We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous little hideaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bathroom
High Cup Nick, amazing walk you can do from the barn, stunning views
Beautiful Eden Valley
View from Mini Murton House towards Murton Pike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanne H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous little hideaway!”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Me and my husband went for a little weekend break! The barn is perfect. Cosy, clean and well equipped.
We loved the log fire, as did our dog and we were supplied with enough wood to last the whole weekend, places we've been before have charged for logs so this was a nice surprise.
The barn is quite remote but we were happy with this, perfect place to bunk yourself down and enjoy the peacefulness of its surroundings. There was an info pack provided with activities and things to do nearby though if you so wish.
We went on a walk with the dog onto the open countryside straight from the door, fabulous surroundings and gorgeous scenery.
The owners Mary-anne and Ian who were just next door were on hand if needed but gave us our privacy at the same time.
Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. Hopefully we will be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darrenove...
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in May 2015

Great location, cosy cottage. It rained hard all day one day but the cottage still made us feel happy. Beautiful isolated countryside. Wood burner was great. More suitable for two adults with two children than four adults. The steps to upstairs are very steep. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Isolation
Liked least: Terrace area was scruffy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lee m
1 review
“Stayed for a few nights”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in May 2015

During our stay we were very impressed with the lovely owners who made us feel very welcome and also left some home made cakes on the kitched table for our arrival which immediately made me happy :)

overall the place is clean and warm and the surrounding area was very peaceful which is exactly what i needed after living and working in Tokyo.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful stay in the countryside.

worth every penny. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect winter cottage”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed in late november for my partners birthday. Wood burning stove and fantastic snowy scenery.

Murton pike is a fantastic walk and right on the doorstep, although I wouldn't recommend trying it in a pair of trainers in the snow....

Had some small issues with the booking that was entirely my fault and the owners were very helpful in resolving the problem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Glad you had a good stay, we have loads of walking boots you could have used! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finn M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Relaxation”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect venue to totally relax. The surrounding country is stunning but you may not want to leave the cottage!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Pleased you had a good stay, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic scenery and cosy hideaway”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin is really cosy, and the surrounding countryside is jaw-dropping. Reminds you just how beautiful England can be. The Lake District is right next door, and the Pennines on the doorstep are equally as beautiful.

Mary-Ann and Ian are great hosts - and superb cooks - and were both helpful as well as being great company. I recommend Ian's spicy bean casserole!

The perfect place to come for walks, wine and fresh air.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thanks for the review, hope to see you again really soon.
Loads more great walks for you to do, plus of course fantastic pubs to visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“COME AND STAY HERE - beautifully converted barn with stunning views”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Mary-Anne and Ian are lovely hosts, very welcoming. They cooked us some very tasty tray-bakes and supplied us with extensive information about the surrounding area. They even let us walk their dog!

The barn has been tastefully converted to a comfortable space with cosy yet chic furnishings. The bed is wonderfully comfortable, and the log fire is utterly dreamy. You can see the mountains and the stars from the windows, and there are some hearty walks with breath-taking views right on the doorstep.

Absolutely no qualms. I would recommend this rental to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thanks for the review, come and stay again soon….Billy the dog misses you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing