We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Weymouth”
Review of B+B Weymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Weymouth
Ranked #25 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Weymouth”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The B & B is a great place to stay. Exceptional value. The room was large, with high ceilings and we had a great view over the bay. Loved the guest lounge with comfy sofas, a huge tv and tea and coffee. Most important was a great welcome. Would definitely visit again - we had read previous reviews and were concerned about noise. We didn't experience any adverse noise but the view would more than make up for it. Thanks for a great stay Emma

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Philippa2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Philippa - thank you very much for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you again. With very best wishes from Team B+B Weymouth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    166
    75
    23
    13
See reviews for
93
247
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is our fifth or sixth stay here. Like last year we come at the same weekend each year typically end of October and book 3 rooms. We always request Room 3 and this is never a problem which is great. When we first started coming here in 2009 we had convinced ourselves we would never stay anywhere else in Weymouth. Fresh minimal Décor only added to the effect of the place. A large spacious lounge with refreshments and coffee/tea/bottled water is always a nice touch. Fast forward some 4 years and the cracks are beginning to show. We first noticed at check in that we didn't really get a smile and whilst the lady who checked us in wasn't unpleasant, you could hardly call her pleasant. For a B&B that likes to 'welcome back old friends' it felt like we were friends that they would rather forget! That's loyalty for you! There were no pleasantries what so ever except to ask for the £10 deposit for the car park permit (which we didn't have a problem with). When we walked into Room 3 we were quite shocked. The same stain from last year near the bathroom door was still there! But worse than this the room looked like it had suffered from the worst damp I have ever seen! The walls were all different shades of white particularly behind the bed area and is in need of urgent TLC. However the next morning we then noticed the valance on our bed had coffee stains all the way up it stretching the whole area of the bed. Not being tea or coffee drinkers ourselves I can definitely confirm that it wasn't us! We expected the room to be cleaned on the Saturday so thought nothing of it however at 5pm Saturday we noticed it hadn't so as it wasn't the actual bed sheet itself we persevered. When we went to check out Sunday I would have mentioned it myself however no-one was in the office and as we were parked a distance away I only had chance to drop the permit in and retrieve my prized £10 after she had forgotten to give it to me!!! The coffee machine in the lounge is now an Olympic sport as very rarely do you get a full cup of coffee and it tastes like poison- perhaps some urgent remedial action may be required! What was terrible was that one morning we were woken by another guests dogs barking so loudly outside our door for 20 mins at 7am it was impossible to get back to sleep. I know the B&B is pet friendly but we go away for a much needed break, not to be awoken by dogs howling in the early hours. All in all, we visit Weymouth each year but next year for the first time in years we have a desire to go somewhere else. It really pains me to say this but we pay a lot of money for this and look forward to it but I am not prepared to do this any longer.

One positive note is the beds are comfortable and so are the pillows (minus stained sheets) and if you can stay in your bed long enough to enjoy without being awoken by shrieking animals then you cant go wrong.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie231085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your feedback. We have addressed all your comments in detail in a staff meeting and have used the points in valuable staff training. Thank you.

Regarding Housekeeping on the Saturday - there was a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door all day and when we asked about it at 5pm in the evening we were told that you had forgotten to take it away when you went out.

The Coffee Machine is the same as last visit but we have bought new mugs and so you need to press the 'Large' button to get a fuller cup - sorry we didn't explain this to you.

Room 3 is directly next to the guest lounge. We have always allowed dogowners to eat breakfast in the lounge as dogs are not permitted in the Breakfast Room. We would always recommend choosing a room away from the public areas during busy times. There can be quite a bit of activity during busy times. We would have asked a 'howling' dog to be quietened and are truly sorry if we did not do this for you.
.
Sorry the Duty Manager was not present when you wanted to retrieve your deposit - we are a multidisciplinary team (which you praised us for in your previous review, saying it was 'good management') Duty Managers are encouraged to look after guests during breakfast service and help. There is always a sign on Reception door to explain exactly where to find us. Apologies for any inconvenience.

As you know, the Team do their utmost to make the best trip possible for you and we really do value your loyalty - we reward with our Belong + Benefit Club and have great relations with returning guests. Our new Team members would not have recognised your faces - apologies for this. We would love to welcome you back. If you contact me directly, we can talk through your particular requirements and aim for a once-again wonderful trip.

Sincere thanks, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our 20th stay in paid accommodation this year -the last, and the only one where we have left early- a real disappointment as it would have been great to finish on a high. I have read all the reviews from the last few months for the B+B and feel a little unsure what to write... I guess we were hoping for a good nights sleep but both nights we were there the pub next door was busy until gone 4am and every single conversation could be heard due to the poor window insulation - yes, the building is listed and the pub is external to the B+B business but even so more could be done. Also the window in the bathroom is not frosted and so the blinds need to be down the whole time. The rooms seem tired with splatters on the wall, food left under the furniture and hair accessories by the bed and large patch of what I hope was damp in the carpet which made the whole room smell unpleasant. I agree with others, the staff are friendly but despite all the replies on Trip Advisor I wasn't impressed with the response when I complained. The price we paid was suggestive of a much better standard of accommodation,(£540 for 4 for 3 nights) given that we were well out of season and we had to pay for the night that we didn't stay as well - which I understand but feel that some compromise could have been suggested.

Room Tip: Hopefully rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suze30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to review - all feedback is genuinely appreciated and crucial to our development.

It is true, we are unable to replace the sash windows due to the Conservation Laws but we have invested heavily in secondary glazing which has hepled with street sounds enormously. We are truly sorry that your peace and quiet has been affected.

We should not have fallen short on a housekeeping level - thank you for letting us know. This is unacceptable at any level of hospitality.

The Manager on Duty when you came to check out had not experienced an early departure at B+B Weymouth and so this has highlighted a need for further training. It would have been more helpful to you, our guest, if we had been more holistic in our understanding of your overall situation.

I would really value the chance to speak to you in person - please could you e-mail or telephone 01305 761190 - I look forward to speaking soon. Thank you, once again.

With Best Wishes.






It is here that we have

and I would really like to discuss this with you aside from this forum - would you mind me contacting via e-mail or telephone?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Friendly service, spacious bedroom with sea view, very good overall stay for us and our dog!
Exactly as website says!
We enjoyed our first visit to Weymouth with the help of this B+B Weymouth!
Finished with a fantastic breakfast!
Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyDicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you Guests - our seaview rooms do boast fab views across Weymouth Bay towards Lulworth Cove in the east and the Isle of Portland in the west. But even if your bedroom is not at the front - the Guest Lounge has huge windows withe the same view and is a great place to while away the hours.

Pleas ecome again soon - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Just had a great three night stay here and we can't fault the overall experience. Yes some bits of carpet are worn on the stairs but it's rediculous to say it affected your stay.Yes you can hear noise now and then but then you are in the town.
We'll be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank noel063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you Noel.

Every winter the B+B undergoes essential maintenance and we are able to give the ugly spots some TLC! We make no secret about being in the town centre and many of our guests appreciate the closeness to shops, beach and super harbourside. We are delighted you enjoyed this too!

We look forward to welcoming you back - have you signed up to Belong + Benefit - great for regular visitors....?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

What you have to do, it seems to me, whenever you comment on accommodation is to bear in mind the price! I know that's obvious, but it does seem to have escaped the attention of some of the other reviewers. While there is nowhere to park in the B&B, the website says that up front and offers to get you a parking permit. It is also true that there was no place to unpack aside from the wardrobe - but that is perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. The room was well equipped with stuff that should be standard today, such as all the major computer connections. The bathroom was well furnished, but could have done with more shelving.
Personally, we liked the guest area with ad-lib tea and coffee. Among other things, it's a great site for people watching and a big improvement on the miserable business of boiling a low powered kettle kin a cupboard that you get in most british hotels at this price range. The coffee is a lot better than Nescafe and a wide range of teas and infusions that you don't find commonly.
For me the star of the piece was the breakfast, cooked to order, crisp bacon (hurray) and freshly scrambled egg, served in a light airy room with 21st century furniture, by a person who smiled. It really sets you up for the day.
I repeat that at this price (£60 for 2 all in) it is a no frills approach but very good value for money - it does exactly what it says - it is a bed and breakfast

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iainby4sChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to review - it sounds as though you understand the B+B philosophy 100% - we aim to provide great Bed + Breakfast so that you can enjoy the rest of Weymouth and Portland for business or pleasure!....but we agree, along the way ...a great coffee overlooking one of the best views on the planet doesn't go amiss!!

Thank you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in the Weymouth B&B last night and found the experience disappointing. The rooms are basically furnished, the room did not have a bath and the mattress was worn out with springs poking out, tea and coffee was only provided in a central lounge with too few seats. The room was also very stuffy, the carpets are thread bare and the additional cost of parking makes this a very expensive B&B. We also ended up having to carry our luggage approx 600m. Pets were also allowed in the lounge! On the positive the Wifi was free and it is close to Central Weymouth although this also meant we heard drunks throughout the night and into the early morning to about four. Overall a poor experience for£90.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guests. Thank you for taking time to review. It is such a shame that you have not enjoyed your stay with us - it is never our intention. However, we are very clear in our marketing that we welcome dogs and that we do not have on-site parking. The parking permits are free to our guests - the deposit we ask for, is refundable and this is clear on the T+C's you sign and accpet on arrival. We are always complimented on the comfort of our mattresses - we were horrified that you thought springs were poking out but honestly, we cannot find them. We have taken your feedback as an opportunity to audit all rooms and 'turn' mattresses.Thank you. We try to make it very clear on our website that we do not have a lift and the team are more than happy to help with luggage. We are 100% dedicated to great customer care. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wenlock House
Wenlock House
#149 of 165 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Weymouth

Property: B+B Weymouth
Address: 68 The Esplanade | Dorset, Weymouth DT4 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Weymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B+B Weymouth is on the sea front, perfectly located for the award winning sandy beach, railway station, town centre shops, historic harbour and ferry ports. The interior of this graded building has been modernised offering contemporary and stylish accommodation. The B+B has 26 en suite rooms, a guest lounge with stunning sea views and a light and airy breakfast room. Enjoy complimentary teas & fresh coffees, free Wi-Fi, local telephone calls, daily newspapers and the latest Teleadapt media hub technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your B+B Weymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b+b Weymouth Hotel Weymouth
B+B Weymouth Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing