpful. Caravan was clean tidy and well maintained.

Didn't use the bar but it was brand new, staff where friendly (needed change for launderette), prices seemed reasonable. Outdoor pool was heated and well looked after.

Now the rest, shop prices seemed reasonable but never used it as it had limited opening times. Took ages to find the arcade and it seemed dated and needed an overhaul.

Lastly, the play park equipment was dated and needs improved, but still perfectly functional.

Nice quiet park and would happily go back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank LesD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Reading some of the reviews it is apparent one or two of the reviewers appear to have come at a time of the site in transition, This site has hundreds of Lodges, Statics and Touring pitches and can be very busy due to its popularity. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, but we the users have to bear in mind that when very busy they are working at fever-pitch and mistakes can happen. Spaces: I have not come across any pitch that is cramped for room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Noelanthonycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived Friday evening with three grandchildren. Only to find no cot as requested so had to go to reception to pick one up. Started to make up beds only to find one pair of doubles only so had to go and get two more sets for twin beds very tired children by now.we have gone for years and the play area is dated worn out some things don't work and the safety matting comes off on your clothes if you fall terrible. Went to the swimming pool excited only to find closed for cleaning on a Saturday one of the most popular days . The new cockahoop restaurant is very smart but could do with entertainment most weekends disco for kids and music to follow. You can climb through the holes in the tennis court nets a.nothing else to do not worth the money been charged for a caravan for either a break or holiday. Weekend ruined very disappointed.pool freezing

Room Tip: Won't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 days in a Pod/Wigwam, whatever you want to call it and my 2boys,15&19 loved it. Nice and comfortable,warm, compact and versatile. The site is nice for a few days break, best used as a base to explore the surrounding area. We used the shop on numerous occasions and the bar/ restaurant on a couple of nights. Nice food and good service, and not at all expensive. All in all had a great few days break and will definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WiganMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you want a peaceful,tranquil, relaxing break with unrivalled views across the Eden vally and the great ridges of the Pennines then forget coming here just returned from the worst bank holiday break ever. Allocated pitch well if you can call it a pitch sardines in a tin have more room, no outdoor area to sit out let alone cook, I could of asked my neighbour to let me sit in his car which was no more than 18'' from my van. Hang on unless its called a pitch because of the level of sound/noise that you can hear, we were next to the 'kiddies park' no problem however this was a teenagers/adults park where the game was to shout and scream and blast a football over the hedge bouncing off my van bliss this mayhem went on well after 10pm in fact it only stopped when it started to rain thank heavens its the only time I have loved the sound of rain on my van roof.Oops nearly forgot the hedge, banana slide and some other contraption were my unrivalled views of Eden valley and the Pennines.Did I mention that the rear of my van was 1' from the main service road for the site so all new arrivals, the site's tractor and quad bike with a Boeing 747 engine were constantly driving past how tranquil.Well as evening approaches the living dead appear and shuffle towards the watering hole leaving their teenage offspring in the kiddies park to senerade genuine caravans with their music and screams. The next morning on route to the shower block evidence of a 'good night' for some was clear to see discarded cans, half filled beer glasses left on walls and the toilet block was disgusting either that or the andrex puppy had too many worm tablets and decided to shred the entire supply of toilet rolls and thrown them around, lovely.This site is very expensive and I would expect a lot more well at least what it states in its description it appears that its profit driven(nothing wrong with that) but at the expense of genuine caravaners it may have a wide range of facilities, pub,swimming pool which attract a certain clientele but the basics are neglected broken fresh water pipes, chemical toilets out of order, insufficient/non existing pitch numbers. Well its got the first part of its name right it certainly is WILD.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank dumplings2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

You cannot complain about the location, the staff were all very helpful, the shop well stocked and not too expensive.
However, it is a little shabby in places and my children were particularly disappointed as the park advertises 'Free WIFI Available throughout the park, please obtain code from reception' in truth there was minimal access just outside the reception

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clotguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby
2.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
2.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
8.5 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
24.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
9.4 mi away
Strickland Arms
Strickland Arms
#19 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rose Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rose Park

Property: Wild Rose Park
Address: Wild Rose Park Mill Lane, Appleby CA16 6EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Appleby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Wild Rose Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About the Park Located in the unspoilt Eden Valley, and spread over 50 acres our 5 star park offers something for everyone with a strong emphasis for relaxation and peace, far away from the hustle and bustle of the rat race. At Wild Rose Park guests and owners alike love having the very best of both worlds. Our modern but homely onsite restaurant and pub was rebuilt in 2013 and has a great welcoming atmosphere. It's perfect for those looking for a tasty bite. Enjoy our gorgeous local produce and gives our guests and owners the perfect spot to mingle or unwind after a day's enjoyment or plan tomorrows fun. Those who look enjoy being out walking, cycling or simply breathing in our pure, clean Cumbrian air will not leave us feeling short changed, nor will golfers out there who will love the challenge of our local 18 hole course and enjoy our special rate green fees. Kids young and old will love a cooling ice cream beside our outdoor heated pool, others will enjoy the challenge of fishing our exclusive stretch of the clean River Eden. The golfers out there will love the challenge of our local 18 hole course and enjoy our special rate green fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Wild Rose Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rose Park Appleby, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing