We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage for as couple”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dougals Glen

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge General Lounge Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Lounge General
Lounge Front
Bedroom
Kitchen with Hall to Bedroom
Aboyne Village
Village Green Aboyne
One of our Regulars
Enjoying Myself 12000 feet above Aboyne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aboyne, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Graham L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great cottage for as couple”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

There is everything a couple would want in this modern cottage and offers very secure off street parking. The location gave access to some great walks and sight seeing in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camera-Co...
Rosyth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful bolt hole in Deeside”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Dougals Glen is wonerfully located for exploring the surrounding area and is the perfect size for a couple.
The apartment is well appointed and has everything needed for your stay.
The one factor which sets this apartment apart from the competition are the lovely hosts Lynn & Murdo who make visitors feel so welcome that it is hard to leave.
I would happily recommend this location if you are considering a break in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murray423
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just ideal”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I would just like to say that I and my dog Maya had a lovely relaxing stay at Ivy Cottage.

Ivy Cottage has a welcoming homely feel and is immaculately presented.

Ideally located for beautiful walks on your doorstep and as a central base for visiting Royal Deeside.

Murdo and Lynn I would like to thank you both for your hospitality and friendship.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R3836SXda...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We could not have picked a better residence for our holiday. The Cottage is so beautifully laid out and above all comfortably situated for our needs (Aboyne Gliding Club).
The people who own this Cottage ( Murdo and Lynn) are such a lovely couple that you could not want anyone better. Anything you require they are always willing to get if they can.
Overall Perfect residence- perfect area and above all, THE PERFECT HOLIDAY WHICH WE DULY NEEDED.
JOANNE AND MYSRLF WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COTTAGE TO ANY PROSPECTIVE CLIENTS WHO ARE CURRENTLY LOOKING IN THIS AREA.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans F
1 review
“Very nice and well equipped chalet”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Chalet is nice, clean and well equipped.
I should like a cover in the bathroom around the shower in order not to gett all floor wet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Shower without a cover
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zanacea55
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to go back already!”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Perfect location for exploring the area. Such lovely hosts too.
Small, compact chalet with everything you need.
River walks just across the road and plenty more all around.
We had a fabulous stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quiet and relaxing break”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Perfectly located for our needs during a 9-night stay. Short drive to Aboyne for provisions and very close to the Cairngorms where we walked. Great self-catering chalet! The washing machine, drying facilities and wifi made life easier..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing