We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, comfortable and perfect location”
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly, comfortable and perfect location”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I booked 2 nights at this hotel for a seaside break with my son. For the price it was really good value - we got a great welcome and our room was really comfortable and we even got given a choice on arrival. The location is perfect with the hotel right outside the nicest part of the beach, but still not too noisy in the evenings. It's also a very short walk to the town with plenty of choices for eating throughout the day.

The hotel has good wifi throughout - which was great for me catching up on Sky on my iPad as the signal was strong and there was no problem streaming.

Showers were warm and clean and the other guests seemed to enjoy a drink at the bar, but as my son is only 5 we avoided it!

Easy to get to from the station or they provide parking. Weymouth is an awesome location as it a lovely town with a great beach and really friendly people - I will be back next year and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    23
    16
    20
See reviews for
16
53
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in the Alexandra for 4 nights while viewing properties with a view to relocate to the town, I found the owners friendly and helpful , the room was clean if a little dated and the hotel is well situated for the town and beach. all in all a good experience although parking was a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very nice hotel: clean, spacious communal rooms, friendly and on the seafront. The owner lent me his geological maps and books of the area. I spent much time working out the rock bands visible along the coastline and the ridges of hills around Corfe Castle. V interesting stuff. Thanks Tim.
The hotel's car park, which is free, was extremely useful as parking in Weymouth is expensive and chances of finding a space next to your hotel are slim.
Only grumble would be the mattress which wasn't so good for my back. Having said that, the missus didn't have a problem.
Oh yeah, and Weymouth is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the Alexandra specially for the seafood festival in july,choosing it for it's fantastic location 2 minutes from the beautiful harbour where the festival was located.The small car park is really handy as parking is hard to come by during the summer season.All the staff were courteous and friendly,rooms tidy and comfortable.Breakfast good and varied.Hope to revisit for more of the same.

Room Tip: Can be noisy on the front for a short time when pubs shut
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a weeks stay at the Alexandra hotel beginning the 10th August and it was a most enjoyable stay for both my husband and i. The owners were friendly and we were made to feel welcome the moment that we arrived. The room that we were allocated had a beautiful view over the sea....stunning to wake up to each morning! The room itself was very clean and comfortable, tea making facilities were well stocked each day along with the bed being remade for our comfort.
The hotel has its own secure carpark located at the back of the hotel which is a real bonus to people staying at the hotel. The hotel is situated close to the old harbour and the centre of town which is a real benefit.Thank you Tim and Sue for making our stay a pleasurable one, and we will definately stay at the Alexandra again without any question!!
Rob and Diane Bate

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The location of the Alexandra is perfect for the beach and harbour in Weymouth. Sue & Tim the owners looked after our every need. The secure FREE car park is a massive bonus, this shoud be taken into account with similar establishments that do not offer this. The free car park over a week saves you a lot of money. Tim marshals it spot on, thank you. If you are looking for the Ritz at bargain prices, this is not it, but the rooms, service, cleanliness are hard to find at the prices we paid again thank you, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was surprised by the friendliness of the staff at the hotel, so very warm and helpful.
The room pleasant and the hotel quiet.
The breakfast was very nice and the staff really gave very good service.
If I am back down that way again I will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: 27-28 the esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing