We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique place”
Review of Douneside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Douneside House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique place”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Douneside was recommended to us by my parents and my aunt and uncle who went there together annually during their retirement until they could no longer manage the journey north! This unique place is located in exceptionally beautiful countryside and offers peace, quiet, a comfortable and clean environment, friendly service and excellent food. These things are important to us, so how could we not enjoy being there? Having enthusiastically recommended it to a number of friends after our first visit, two couples have visited on our recommendation and enjoyed it as much as we did on the two occasions we went there. No doubt being lucky with the weather as we were, helps, as there is so much to enjoy out of doors in the area. We are already looking forward to going again and hopefully with children and grandchildren next time! Maybe with friends as well and their children and grandchildren! The facilities for young families are as good as everything else at Douneside. I can't speak highly enough of this exceptional place. Out of tragedy has come something very, very good. A remarkable and moving story.

Room Tip: Ask for Lady MacRobert's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
99
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was given information on this hotel via an ex-army regimental news-sheet. No wonder as the hotel is mainly used by ex-service personnel. With its location in Aberdeenshire, a region of Scotland I had never visited I decided to book a room for my wife and me and another for a friend.
The hotel is located in the most glorious rural countryside location possible to imagine within the UK. in a superb old country house, once the property of the MacRobert family, who established a trust that, today, runs the estate and operates the house as a "Country House" hotel.
First of all, this place is unique, it is clearly an anachronism, but it is in every way superb. The bedrooms are traditionally furnished, clean, tidy, not very large, but entirely comfortable. As the hotel was a country house, it has several family sized public rooms which include among their number a beautiful and elegant conservatory, and a lounge bar run by Ted, the urbane ex Scots Guardsman who keeps a diligent eye on all that is happening in and around the hotel.
Outside there are acres upon acres of the most glorious north British gardens, a riot of colour and rare trees. Guests are serenaded by bird song and the sighing of soft breezes amount the great trees.
The food is lovely - truly home cooked and served by superbly attentive and well motivated youngsters. This is one of the best hideaways in Great Britain and must not be overlooked if you are an ex-services officer or connected by family or friendship to one. It is difficult to find any fault with Douneside House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I brought with us an elderly aunt who is diabetic and of limited mobility. This was a great success. Our rooms were much improved from our last visit 9 years ago and the food was excellent (we were on Full Board). The staff were very attentive and the needs of our aunt were met in the most kindly and helpful manner. Alternative menu choices were made available for her when required. The house itself is comfortable and peaceful - good library and two TV rooms! I used the swimming pool and the walks through the grounds are stunning.

No real criticisms, although the offered full internet access was rather temperamental and mobile phone signals can be problematic.

Its a long way from home but we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed in Alpha Cottage with our two children and dog. We had an excellent 2 night stay. The accommodation, food and welcome was second to none. The facilities are great for families too. We all had en suites and all creature comforts had been thought of and provided. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just a short two night stay this time but, as ever, thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Very comfortable, well equipped rooms - one at the front with superb views of the Deeside country and hills. Food was nothing short of excellent and the staff were friendly, faultlessly attentive, helpful and cheerful. The extensive and impressive grounds and gardens are always beautiful and immaculate, and in late May were just staring to bloom and a delight to walk through. Very much enjoyed a swim and sauna in the leisure centre. The whole environment at Douneside is pleasant, relaxing and thoroughly agreeable. Looking forward already to our next visit in August?
G & M MacD

Room Tip: Although we are always happy with any room we stay in at Douneside, and they are all good value for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keppoch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed en famille for 5 nights. We had a wonderful time for various reasons. The accommodation was very comfortable, if a little dated. However, this did not detract. Wonderful food and very warm, welcoming staff make you feel very much at home. The grounds are beautiful and there are many facilities and activities on offer for all ages. The leisure centre is a big plus given the weather but we also managed to enjoy the natural beauty of Douneside, the gardeners clearly do a super job. Of course, there is so much to do around Douneside so if you love the outdoors, you must come here. We loved it, as did our children aged 7 and 5. We would love to return for so many different reasons. A big thank you to all at Douneside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerRitch1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Recently stayed at Douneside and, as usual, had an excellent experience. Cannot praise enough the staff, food, accommodation and surroundings. Will, of course, be returning in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
6.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
9.4 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
15.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douneside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douneside House

Property: Douneside House
Address: | Tarland, Aboyne AB34 4UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Douneside House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Douneside House is a truly special place. A calm and civilised retreat from a busy and hectic world, you can expect a warm welcome, fine dining and luxurious comfort in this most hospitable and unique Highland country house on Royal Deeside. Set in seventeen acres of landscaped gardens, Douneside House lies at the heart of The MacRobert Trust Estate in the Howe of Cromar by the Cairngorms National Park. Douneside is an excellent centre from which to explore the North East Highlands of Scotland and to take part in traditional sporting activities such as fishing and stalking, hill walking and ski-ing. The Douneside Health Club is fully equipped with a 18 station fitness suite, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for the use of our guests. Outside we have an all-weather tennis court and croquet, badminton and putting on our splendid 2 acre lawn. There's plenty to do without leaving Douneside House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Douneside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douneside House Aboyne, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing