We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay..again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Guest House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Guest House B&B
Ranked #82 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay..again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We have just returned from another stay at the Ocean. A warm welcome from Cathy, Andy and Margaret as always. We took both our mothers for a long weekend and they really enjoyed it. The Ocean is relaxed with all the facilities you expect from a B&B. Nice rooms with views of harbour or beach. Comfortable beds with chairs in double rooms. On suite with TV and Coffee / Tea making facility. Towels provided and replaced when required. Rooms are clean and refreshed each day. Andy is proud of his cooked breakfast with plenty of options to choose from (You do get a choice!). We really enjoy the breakfast because of the choice, relaxing atmosphere and a chance to chat with Cathy and Andy plus other guests.The terrace is great especially when the sun is out for 'alfresco' breakfast or just passing the time of day watching the boats go by (You can eat your own food and drink during the day). Cathy and Andy are always approachable and any issues always dealt with. Cathy even provided our wine glasses whilst we watched Andy painting the gates!!
I would highly recommend the Ocean. Everything is within easy walking distance. (Beach, Harbour, shops, restaurants, pubs, amusements etc) We hope to be back for another relaxing visit later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Looking through B&B's on the internet is always a hassle but as soon as I saw this one I fell in love! And I can't say it let me down!
Cathy and Andy are the perfect hosts, warm, welcoming and cheerful! The Guest House itself is exactly the same. Lovely and homey with superb location - harbour on one side, beach on the other. If you get a sunny day be sure to have breakfast or a coffee on their gorgeous terrace overlooking the harbour, this made my trip. So beautiful and relaxing.
The breakfast was great every day, served with a smile and yummy to eat! The bedroom was great, never had any trouble sleeping and the view, yet again was beautiful.
We spoke to a few of the guests over our stay and some of them had said they'd stayed before and always return - we will be doing the same!

Couldn't of asked for a better place to stay. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganFoodyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

me my partner and daughter stayed here and was put in the room overlooking the harbour, the accomadation in itself was really clean and luxurious as with all the rest of the property, but i have to say i wasnt impressed with the way breakfast was served, wasnt given a choice regarding a cooked breakfast what we liked or never liked it was just put in front of us, we didnt even have a chance to eat a cereal first!! i didnt feel the fruit was versatile enough and tesco yoghurt was a bit of a let down too as we paid £80.00 for one night there! overall the proprietors was nice i felt a lot of warmth from andy, but was very offended that as we left there was no one there to see us off or to explain they would have to go out so a safe journey would ve been nice to have been conveyed..dissapointing to be honest!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezzer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Beautiful location overlooking the sea, great to watch the boats good sized room and a lovely breakfast with really friendly owners. Short walk to all the local attractions and restaurants, Thanks again for making my stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 34NickB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

After staying here for three nights with my boyfriend during March and I can definitely say I would 100% recommend this bed and breakfast. The price is very reasonable at £60 per night for a double room (we stayed in room 3 which has a lovely view of Weymouth harbor) It included everything you need for a comfortable stay - the en suite was very well sized too. We had breakfast every morning which was very scrummy - as well as a pot of tea and toast. The hosts themselves (Cathy & Andy) are a very welcoming friendly couple who were a pleasure to stay with and they recommended some great places to visit.
Overall this stay was perfect - there's nothing negative I could say about this B&B and we will be sure to visit again. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Room 3 was quiet with a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Came down for the weekend with my partner to catch up with friends as we live in Manchester.Friendly owners.room had an amazing view down the esplanade.Also views of the habour to the back of the hotel. Very very very clean ;) Breakfast was one of the best ive had in a hotel.don't normally stay in bb usually large hotel chains as I work for one.will use this bb again. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Very seldom do you find acommodation in the UK where the website and the reality are the same. This guesthouse is fantastic! The owners are so hospitable and welcoming, the rooms are beautiful and clean and the location is perfect.
We were looked after so well and, I have to say the little note they left us on our door reminding us of the clocks going back, was just the kind of gesture that makes this place so wonderful.
We will not stay anywhere else in the future. We have found the best place in Weymouth!
Thank you Cathy and Andy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#23 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weymouth Sands Guest House
Weymouth Sands Guest House
#86 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aaran Guesthouse
Aaran Guesthouse
#62 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#75 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#29 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Guest House B&B

Property: The Ocean Guest House B&B
Address: 15 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely guesthouse offering bed and breakfast. With sea views and harbour views.Guest Sun Terrace and Lounge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Ocean Hotel Weymouth
The Ocean Guest House B&B Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing