We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Barn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Barn Farm
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We had a 3 night break here. The staff were very helpful & friendly enough. Everything is extremely clean & orderly - hence the many rules - but we appreciated this and saw it as a big plus - especially the enforced quiet after 11pm). On one night a new family were chatting loudly well after 11 & it was a fellow camper who went over & told them to be quiet. There is a good atmosphere on site. The swimming pool on the sister site is perfect for the kids & their shop is very well equipped - the burgers made from their own beef are amazing! Wonderful views! Great farm walk & can sometimes catch race horses training.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mendoza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    89
    41
    26
    25
See reviews for
138
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here for the second time over August bank holiday and hoped that the women at reception (the shop) were just having a bad day last time. No such luck, still just as rude and miserable, luckily we didn't spend much time there. It is a shame because the shower and toilet block is good and the site pretty tidy, but no way will I go back to be treated that way again, especially as the site is not exactly cheap.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KLJ605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for your comments. Sea Barn Farm is a popular site, which the vast majority of guests thoroughly enjoy visiting. Others have mentioned that they have found staff at the shop and elsewhere on the park helpful and friendly.

As you give no specifics, it is hard to see what these ladies may have done to upset you or what you may have done to upset them. Clearly some relationships just don't work out!

But in general we find that those who treat park staff and other guests with good humour, good manners, respect and consideration find they get the same in return. Staff will do all they can to accommodate the reasonable requests of guests but not all requests are reasonable. Believe it or not, one guest to the park on Bank Holiday Monday arrived after several hours of heavy downpour and demanded a dry pitch that was out of the rain! When it was pointed out that this was not possible in the prevailing weather conditions the customer concerned was bullying and rude to the ladies in the reception and then behaved in a similar manner towards other staff elsewhere. In which context, it may be that you are right and it is just unfortunate for all concerned that your visits to Sea Barn Farm coincided with bad days for the ladies on reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with a group of friends (20-23). I've not been camping for years so was apprehensive about it but actually really enjoyed it here!
On arrival we were told that we could just pitch up anywhere that didnt have the electric pitches as we hadnt booked one as it was fully booked for those pitches. We did manage to find a pitch however I would advise that groups are told specifically were to pitch? This saves alot of issues with weres suitable to pitch etc as I did notice in the site rules that tents were suppose to be 6 metres away from one another, well we didnt really stick to that as there was no where to go?
We did have to pay a £80 bond on arrival but that was fine as we got it back when we left.

The shower block here is not to bad its pretty clean, nice sized blocks, enough toilets and even had little wash rooms. Although there does need to be more showers the ques in the mornings was ridiculous! Also I was confused to see that there were shaver plugs in the ladies wash rooms? Surely more plugs would of made sense? As there is only two plug sockets in the ladies toilets which is meant for hair dryers etc but some people did charge there phone - I'd recommend getting a car charger for phones we had one and it was great!

The site does have a little shop which is great as you are always bond to forget something or fancy something to eat!! It wasnt to pricey either! We had to use the sinks to wash up one morning and didnt bring washing up stuff so managed to get washing up liquid, sponge and tea towel for a few pounds.

The camp does have quite a few rules like you have to be quiet after 11 which is fair enough and we were told to be quiet and once told we stuck to it.

Overall a good site for camping! Really not as bad as I thought it was going to be!

Room Tip: Vist Portland Bill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. The August Bank Holiday Weekend tends to be the busiest of the year, but Sea Barn Farm is open from March to the end of October, so there are plenty of opportunities to visit when the park is less full. Standard pitches are not specifically allocated, to give guests as much flexibility as possible - especially when some have very big tents and others very small. This system has been operating for many years and, for the most part, has been found it to work well. Thank you for your consideration towards our other guests and sticking to the quiet nights policy when reminded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

If you are after good service and facilities forget this place. Its getting very tired and the owners and staff appear to have given up and are just running the place for the money.

Good for families who don't mind noisy kids walking around very late at nights or roughing it in the less than adequate toilet and shower blocks. The hot water was often well below the legal standard and cleaning was carried out infrequently. Your money is too hard earned to waste it on a place like this.

You can find much better and we will not be returning

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red_jelly_beanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Sea Barn Farm is a popular AA Graded three pennant park. The toilet and shower facilities are cleaned and checked regularly throughout the day and night. The vast majority of other visitors have commented on how clean the facilities are. There are two facilities blocks, the new one nearest to the shop, which was a substantial investment and includes: underfloor heating; toilets, showers and separate sink cubicles; two additional family bathrooms with baths, showers, sinks and toilets; a laundry room with washers, driers and ironing facilities. The other, more traditional block, is older, but is cleaned to the same high standards required of the new block.

The park operates a well-enforced (see other reviews) quiet nights policy and also requires that children are back with their parents by 10.30 pm at the latest. We have no reports from other guests or our night staff of "noisy children" roaming the park late at night.

Sea Barn Farm is a very popular camping destination for families with children, especially during the main school holidays. The park is, nonetheless, open from March through to the end of October, so there are plenty of opportunities to camp when there are fewer children and others around - the park's quiet nights and no fires policy applies throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed as a couple at sea barn farm over the august bank holiday weekend, it was very busy and we booked late so were pleased to find a pitch tucked into a corner but still close to the facilities (showers and toilets). Some of the campsite is very hilly and our pitch was on quite a steep hill but this was explained in advance on their website. The facilities were very good for showering and washing up and there is a small shop on site if you need anything. Sea barn farm capsite is quite a way from the swimming pool and club house situated in the neighbouring campsite but that didn't really bother us. My only complaint would be that the rules seem to prioritise families wanting quiet from quite early in the evening above all other guests, I understand that they have children which will be sleeping but I don't think being warned about noise at 11pm when you are simply having a quiet conversation is appropriate, families woke me up in the mornings but I don't enter complaints. Also, there was no supervision over when tents were pitched too close to others, a family arrived the day after us and pitched their tent too close to ours and parked their car about 2 inches from our tent ropes but the staff mentioned nothing about this to them, definitely biased towards families. Also, no access to the beach as it would seem by looking at their website, its a short drive away to any beaches.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks for your comments. Sea Barn Farm is a popular family camping park which has many visitors every year. The August Bank Holiday weekend is the busiest of the season, but the park is open from March to the end of October - so there are lots of opportunities to visit outside of the peak season. During the main school holidays, Sea Barn, quite understandably attracts a high proportion of families and the park caters for them, but also all other guests who enjoy quiet camping and a good night's sleep - this is not confined to people with children and is the reason Sea Barn Farm, and many other licensed camping parks and camping organisations set "quiet time" from 11 pm. The impact of noise on a camp site at night has a disproportionate impact, as even the sound of a conversation can carry many metres and be audible and disturbing to others through the thin fabric walls of a tent. Many of our guests have commenting on how quiet the site is at night, and that is why they come, and why the park operates a clearly promoted "quiet nights" policy.

We received only one complaint over the Bank Holiday weekend about a tent being pitched too close to another, and that guest was asked to move to a more suitable spot.

The walk to the shore of the Fleet lagoon is, as stated on the web site, 500 metres. The best beaches for swimming locally are in Weymouth, which is 6 miles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked online and confirmed booking with electric hook up over phone so packed kettle, electric cool box and packed with chilled food etc .
We arrived at Sea Barn only to find that 'apparently' we had only booked standard site with no power... the grotesque excuse for a receptionist (who we had hoped to have a least given a smile on arrival with a possible 'welcome and hope you enjoy your stay) was incredibly rude and obviously doesn't get any job satisfaction! After speaking with another family they also were expecting electric hook up only to be told they also hadn't any electric available despite booking one as with us.
Apart from this we were told that the £20 'bonds' we had to pay to ensure we abide by the campsite rules may not be returned on departure if all rules not been obeyed. (please read all T's and C's before committing. Despite this the main site was ok with a clean and newish shower block and although the sea views are lovely access to the beach below was not available and had to drive into Weymouth. But we did have a good time apart from the above. Gripe over!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks for your comments. We are aware of NO instances of customers having BOOKED an electric hook-up pitch and not receiving one. We have had ONE instance of a customer THINKING that they had booked an electric hook-up pitch, but actually booking a STANDARD pitch - as proven by the on-line booking form submitted by the customer and the amount of the deposit paid (which is less for a standard pitch). The park staff may be many things, but telepathic they are not and consequently they provided what the customer had actually asked and paid for - a standard pitch. During less busy periods, it might have been possible for staff to have accommodated this customer on an electric hook-up pitch, despite their own oversight in failing to actually book one, but on this occasion all the EHU pitches were already occupied by guests who had actually requested and paid the requisite deposit for one.

On other issues, the walk from Sea Barn Farm camping park to the shore of the Fleet Lagoon is, as stated on the web site, 500 metres. The lagoon separates the mainland from the Chesil Bank - as shown on the main picture of the website. The walk to the lagoon is both beautiful and popular with guests. Yes, we ask members of groups to pay a bond (as clearly stated on the park's website). The vast majority of whom get it refunded at the end of their stay. It's what helps to keep Sea Barn Farm a peaceful enjoyable place to camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed at Sea Barn during a windy few days a few weeks ago. The facilities are really nice (well the modern block is anyway) with a bath for families and little kids to use.

Staff were helpful and the shop was well stocked. It was easy to get into weymouth, however I could have happily stayed on site and enjoyed the vistas!

Nice little kiddies playground there too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshyw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
0.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 22 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#22 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Barn Farm

Property: Sea Barn Farm
Address: Sea Barn Farm Fleet, Weymouth, Dorset DT3, UK Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Weymouth
Also Known As:
Sea Barn Farm Hotel Weymouth
Sea Barn Farm Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing