We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“JUST WHAT WE PICTURED”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bathroom
High Cup Nick, amazing walk you can do from the barn, stunning views
Beautiful Eden Valley
View from Mini Murton House towards Murton Pike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Macca1711
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“JUST WHAT WE PICTURED”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and both fancied the Lake District . Looked for ages and then found Mini Murton House . It is charming and tucked away in a lovely little village . It has a cosy sitting room /kitchenette, perfect for knocking up breakfast or a spag bol.A good sized bathroom with a huge bath, big enough for two. A mezzanine double bedroom which is beautiful and bright due to plenty of windows. The bed is very comfortable with lovely plump pillows. There is also a smaller down stairs bedroom with a couple of bunk beds which looked very cosy.There was every thing there for a comfortable break. Loved the wood burner which just added to the cosyness.Mary Ann and her family are very welcoming but not imposing , they kindly gave us champagne for our anniversary, some delicious cakes and the sweetest homegrown tomatoes. IT is a relaxing and picturesque setting with wonderful walks. Unfortunately due to my husbands ill health we were not able to take advantage of the walks. Still plenty to do around the area. Would reccomend a boat trip on Winderemere and a walk around Ambleside shops. We felt very comfortable in asking Mary Ann or her Ian her husband if we had needed anything. Would suggest you need own transport to stay here . Would recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner.
Liked least: Not long enough stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
So pleased you had a great break.
All the very best.
M-A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant, but a little cramped.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A beautiful area, and very helpful and friendly hosts. However, the cottage is possibly a little too cramped for three people over two weeks. Also, the amenities are very basic. There is no washing machine (although the hosts did willingly do our washing for us), towels are not provided, and there was no soap and only one toilet roll when we arrived. We had to buy our own breakfast bowls, as the only ones in the cupboard were extremely shallow. Possibly more suitable for a couple staying for a long weekend only.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: private patio; friendly and helpful hosts
Liked least: poor facilities; lack of space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Pleased that you still managed to have a good holiday.
Apologies that you thought the place was basic, I thought that all the photos and clear property description gives a true representation of the property. It does clearly state no towels (as tired of sets going missing), also that there is no washing machine (as property is on its own septic tank).
Regarding the cereal bowls, so sorry, it is a shame you did not ask for 3 from me as I have plenty. The dinner service was mine and even with 6 children we did not experience your problems, so this issue never crossed my mind. I will see to it that I put extra in.
Apologies there was only 1 toilet roll, as it is self catering, the norm is to provide sufficient for the guests to settle in.
When I have booked a holidays, have always found it quite helpful to read the property description well, so I have no surprises and look at all the property photos as well.
I am now aware that I need to alter somethings so many thanks, also I shall review my policy on excessive cleaning times for changeovers, so it has been very helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael_L...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage holiday, lovely location & Hosts”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just had an amazing weekend in Mini Murton house, just wish we could've stayed longer. The area is lovely & peaceful & we went on a family "adventure" along the local footpaths & across fields which the kids & dog loved even though we all got very wet & we never actually got to where we were trying to go! Lovely little stream just down the lane that our youngest loved splashing about in & places to eat within easy driving distance.
Great hosts who brought us some fresh baking & we even caught sight of the local woodpecker visiting the much used bird feeder right outside the window.
All in all not a bad word to say, it was great! :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
so pleased you had a great time.
See you soon?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adambrown...
Newcastle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A great place to get away for a few days. Highly recommend this place, lovely big bath for relaxing. Amazing views, warm and welcoming owners, even brought us round home made tray bakes.. mmm! Appleby is only a 10 min drive away. Would definitely come back here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbyjay
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Such a gorgeous place in a lovely area. Mary-Anne was so welcoming and a great host! Stove, slippers & home made tray bakes were just some of the lovely touches! Lovely views and walks right on the door step! Will definitely be returning to mini murton house!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2014
Thanks for the feedback, hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nm9231
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing and lovely stay in a picturesque area”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had a lovely stay in a beautiful house in the heart of a quaint country side. Was relaxing and perfect for our needs

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
Hope to see you again soon! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avapardoe...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me and my boyfriend were looking for a place to stay in the Lake District for our anniversary, and Mini Murton House was exactly what we had in mind. Set in the quaint village of Murton about 3 miles outside of Appleby, this house had everything we were after. The log burner kept us nice and toasty on wet and windy nights and the heat travels up to the bedroom so all the house was cosy.

Where the house is set, it was a bit hard to find at first, but the owners kindly put a sign out where we could park so it became more easy to find. If you're a cat lover, you will be right at home here! 5 friendly cats will happily come up and say hello to you when you arrive, they'll also keep you entertained whilst you sit and watch them trying to catch birds whilst sat in the tree!

I literally couldn't say anything bad about this cottage. The setting, comfort and everything else is faultless! Well done owners for making this an amazing place to stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Glad you had a great break, hope to see you again!
Cats still looking hopefully at the birds.
All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing