We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ocean Guest House
Ranked #63 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I phoned up and the landlady said we could have their best room ~always a good sign.
we had room 3 looking out to the lifeboat, smashing view to watch the world pass by whilst enjoying a glass of wine.Parking could be a bit of a struggle in the height of season but it was ok for us Weymouth appears to have more pubs than anywhere we have ever been to.We also went to Monkey world , well worth a trip, The hosts were very nice and helpfull without being obtrusive, which was great~~ thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrNottsCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

First time I have visited this hotel what a good find
Spent three nights here earlier this month,although just two of us we were put in the family room at the back of the hotel overlooking the harbour,The room was very clean
with coffee and tea making facilities,these were replenished daily,the room was cheery and bright and had fine views over the harbour
Andy and Cathy are very friendly and really make you feel at ease, its almost like meeting some old friends even if you have never visited before,they are very helpful with information on places to go and things to see
Great full english breakfast to start the day with plenty of coffee and more toast available if you want it
Hotel is in a good situation with beach,harbour,shops etc all within a few minutes walk
Would not hesitate to go back and would not stay anywhere else in Weymouth as this hotel provides everything you need for a break

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This hotel is located beside the harbour with either harbour views or sea views.Our room was very clean with all the facilities you need eg;tea/coffee,TV and shower room.The owners of this hotel welcomed us on arrival and were very friendly through out our stay.The full english breakfast was enjoyed each morning in the lovely clean dining room.This hotel has a perfect location and people return year after year so I would book early.Best of all was the comfortable clean beds and the lovely owners mother called Margaret who was a little gem herself. Would definatlely go back again and I will be recomending this hotel to family and friends. Barbara and Kelvin Brogan Dec 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarabrogan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed for 3 nights with our little boy, if your after a good old traditional b+b then look no further. The ocean has got a great location at the best end of weymouth with easy access to the beach the front and best of all the harbour area. Our hosts were very welcoming and very good with our little boy instantly putting us at ease. Rooms were clean with traditional b+b decor fantstic views of the harbour. ps breakfast was one of the tastiest we have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerryHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Having been to Weymouth a view times, thought i would try out a new place to stay. Could not have found better, ideal location if you like staying near the harbour and beach, like i do. Cathy and Andy are lovely people, really friendly and have lots of advice if you are new to Weymouth. Rooms are very clean. I have already booked up to go in another 4 weeks .............. See you then :) xxx

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annmarie5988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I feel if you were to book accommodation in Weymouth this would then be the ideal location. It is located near to the harbour and close to the beach, the night life if that is what you want is not to far away either. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the harbour, right opersite the lifeboat. The room was comfortable although there was no soap or shampoo available. The shower had very little pressure but this was just a minor problem.
Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 and was good qualitity, my only complaint was we were not offered brown bread instead of white for toast.
Very close by are pubs and restaurents. I would recommend the Italian restaurent Prezzo's which is by the town bridge near the harbour. On the opersite side of the harbour is Brewers Quay, this area has many pubs and restaurents and is in a very nice setting.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Hotel, the place was very pleasent and I would like to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We had a lovely weekend in Weymouth and were extremely fortunate to stumble upon a delightful hotel overlooking the old harbour and beach. The Ocean Hotel is a gem, it is owned and run by a charming couple and Mother, Andy Cathy & Margaret. The hotel has been recently beautifully refurbished and is all you could wish for. Their rooms are bright, spotlessly clean and have lovely views of Weymouth, with beach views to the front and Old Harbour views to the rear. The owners made us very welcome and were most helpful advising us of places to visit and local excellent restaurants. They also provided us at no cost with a parking permit and we were able to park right outside the Hotel. We would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Weymouth.

1  Thank SouthamptonSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chatsworth
The Chatsworth
#57 of 166 in Weymouth
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#60 of 166 in Weymouth
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#78 of 166 in Weymouth
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Leam Hotel
The Leam Hotel
#42 of 166 in Weymouth
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#51 of 166 in Weymouth
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Guest House

Address: 15 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £48 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely guesthouse offering bed and breakfast. With sea views and harbour views.Guest Sun Terrace and Lounge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ocean Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Ocean Hotel Weymouth
The Ocean Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing