We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Guest House
Ranked #88 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Crewe
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Recently stayed at the Ocean Hotel and had an excellent stay.
The location is fantastic, right by the harbour and just a very short walk from the beach. The owners Cath, Andy and Margaret are great hosts and very helpful with places to visit during the day or good places to eat.
The breakfast was of a very good standard with self service Cereal, Juice, yoghurt and table service for cooked breakfast, coffee and toast
Like many smaller hotels there’s no lift, but Andy was on hand to help with any luggage. Our room, No6, was on the second floor and had a great view over the harbour.
We stayed for a week and will definitely be paying another visit and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gray_crewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nr Notts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

I phoned up and the landlady said we could have their best room ~always a good sign.
we had room 3 looking out to the lifeboat, smashing view to watch the world pass by whilst enjoying a glass of wine.Parking could be a bit of a struggle in the height of season but it was ok for us Weymouth appears to have more pubs than anywhere we have ever been to.We also went to Monkey world , well worth a trip, The hosts were very nice and helpfull without being obtrusive, which was great~~ thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrNottsCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

First time I have visited this hotel what a good find
Spent three nights here earlier this month,although just two of us we were put in the family room at the back of the hotel overlooking the harbour,The room was very clean
with coffee and tea making facilities,these were replenished daily,the room was cheery and bright and had fine views over the harbour
Andy and Cathy are very friendly and really make you feel at ease, its almost like meeting some old friends even if you have never visited before,they are very helpful with information on places to go and things to see
Great full english breakfast to start the day with plenty of coffee and more toast available if you want it
Hotel is in a good situation with beach,harbour,shops etc all within a few minutes walk
Would not hesitate to go back and would not stay anywhere else in Weymouth as this hotel provides everything you need for a break

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This hotel is located beside the harbour with either harbour views or sea views.Our room was very clean with all the facilities you need eg;tea/coffee,TV and shower room.The owners of this hotel welcomed us on arrival and were very friendly through out our stay.The full english breakfast was enjoyed each morning in the lovely clean dining room.This hotel has a perfect location and people return year after year so I would book early.Best of all was the comfortable clean beds and the lovely owners mother called Margaret who was a little gem herself. Would definatlely go back again and I will be recomending this hotel to family and friends. Barbara and Kelvin Brogan Dec 2009

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarabrogan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed for 3 nights with our little boy, if your after a good old traditional b+b then look no further. The ocean has got a great location at the best end of weymouth with easy access to the beach the front and best of all the harbour area. Our hosts were very welcoming and very good with our little boy instantly putting us at ease. Rooms were clean with traditional b+b decor fantstic views of the harbour. ps breakfast was one of the tastiest we have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerryHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Having been to Weymouth a view times, thought i would try out a new place to stay. Could not have found better, ideal location if you like staying near the harbour and beach, like i do. Cathy and Andy are lovely people, really friendly and have lots of advice if you are new to Weymouth. Rooms are very clean. I have already booked up to go in another 4 weeks .............. See you then :) xxx

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annmarie5988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I feel if you were to book accommodation in Weymouth this would then be the ideal location. It is located near to the harbour and close to the beach, the night life if that is what you want is not to far away either. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the harbour, right opersite the lifeboat. The room was comfortable although there was no soap or shampoo available. The shower had very little pressure but this was just a minor problem.
Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30 and was good qualitity, my only complaint was we were not offered brown bread instead of white for toast.
Very close by are pubs and restaurents. I would recommend the Italian restaurent Prezzo's which is by the town bridge near the harbour. On the opersite side of the harbour is Brewers Quay, this area has many pubs and restaurents and is in a very nice setting.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Hotel, the place was very pleasent and I would like to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owlincallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 165 in Weymouth
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wadham Guesthouse
Wadham Guesthouse
#66 of 165 in Weymouth
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aaran Guesthouse
Aaran Guesthouse
#64 of 165 in Weymouth
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#122 of 165 in Weymouth
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weymouth Sands Guest House
Weymouth Sands Guest House
#85 of 165 in Weymouth
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Guest House

Property: The Ocean Guest House
Address: 15 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely guesthouse offering bed and breakfast. With sea views and harbour views.Guest Sun Terrace and Lounge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Ocean Hotel Weymouth
The Ocean Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing