We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay at Birch Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birch Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aboyne, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
mcgregorn...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stay at Birch Cottage”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful long weekend at Birch Cottage. The cottage was well appointed, comfortable and in a fantastic location. We enjoyed nearby walks, the local pub served great food and was just a short walk away. Our children loved seeing pheasants, deer, rabbits and a red squirrel. The local walk around Queen's Loch was really lovely. We hope to return soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart632
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable cottage in a great location on Deeside”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were a party of 5 (family of 4 plus Gran) and we found the cottage to be clean, comfortable , well presented, well equipped and well looked after. Owner provided clear directions and cottage had a folder with instructions etc for stove, cooker etc plus info on surrounding area which were appreciated. Stairs to 2 bedrooms and bathroom upstairs are steep so upstairs rooms wont suit elderly people but 'Gran' in our party stayed in the twin bedroom with ensuite on the ground floor so was not a problem. Cottage is down a lane so is away from the South Deeside Road (a B road) which means it is nice and quiet - even though it was April I had a few breakfasts in the front garden where the only sounds were the birds and grouse calling.
Plenty of electric heaters available throughout the cottage as well as the wood burning stove for those days and nights when it gets cold. Plenty of dishes and all necessary facilities provided.
Aboyne is in a nice location between Ballater and Banchory with plenty to do in the local area. Also plenty of walks of varying degrees / distance available locally / within a few miles. Similarly lots of quiet roads and tracks for cycling in the local area.
Coop, local shops, churches and restaurants all available in the village a few minutes drive or cycle away.
All in all a lovely comfortable cottage in a great rural village location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty A
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2018
We zijn zo blij dat jullie van jullie verblijf en de houtkachel hebben genoten!

Thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and made the most of the wood-burning stove!
Best wishes,
Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing