We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage holiday, lovely location & Hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mini Murton House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Bathroom
High Cup Nick, amazing walk you can do from the barn, stunning views
Beautiful Eden Valley
View from Mini Murton House towards Murton Pike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachael_L...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage holiday, lovely location & Hosts”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just had an amazing weekend in Mini Murton house, just wish we could've stayed longer. The area is lovely & peaceful & we went on a family "adventure" along the local footpaths & across fields which the kids & dog loved even though we all got very wet & we never actually got to where we were trying to go! Lovely little stream just down the lane that our youngest loved splashing about in & places to eat within easy driving distance.
Great hosts who brought us some fresh baking & we even caught sight of the local woodpecker visiting the much used bird feeder right outside the window.
All in all not a bad word to say, it was great! :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
so pleased you had a great time.
See you soon?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adambrown...
Newcastle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A great place to get away for a few days. Highly recommend this place, lovely big bath for relaxing. Amazing views, warm and welcoming owners, even brought us round home made tray bakes.. mmm! Appleby is only a 10 min drive away. Would definitely come back here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbyjay
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Such a gorgeous place in a lovely area. Mary-Anne was so welcoming and a great host! Stove, slippers & home made tray bakes were just some of the lovely touches! Lovely views and walks right on the door step! Will definitely be returning to mini murton house!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
Thanks for the feedback, hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nm9231
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing and lovely stay in a picturesque area”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had a lovely stay in a beautiful house in the heart of a quaint country side. Was relaxing and perfect for our needs

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
Hope to see you again soon! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kymnbn
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me and my boyfriend were looking for a place to stay in the Lake District for our anniversary, and Mini Murton House was exactly what we had in mind. Set in the quaint village of Murton about 3 miles outside of Appleby, this house had everything we were after. The log burner kept us nice and toasty on wet and windy nights and the heat travels up to the bedroom so all the house was cosy.

Where the house is set, it was a bit hard to find at first, but the owners kindly put a sign out where we could park so it became more easy to find. If you're a cat lover, you will be right at home here! 5 friendly cats will happily come up and say hello to you when you arrive, they'll also keep you entertained whilst you sit and watch them trying to catch birds whilst sat in the tree!

I literally couldn't say anything bad about this cottage. The setting, comfort and everything else is faultless! Well done owners for making this an amazing place to stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Glad you had a great break, hope to see you again!
Cats still looking hopefully at the birds.
All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyRose...
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Phenomenal, amazing stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very friendly hosts who even brought us freshly baked cakes! the hosts were extremely attentive to anything we needed and were always available if we had any queries. The house was truly wonderful and included a log fire (easy to use!) which kept the house nice and toasty! would highly recommend! it is also very near to Ullswater (which has amazing views including Aira force waterfall nearby! Lovely vacation, we are very thankful for our stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review. Pleased you had a great stay and you liked the tray bakes too. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumbe...
northumberland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We travelled home today from a two day stay at mini murton house. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house was very clean on arrival and equipped with everything you could possibly need for a self catering stay. Even ice cubes in the freezer! You can murton peak from the back of the house which you must climb if you are able. The views from the top.are the best iv ever seen absolutely amazing. Although my legs are not thanking me for it two days on. We took a trip to appleby which was a 10 minute drive and keswick took 50 minutes. I would definitely stay here again. Mary-Anne was extremely friendly and welcomed us on our firstand even brought us some delicious home baking on our 2nd night which wasn't in the tin long. They were scrummy we were squabbling over the last bit. The little village is beautiful and all the neighbours friendly. Marys cats were.very entertainming five in total popping their heads up at the windows and hiding in the tree, such sweet gentle little cats. Very good value for money also looking at other places to stay before we came this place came out on top every time. We would not hesitate to come back. Thank you for a lovely stay :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Hi there
Glad you had a great stay, hope to see you again soon!
All the best Mary-Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$110
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing