We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket and Spade salesmen Away from home”
Review of B+B Weymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B+B Weymouth
Ranked #22 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great place this , unless they give you the room next to the lounge , this is to be avoided at all cost .First morning I asked for a banana , 5 minutes later our lady runs in with one , she's just run to the shops and bought one , and I mean run . We have stayed here on business now for four or five years in November for one week , can't think of wanting to move any were else . They know us , 5 working men and they really sort out our stay .
Thanks

Room Tip: Avoid room next to lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hi Guys!

Glad everything went to plan during your stay with us - it really is a pleasure to welcome you back each year and we look forward to all your tales of the Bucket and Spade Trade!

Your business is very valuable to us and we really do appreciate the annual visit!

Look forward to a prosperous 2014 and welcoming you all back soon!

All the Best from all the Team in Weymouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very welcoming , helpful staff. Lovely spacious room and although in the middle if town , surprisingly quiet! Very clean , lovely big, comfortable bed , brilliant breakfast cooked to order. My only criticisms are that we had to go down a flight of stairs to find the tea and coffee facilities, which I'd thought were in the rooms. Also the parking is a bit tricky and if you don't know Weymouth it can take a while to find anywhere to leave the car overnight. Having said this I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the shops and had no sea view plus it was up a couple of flights of stairs, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hi Guest and thank you for the feedback.

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay and our central location.

When you next visit, contact us directly and we will ensure there is a hospitality tray in the room for your convenience and comfort.

Super - we look forward to welcoming you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Excellent location, ideal for seafront, shops and eating places.
The Guest house is clean and welcoming. The rooms are modern and warm. They are well equipped and inviting.
The staff were welcoming and could not do enough to make sure your stay was good.
Breakfast was excellent and was cooked fresh and to order.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonSiteseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hi Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to review - we really do take the time to read and listen to our feedback . It is great to receive a 'feelgood' review like this and we will be sure to let the Team know!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Weymouth with friends. We chose to stay at the B+B Weymouth after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking out in the evening and enjoying the local pubs and restaurants. The hotel was clean and the breakfasts were freshly cooked. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Will be returning on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbellerules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Hi Glynnis

Thank you very much for reviewing. We are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay. We love our proximity to the beach, town, harbourside and fabulous eateries and we are thrilled you have shared the B+B Love!

See you soon - Team B+B Weymouth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The B & B is a great place to stay. Exceptional value. The room was large, with high ceilings and we had a great view over the bay. Loved the guest lounge with comfy sofas, a huge tv and tea and coffee. Most important was a great welcome. Would definitely visit again - we had read previous reviews and were concerned about noise. We didn't experience any adverse noise but the view would more than make up for it. Thanks for a great stay Emma

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Philippa2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hi Philippa - thank you very much for your feedback - we look forward to welcoming you again. With very best wishes from Team B+B Weymouth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is our fifth or sixth stay here. Like last year we come at the same weekend each year typically end of October and book 3 rooms. We always request Room 3 and this is never a problem which is great. When we first started coming here in 2009 we had convinced ourselves we would never stay anywhere else in Weymouth. Fresh minimal Décor only added to the effect of the place. A large spacious lounge with refreshments and coffee/tea/bottled water is always a nice touch. Fast forward some 4 years and the cracks are beginning to show. We first noticed at check in that we didn't really get a smile and whilst the lady who checked us in wasn't unpleasant, you could hardly call her pleasant. For a B&B that likes to 'welcome back old friends' it felt like we were friends that they would rather forget! That's loyalty for you! There were no pleasantries what so ever except to ask for the £10 deposit for the car park permit (which we didn't have a problem with). When we walked into Room 3 we were quite shocked. The same stain from last year near the bathroom door was still there! But worse than this the room looked like it had suffered from the worst damp I have ever seen! The walls were all different shades of white particularly behind the bed area and is in need of urgent TLC. However the next morning we then noticed the valance on our bed had coffee stains all the way up it stretching the whole area of the bed. Not being tea or coffee drinkers ourselves I can definitely confirm that it wasn't us! We expected the room to be cleaned on the Saturday so thought nothing of it however at 5pm Saturday we noticed it hadn't so as it wasn't the actual bed sheet itself we persevered. When we went to check out Sunday I would have mentioned it myself however no-one was in the office and as we were parked a distance away I only had chance to drop the permit in and retrieve my prized £10 after she had forgotten to give it to me!!! The coffee machine in the lounge is now an Olympic sport as very rarely do you get a full cup of coffee and it tastes like poison- perhaps some urgent remedial action may be required! What was terrible was that one morning we were woken by another guests dogs barking so loudly outside our door for 20 mins at 7am it was impossible to get back to sleep. I know the B&B is pet friendly but we go away for a much needed break, not to be awoken by dogs howling in the early hours. All in all, we visit Weymouth each year but next year for the first time in years we have a desire to go somewhere else. It really pains me to say this but we pay a lot of money for this and look forward to it but I am not prepared to do this any longer.

One positive note is the beds are comfortable and so are the pillows (minus stained sheets) and if you can stay in your bed long enough to enjoy without being awoken by shrieking animals then you cant go wrong.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie231085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your feedback. We have addressed all your comments in detail in a staff meeting and have used the points in valuable staff training. Thank you.

Regarding Housekeeping on the Saturday - there was a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door all day and when we asked about it at 5pm in the evening we were told that you had forgotten to take it away when you went out.

The Coffee Machine is the same as last visit but we have bought new mugs and so you need to press the 'Large' button to get a fuller cup - sorry we didn't explain this to you.

Room 3 is directly next to the guest lounge. We have always allowed dogowners to eat breakfast in the lounge as dogs are not permitted in the Breakfast Room. We would always recommend choosing a room away from the public areas during busy times. There can be quite a bit of activity during busy times. We would have asked a 'howling' dog to be quietened and are truly sorry if we did not do this for you.
.
Sorry the Duty Manager was not present when you wanted to retrieve your deposit - we are a multidisciplinary team (which you praised us for in your previous review, saying it was 'good management') Duty Managers are encouraged to look after guests during breakfast service and help. There is always a sign on Reception door to explain exactly where to find us. Apologies for any inconvenience.

As you know, the Team do their utmost to make the best trip possible for you and we really do value your loyalty - we reward with our Belong + Benefit Club and have great relations with returning guests. Our new Team members would not have recognised your faces - apologies for this. We would love to welcome you back. If you contact me directly, we can talk through your particular requirements and aim for a once-again wonderful trip.

Sincere thanks, once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our 20th stay in paid accommodation this year -the last, and the only one where we have left early- a real disappointment as it would have been great to finish on a high. I have read all the reviews from the last few months for the B+B and feel a little unsure what to write... I guess we were hoping for a good nights sleep but both nights we were there the pub next door was busy until gone 4am and every single conversation could be heard due to the poor window insulation - yes, the building is listed and the pub is external to the B+B business but even so more could be done. Also the window in the bathroom is not frosted and so the blinds need to be down the whole time. The rooms seem tired with splatters on the wall, food left under the furniture and hair accessories by the bed and large patch of what I hope was damp in the carpet which made the whole room smell unpleasant. I agree with others, the staff are friendly but despite all the replies on Trip Advisor I wasn't impressed with the response when I complained. The price we paid was suggestive of a much better standard of accommodation,(£540 for 4 for 3 nights) given that we were well out of season and we had to pay for the night that we didn't stay as well - which I understand but feel that some compromise could have been suggested.

Room Tip: Hopefully rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suze30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to review - all feedback is genuinely appreciated and crucial to our development.

It is true, we are unable to replace the sash windows due to the Conservation Laws but we have invested heavily in secondary glazing which has hepled with street sounds enormously. We are truly sorry that your peace and quiet has been affected.

We should not have fallen short on a housekeeping level - thank you for letting us know. This is unacceptable at any level of hospitality.

The Manager on Duty when you came to check out had not experienced an early departure at B+B Weymouth and so this has highlighted a need for further training. It would have been more helpful to you, our guest, if we had been more holistic in our understanding of your overall situation.

I would really value the chance to speak to you in person - please could you e-mail or telephone 01305 761190 - I look forward to speaking soon. Thank you, once again.

With Best Wishes.






It is here that we have

and I would really like to discuss this with you aside from this forum - would you mind me contacting via e-mail or telephone?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#30 of 166 in Weymouth
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#2 of 166 in Weymouth
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#146 of 166 in Weymouth
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 166 in Weymouth
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Weymouth

Address: 68 The Esplanade | Dorset, Weymouth DT4 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B+B Weymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B+B Weymouth is on the sea front, perfectly located for the award winning sandy beach, railway station, town centre shops, historic harbour and ferry ports. The interior of this graded building has been modernised offering contemporary and stylish accommodation. The B+B has 26 en suite rooms, a guest lounge with stunning sea views and a light and airy breakfast room. Enjoy complimentary teas & fresh coffees, free Wi-Fi, local telephone calls, daily newspapers and the latest Teleadapt media hub technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Weymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b+b Weymouth Hotel Weymouth
B+B Weymouth Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing