We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Christmas ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bathroom
High Cup Nick, amazing walk you can do from the barn, stunning views
Beautiful Eden Valley
View from Mini Murton House towards Murton Pike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aleksande...
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Christmas ever”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had wonderful Christmas time. For some reason we've been away from our families this year so decided to spend in quiet village cottage. That was best choice possible ever. After we've been fascinated so great welcome - nicely presented, lighted up cute little cottage with Christmas tree seen through glass door we started feeling Christmas atmosphere. Cottage was warmed up with fire in classic stove, which kept as warm through night.
In the morning (as we arrived late evening) we were enjoying astonishing surrounding view on mountains. Of course can not miss out to have a walk, as there is a lots of foot paths around.
I don't think there is any need to look for some better place to recover, clear own mind or spend priceless time with closest people.
We are so grateful to Marie Anne and her family that we could had this experience at all.

Thank You All for that special time spent in Mini Murton Cottge.
Best wishes for coming New Year, and all the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely mountain view and warm stove :)
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aleksande...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Christmas atmosphere ever !”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had wonderful Christmas time. For some reason we've been away from our families this year so decided to spend in quiet village cottage. That was best choice possible ever. After we've been fascinated so great welcome - nicely presented, lighted up cute little cottage with Christmas tree seen through glass door we started feeling Christmas atmosphere. Cottage was warmed up with fire in classic stove, which kept as warm through night.
In the morning (as we arrived late evening) we were enjoying astonishing surrounding view on mountains. Of course can not miss out to have a walk, as there is a lots of foot paths around.
I don't think there is any need to look for some better place to recover, clear own mind or spend priceless time with closest people.
We are so grateful to Marie Anne and her family that we could had this experience at all.

Thank You All for that special time spent in Mini Murton Cottge.
Best wishes for coming New Year, and all the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely mountain view and warm stove :)
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2014
So pleased you had a lovely Christmas.
Have a wonderful 2015, wishing you all the very best.
The Sadlers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy G
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A gorgeous holiday home in a beautiful area. So relaxing and cosy. Great hosts who give you privacy but are always available to help (and also to provide some quality cake). I couldn't find anything to moan about even if I put some serious thought into it! We stayed for four nights and would have loved to stay longer. Perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2014
Hi Tracy
thanks for the review and nice comments.
Come back for more cake!
all the best M-A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant location & cosy house”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Had a lovely stay at Mini Murton, the house was clean tidy and well presented. The hosts were lovely and very helpful. Peaceful village with lovely surroundings and not far from Appleby town. Wish we had booked for longer, highly recommend for anyone wanting a peaceful break.

Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedroom and Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Hi Amy
thanks for the lovely review, pleased you had a good time.
Maybe see you again but for longer?
all the best Mary-Anne and Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macca1711
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“JUST WHAT WE PICTURED”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and both fancied the Lake District . Looked for ages and then found Mini Murton House . It is charming and tucked away in a lovely little village . It has a cosy sitting room /kitchenette, perfect for knocking up breakfast or a spag bol.A good sized bathroom with a huge bath, big enough for two. A mezzanine double bedroom which is beautiful and bright due to plenty of windows. The bed is very comfortable with lovely plump pillows. There is also a smaller down stairs bedroom with a couple of bunk beds which looked very cosy.There was every thing there for a comfortable break. Loved the wood burner which just added to the cosyness.Mary Ann and her family are very welcoming but not imposing , they kindly gave us champagne for our anniversary, some delicious cakes and the sweetest homegrown tomatoes. IT is a relaxing and picturesque setting with wonderful walks. Unfortunately due to my husbands ill health we were not able to take advantage of the walks. Still plenty to do around the area. Would reccomend a boat trip on Winderemere and a walk around Ambleside shops. We felt very comfortable in asking Mary Ann or her Ian her husband if we had needed anything. Would suggest you need own transport to stay here . Would recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner.
Liked least: Not long enough stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
So pleased you had a great break.
All the very best.
M-A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant, but a little cramped.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A beautiful area, and very helpful and friendly hosts. However, the cottage is possibly a little too cramped for three people over two weeks. Also, the amenities are very basic. There is no washing machine (although the hosts did willingly do our washing for us), towels are not provided, and there was no soap and only one toilet roll when we arrived. We had to buy our own breakfast bowls, as the only ones in the cupboard were extremely shallow. Possibly more suitable for a couple staying for a long weekend only.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: private patio; friendly and helpful hosts
Liked least: poor facilities; lack of space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
Pleased that you still managed to have a good holiday.
Apologies that you thought the place was basic, I thought that all the photos and clear property description gives a true representation of the property. It does clearly state no towels (as tired of sets going missing), also that there is no washing machine (as property is on its own septic tank).
Regarding the cereal bowls, so sorry, it is a shame you did not ask for 3 from me as I have plenty. The dinner service was mine and even with 6 children we did not experience your problems, so this issue never crossed my mind. I will see to it that I put extra in.
Apologies there was only 1 toilet roll, as it is self catering, the norm is to provide sufficient for the guests to settle in.
When I have booked a holidays, have always found it quite helpful to read the property description well, so I have no surprises and look at all the property photos as well.
I am now aware that I need to alter somethings so many thanks, also I shall review my policy on excessive cleaning times for changeovers, so it has been very helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael_L...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage holiday, lovely location & Hosts”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just had an amazing weekend in Mini Murton house, just wish we could've stayed longer. The area is lovely & peaceful & we went on a family "adventure" along the local footpaths & across fields which the kids & dog loved even though we all got very wet & we never actually got to where we were trying to go! Lovely little stream just down the lane that our youngest loved splashing about in & places to eat within easy driving distance.
Great hosts who brought us some fresh baking & we even caught sight of the local woodpecker visiting the much used bird feeder right outside the window.
All in all not a bad word to say, it was great! :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2014
so pleased you had a great time.
See you soon?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing