We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Johns Guest House
Ranked #57 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2009

It started to dawn on me that I'd made a good choice of guesthouse when I received a phone call whilst we were travelling down saying to phone when I was just a few mins away and someone would come out to meet the car to help carry our bags. The rooms we stayed in were immaculate and nicely kitted out. Bathrooms (which is a big thing of mine) were spotless with lovely thick towels. Excellent menu for breakfast with the daily papers lined up for everyone. Location wise; literally a 2 min (flat) walk to the sea front. Also an excellent selection of DVDs to borrow if you wanted an early night or if the weather wasn't brilliant. The owners were lovely and friendly and nothing appeared too much trouble for them. I plan to stay there again on my next visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed at St Johns Guest House for a long weekend stay July 2009.
When we arrived the owners introduced themselves to us and was so helpfull.
We stayed in one of the family rooms which was really clean and comfortable with everything you would expect to find in the room. The TV (With freeview) was also a combined DVD player. They do have an extensive range of films for all if you fancy having a night in.
For us it was a good location. It's situated at the eastern end of the prominard away from all the noise etc. The beach is litterally 400 yards away across the road.
The main sandy beach where most people go is approx 5 minutes walk away.
Parking is no issue as they have car parking at the rear.
The service is very friendly and helpfull. They really can't do enough for you.
I would recommend this guest house to anyone wanting a quality guest house in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannyandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

we stayed for three nights long weekend ,had the lower or ground floor room
looking onto main road,the room was very clean in fact the guest house was dust free
the english breakfast bacon ,egg,beans,hash browns ,ect.was just great parking at the rear
plenty of room & not to far to walk for the beach,shops,pubs 5 min,if it was raining you could
stop in & hire films from the library just see a member of the family great weekend
thanks once again dave& sandra.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

This is a decent guest house a short walk from the town centre (15 mins) and railway station (10 mins), in a quiet location, less than 5 walk mins from the beach. The room was a little small, but everything was fine otherwise. There`s no view to speak of, mind.
The owners were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was pretty decent, the usual choice of cereals, fruit (limited), good coffee & toast, plus full english breakfast (sausage, bacon, hash brown, tinned tomato, baked beans, fried bread, fried egg) cooked to order, or bacon/sausage sandwiches or any combination of these.
A real bonus, for evenings and any rainy days, is the DVD library, a pretty good selection, which you can borrow on request and watch on the TV/DVD combo in the room.
Weymouth has no shortage of pubs and restaurants, so eating shouldn`t be a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djl-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Acqua Beach Weymouth
Acqua Beach Weymouth
#51 of 166 in Weymouth
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weymouth Beach B&B
Weymouth Beach B&B
#33 of 166 in Weymouth
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#34 of 166 in Weymouth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
No. 98 Boutique Hotel
#24 of 166 in Weymouth
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#8 of 166 in Weymouth
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Johns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Johns Guest House

Address: 7 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Johns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynne and Andy welcome you to St John's Guest House - a well appointed family run guest house in Weymouth providing a quality B&B experience just 60 yards from the beach. We took over in 2017 with a view to continuing the good work established by the previous owners and building upon it. All guest rooms are en-suite and many have new king size beds. We also offer free Wi-Fi, complimentary movies and bottled water as well as a large on site car park making St John's Guest House the ideal place to enjoy your stay in Weymouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Johns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Johns Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing