We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of improvement”
Review of B+B Weymouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Weymouth
Ranked #23 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“In need of improvement”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I and my mother and her travelling companion stayed here one night in April. We found it quite difficult to actually find the place even though we had a GPS. Parking outside while you drop bags off is not good, there is no on site parking and you have to park about ten minutes away in a public car park, the B and B rent 9 spaces there however there are 27 rooms in the establishment. If you dont have one of the 9 parks allocated, you have to pay to park there up until 6pm then it is free over night. Not a very good arrangement, if you are travelling by car be aware of this !!!! There are large steps to drag suite cases up and there is no lift or anyone to help, although the lady manager did offer to help with our bags, my elderly mother and here friend found if difficult to deal with their cases. Our room was large and warm but very basic, the bed was hard and we were right next to the lounge with a connecting door, so it was quite noisy during the night as people came into the lounge to make a coffee or watch the TV.Breakfast was OK. This place is right on the water front, parking is the biggest issue, I don't think we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R8fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest - thank you for reviewing. I feel the focus of your dis-satisfaction is our seafront location and the lack of parking. Parking is very rare in Georgian seaside resorts and we make no secrets on all our marketting channels that we do not provide on-site facilities. This info would have also been on your confirmation e-mail. BUT we have invested in the maximum number of permits available to us from the local council - 1 per 3 rooms. We have taken a personal interest in visitor satisfaction to Weymouth and have been extremely active in the campaign for free overnight parking - introduced this year - this is fantastic news and will be a huge plus for businesses like ours.
Without exception, our Team offer to help with luggage - we have been known to walk it to cars parked around the block. I am unsure why we offered to help you but not your guests but I thank you for the info, and we will use this as a training exercise to improve our offering.
I am truly sorry you do not want to stay again - we would love to welcome you back - please contact me personally and we can talk through your exact requirements and allocate a perfect room for you. With Very Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    176
    77
    23
    13
See reviews for
98
258
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is quite a nice B&B, in a good location on the sea front (if a bit further back as compared to the main street). The twin room (#19) was big and modern - the fittings and furniture are generic and cold however it was a relief to see the HolidayInn-type decor knowing that old English houses, even if brimming with "individuality", are sometimes not quite clean and comfortable on the inside.

We were unlucky enough to stay there during outside cosntruction work, so had scaffolding blocking the lovely sea view. It would have been nice to have been warned about that, since I specifically asked about the view from the room when I called to make the booking. However, at least the workers didn't start making noise early in the morning.

At the first floor you'll find a large common room, overlooking the sea, with complimentary refreshments. The owner of the B+B chain is apparently smart enough to realise that a few pounds' worth of coffe and sparkling water pays off massively when it comes to making your guests feel good. I would probably have not bothered writing this review had it not been for this endearing aspect of the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing - we are pleased you have enjoyed our B+B. There is never a good time to do essential painting and decorating and because we are directly on the street, scaffolding is essential - the windows cannot be reached by ladders alone! The contractors were not permitted to start early and the work did not involve machinery so we have tried to minimise impact.

All works are now complete - we are delighted with the result - perhaps visit again and enjoy the sunny view.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast, top location. Will return if in Weymouth again. Only improvement I would suggest would be to supply guests with a map of the areas where to park as finding things before arrival was not easy but became clear once the owner had given us the parking permit and map. Overall excellent visit though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for reviewing. Guests that book direct with us should always have travel instructions and a map attached in the confirmation. This doesn't happen if you book via the on-line travel agents - Booking.com etc.

Thank you for sharing your tips and we look forward to welcoming you back to B+B Weymouth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a delightful crispy white cotton bedding & feather bedding delight.
No faffy fussy niknaks
We had a room on 1st floor over looking the side street. Huge room.
Loved the lounge area & views both ways
Breakfast was delicious.
Only 1 disappointment was the delivery lorry unloading stock on metal cages outside at silly o'clock in the morning. Not the hotel's fault - stock has to be delivered.
Yes there are late night/early morning shouty stragglers wandering past, but we were staying in the centre of town - in the height of a hot summer with the windows open.
Would love to return
Many thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review - and posting some photos - these are helpful to others. We love being so close to the beach and town centre but agree that the delivery lorry in question is very early! We are sorry if this woke you - we hope you were able to rest during the day and enjoy the rest of your day in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We gave just spent a couple of nights at this hotel and on the whole enjoyed our stay. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel, which apparently doubled as a disabled room. How this was the case given that it was on the 4th floor with no lift was a bit difficult to understand. The room was a good size with a large bathroom in a 'wet room' style with an open shower. Unfortunately the only heating in the bathroom was a towel rail so it was pretty cold. The rooms are basic but comfortable with a good bed. Breakfast was very good and the free bottled water and hot drinks in the lounge were a bonus. Staff were helpful and friendly.
The only thing that lost the hotel a mark or two was our experience on the 2nd day. We went out for the day and although it was a nice sunny day it is still February! When we got back to our room at around 5.30, someone, presumably the housekeeper, had left our bathroom window open and had switched off the only heating in the bedroom at the mains. I understand that the electric heating may cost a lot to run but the comfort if the customer must come first and it is not acceptable to turn off the heating. It was very cold in the bedroom and bathroom and took ages to warm up. It was obvious that the room was still occupied as it contained all of our belongings.
Given the location, breakfast and friendliness of staff we would probably stay again but it looks like the housekeeping team could do with more training to ensure the comfort of the guests.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank StryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing.

I can only think that we have been rather over-zealous at the first sign of sun and when servicing your room, we have turned down the heat! We are fresh air fans. Sincere apologies for this - yes, it would have been a lot chillier when you returned early evening compared to when we were house keeping in the morning.

Please come again and we look forward to welcoming you back. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Since my daughter moved here last year I find myself in Weymouth at least twice a month.
I found this boutique B & B on the internet, I have now stayed here more than a dozen times, If it and the staff were not pleasant and professional I would have found somewhere else to stay.
The rooms are of a very good 3 /4 star hotel rating only lacking tea and coffee facilities in the room but these are to be found in tbe residents lounge.
The staff are extremely friendly. The establishment also has the benefit of zonal parking permits handy in a busy coastal town and good WIFI and Bar room service.
For those frequent visitors there is a benifits club that provides a free night for every 6 nights stayed which can be used in any of the 3 establishments in the group (Edinburgh and London are the others)
A little better TV channel selection would be a plus. Also no lift and outside parking are the only drawbacks. I will continue to stay here as long as I stay on the South coast.
I would recommended this establishment to any body who is looking for something central and a cut above the rest, so much so I have given gifts of accommodation to friends who work in the catering industry and they have not been disappointed.
I recommend it to anybody, especially if you are after a romantic weekend getaway, ideal.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jamesthechef1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi James the Chef and we love to welcome you each time you stay!

Would you like a hospitality tray in your room? This would be no problem and may help you unwind a little bit further!

See you soon and thank you, once again for your continued loyalty.

All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just got home after spending two nights here, and what a brilliant two nights they were. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Beds are amazing and had great nights sleep, and to follow that in the morning you can wake up to freshly made Dorset breakfast; which was delicious! Will definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in Weymouth. Also the location is brilliant... All in all a lovely place. 10 out of 10 from us.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezreade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Weymouth, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Kezreade

Thank you for reviewing. Winter is a great time to visit and I see you have just nipped along the coast from Bournemouth! Keep your eyes peeled - we have some super Spring Offers coming up from 1st March and we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Weymouth

Property: B+B Weymouth
Address: 68 The Esplanade | Dorset, Weymouth DT4 7AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Weymouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B+B Weymouth is on the sea front, perfectly located for the award winning sandy beach, railway station, town centre shops, historic harbour and ferry ports. The interior of this graded building has been modernised offering contemporary and stylish accommodation. The B+B has 26 en suite rooms, a guest lounge with stunning sea views and a light and airy breakfast room. Enjoy complimentary teas & fresh coffees, free Wi-Fi, local telephone calls, daily newspapers and the latest Teleadapt media hub technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Weymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b+b Weymouth Hotel Weymouth
B+B Weymouth Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing