We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but to many stairs”
Review of Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour House
Ranked #28 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful but to many stairs”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This has to be one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed, friendly hosts, the breakfast was lovely especially the wonderful fresh berry's and tasty cooked breakfast. The only downside is the amount of stairs to the room, I was right at the top and found them to much for me.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the harbour but to many stairs for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisydoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
119
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Our Room was excellent- the bed was very comfortable, the en-suite a good size and well equipped. The breakfast was just what I hoped for, fresh fruit, toast, and a cooked breakfast.All in all well worth the price. I would heartily recommend Harbour House and woul definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheMalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We found this an excellent B&B where nothing was too much trouble even down to booking a hair appointment! The room was large and airy and the en suite very nice. All was cleaned thoroughly each day and linen changed regularly. The bed was large and very comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty with a large selection of cereals etc. The cooked breakfast was a choice of anything you could have wished for and freshly cooked. Having the parking permit was a boon which saved us a lot of car parking charges. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for a week and really enjoyed it. Hotel is nice and clean our bed was changed 3 time within the week which I think is very good, the room was cleaned every day and towels changed every other day. Lovely breakfast nothing was to much trouble for the owners, they were all really friendly. We stayed in room 9 which was at top of the house it's quite a small room which i was told about at time of booking but it didn't matter as the weather was good and we were only in he room at night which was just as well as there is nowhere to sit in the room only on the bed. But as I said it didn't bother us as the weather was so good we were able to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and watch the boats along the harbour. It was also lovely to be able to leave the balcony doors open at night kept the room nice and cool. I did have a look in one of the larger rooms as we passed they were nice and big and had chairs by lovely bay windows to watch the world go by. On saying this if the weather was nice I would definitely stay in room 9 as we loved the balcony. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 9 top of the house small but has a lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliemo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay - no chintz, all cool calm and contemporary with a large clean room, superb bed, immaculate bathroom and fantastic owners. We'd left some stuff behind and they went the extra mile, providing us with replacements, as well as lots of good tips on places to go in Weymouth. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andbeyond2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at Harbour House following camping at Camp Bestival, so arrived laden with luggage; the owner was instantly welcoming, offering to look after some of out bulkier items.

Our room was small, but perfectly formed. Beautifully comfortable bed, and nice toiletries in the bathroom, just what was required after a weekend in a field!

After a short nap, we headed out for dinner, recommended by the owner, and what a recommendation this was! We went to The Red Lion, a lovely pub just around the corner from the house.

The following morning we were served a lovely filling breakfast, choices included cereal, fruit croissants and a very filling full English.

Although we were only staying for one night the owner allowed us to leave our luggage, this enabled us to spend the day in Weymouth visiting other attractions.

A perfect B and B!

Room Tip: Although room 4 doesn't have a view, being to the back of the property does mean it is quiet, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenofHelenaRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I'll start by saying that Amrit was absolutely excellent. On a number of different counts she went above and beyond, including helping me carry luggage from the car, loaning us a high-chair and she even washed our baby's bottles out. Nothing was too much trouble.

I've only rated our experience as very good (and not excellent) because of the street noise. We were on the first floor at the front. On a warm summer's evening you need the window open but that means you get some street noise from revellers late into the night. Our baby woke at least once due to the noise. That said, if it'd just been us as a couple we probably wouldn't have been too bothered so I don't want this to detract from the overall excellent service, lovely environment, and Amrit herself who was brilliant as I say. The location is great for the beach and Weymouth has loads to offer.

Improvements:

A ceiling or even freestanding fan would've been nice on what were very warm nights and we could've then shut the window and cut the street noise down a bit.

It probably seems petty but the internal doors all have closers and slam. Not great when you have a baby going to bed when other guests are going out for dinner.

Finally, I'm not a massive fan of street parking where you have to battle to get a space. This is included in the price but it seems that the spaces go quite quickly in peak season and you're then into car parks which are not quite as reassuring as having your car nearby. This is an issue for pretty much every hotel and B&B in the area though so nothing directly to do with the Harbour House.


Overall I'd thoroughly recommend Harbour House to couples, business people, those on their own and groups of friends. I'd recommend it too for families if your kids will sleep through a bit of noise! I don't think I've stayed in a B&B where the owner was so positive and kind - full marks on that count!

Room Tip: It may be quieter if you have one of the upper rooms (above first floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#29 of 165 in Weymouth
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boaters Guest House
Boaters Guest House
#107 of 165 in Weymouth
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#34 of 165 in Weymouth
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House

Property: Harbour House
Address: 3 Belle Vue, Weymouth DT4 8DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House Hotel Weymouth
Harbour House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing