We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlands Unbridled Trail Riding & Trekking Centre
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Working Holiday 🤩

My 16 year old daughter is just back from a week’s working holiday at Highlands Unbridled. She had... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Susan P
Book it if you can ( they get busy )

Adventure of a lifetime riding across Sutherland on beautiful Highland ponies . Wild remote... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
rjgm2015
,
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Read all 241 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
217
8
2
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
8
2
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast to coast working holiday day trek well taken care long days riding experience great riding loch ness hour hack days riding an unforgettable experience an experienced rider beautiful landscape behind the scenes lovely horses experience scotland fun ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I did join the "outlander" Tour this September with Highlands Unbridled. We were touring the whole time so I never saw the stables themselves and therefore cannot give any Review about them. Also the Centre is still in quarantine as they have the stangles there now. But our Trail horses which have not been at the Centre for months were well and healthy. Which leads me to...

The Horses
… are Mainly Highland Ponies. All well cared for: healthy and behaved (mainly) well. Mainly - because, you know, they are living creatures and have good and bad days. But they were never spooked or tried to bolt. Most of them are quite greedy when it comes to food and grazing. This can be a real struggle sometimes.

The Equipment
Honestly, the Equipment was not my taste. I have never seen so much plastic on one horse and personally I would not choose this material. But to be fair, it was all in good condition and very light weight and I think they chose it because it is easy to clean and due to the colour choice easy to distinguish between the different horses gear. English saddles are used and you get big saddle bags to carry everything with you which you might need. Most horses are not shoed. But horse boots are used. They need getting used to. Graham and Jan will show you how to handle them.

The Riding
We were riding Long hours per day (twice up to 8 hours) with only one short lunchbreak (lunch pack included and carried in your saddlebags) per day and every know and then a "bathroom" stop. The tempo is quite slow - but this is normal on Long distance tracks.
The Group only consist of 8 riders (including the guide) which is very pleasant.

The Guides
Jan and Graham are lovely people. They love their horses, their country and their jobs. They know a lot about Scottish history and also about Outlander. I chose the tour because I love riding and Outlander. We got to see many filming Locations but also many places were the book story took place. But Outlander was not present 24/7 which was also very enjoyable.
The only drawback I have to give Jan and Graham, for which I only gave "Very Good" and not "Excellent", is their very slow communication. Eventually you will receive email replies - but with many days waiting for them. This can be very nerve-wracking. Specially when you plan a big trip with flight and other accommodations around the riding trip.

Accommodations
During the trip we stayed in 5 different Hotels. Most were old Cottages which were very cosy. The dinners and breakfasts were ala carte and always very delicious.

Sightseeing Days
Out trip included 3 days without riding but going Sightseeing. Again Jan and Graham are very knowledgeable about history and Outlander and took us to many interesting places and also filming Locations which would have taken us a lot of effort to find ourselves. Or we would have had to join a Special Outlander Bus Tour and we would be packed in a bus full a crazy German ladies for days...

Overall Conclusio
I recommend this trip for experienced riders who do not mind Long days in the saddle and like Outlander.

Date of experience: September 2016
4  Thank marlies507
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I had an amazing time riding with Highlands unbridled on their wild west highland trail. The ride took us along lochs, over hills, down mountain sides and across the blooming heather. The horses were well-tempered and the riders were paired with horses that suited their level of experience. The accomondation and food was good. Jan and Graham are such nice people and they take such good care of their horses. I will recommend Highland Unbridled to all my friends and it is a fantastic way to experience the wild part of the highlands.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank MatildaA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Similar experience to other reviewer, had booked two treks, one with family and one 2 hour hack for myself (more experienced rider). Both treks were at the end of our holiday and I had been really looking forward to it. Arrived with young children in the car to find the yard closed due to infectious disease. Obviously this is a very difficult time for the business and I hope the horses recover quickly. I would be very sympathetic to this had we been informed in advance but it really isn't acceptable to fail to advise us before we turned up to ride as I believe the yard had been closed for almost two weeks. We had planned the end of our holiday around the hacks and it was too late for me to organise a long ride at such short notice before coming home - if we'd been informed promptly I could have ridden elsewhere.

Date of experience: August 2016
18  Thank annemacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HighlandsUnbridled, Owner at Highlands Unbridled Trail Riding & Trekking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

I am so very sorry that we did not contact you regarding the closure of our stables because of strangles. I can only presume that in the general panic caused by the outbreak, the staff forgot to call you. We only had a skeleton staff operating two weeks after the outbreak as some staff had their own horses, and we thought it best for them not to be in contact with our's just in case.
I can not apologise enough - this shouldn't have happened and must have been very dissapointing, particularly for the children. This was a total oversight on our part. Should you be in our area again, please contact us and we will be very happy to take you on a ride free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Arrived after a long drive to find the yard was 'closed'. We were approached by someone who told us the horses had a contagious disease and we couldn't therefore ride. No problem with that, illnesses happen and I hope the horses recover soon, but we had booked, we were expected, we were on time, and they had our contact details, so why ( when it appears they knew at least two days previously ) did they not get in touch before we arranged our whole day around our ride and drove all the way out there!!?? Nothing by email, nothing on their website, not everyone lives on FaceBook!

Date of experience: August 2016
11  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HighlandsUnbridled, Owner at Highlands Unbridled Trail Riding & Trekking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

I am so sorry that no-one had contacted you regarding the closure of our stables because of strangles. That is unforgivable - as you say, we had your number as it was in the diary. I can only presume that in the general panic caused by the outbreak, the staff forgot to call you. Again, I can not apologise enough. This was a total oversight on our part. Should you be in our area again, please contact us and we will be very happy to take you on a ride free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Terrible very unorganised and unprofessional and horses are like donkeys very slow and hardly move unless you want a whip which I don't agree with most of the horses should be retired. We had riding lessons here for 3 months and the instructor took the mick teaching stuff that is not relevant to being able to ride. Waste of a lot of money for nothing go somewhere else now with young horses which is what you need to learn to ride properly and a fully qualified riding instructor that is willing to learn you how to ride properly and not just take your money and teach you nothing. I would not recommend this place to anyone stay well clear.

Date of experience: April 2016
19  Thank tracey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HighlandsUnbridled, Owner at Highlands Unbridled Trail Riding & Trekking Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

I'm sorry you had a bad experience here. However I disagree that our horses are slow and hardly move! As I recall you were beginners when you came here - we need to put you on sensible horses (yes, the plods) until you have the basics of riding mastered. Once you were ready to progress to the faster horses we would have put you on them. I am not sure what you were being taught that was 'not relevant to being able to ride'. Our instructor worked a lot on balance and concentrated on getting the beginner riders to learn rising trot without the reins, so that they developed an independant seat and did not use the reins to haul themselves up out of the saddle. Developing the foundations of a good rider is important - there should be no short-cuts . I am sorry if you felt you were not progressing quickly enough and am glad that you have now moved on to a riding centre that you feel is better suited to your requirements. I wish you all the best in your future riding experiences. Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews