We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Compact Overall”

Charlotte Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlotte Guest House
Ranked #123 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Me and my partner have spent 2 nights at this little guest house and the reason why we picked this one was because we were able to take our dog with us. The guest house is in an excellent location although the parking can get a little messy depending how you park. Ask the owner for a permit if you can. Our room was very small and so was the ensuite. There was nowhere to relax in the evening when you go back to your room as there are no chairs. The room however was clean. It was ok for the 2 nights we stayed but we couldnt have coped with it any longer given the size of the room. The breaksfast is what you would expect for a 2 star guest house. The owner was very welcoming and very freindly. We wont go back to this guest house but if you are after a good cheap 2 star guest house in a good location then give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris1954, Manager at Charlotte Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for one night before taking an early morning ferry to the Channel Islands. We chose this Guest House because we were travelling with two cats and they accepted pets. We stayed in a family room. The room and en suite were both dated and dirty. I'm not sure if smoking was allowed but it had definitely been done in our room. One of our windows were shattered and the other one couldn't close properly (so we had a job to keep the cats in). The bed was extremely uncomfortable. It didn't look like anybody bothered to clean. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. The Guest House is very centrally located for the Weymouth seafront and ferry terminal and the room was very cheap (£65). Staff were friendly and helpful. I won't stay here again unless we are travelling with pets but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA-Girl-Gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Thank You for having availabilty at last minute.
Not Far at all from Train station or town centre and beach.
Room was lovely. just what you want for a room. Comfy bed, pillows and no noise.
Breakfast was lush and filled me up tea time!
Only quarm is the toilets are very noisy when flushed.

Lovely to walk out near enough on the marina too!! :)

People were lovely and friendly. and didnt bother you at all.

Def stay here again and would recommend to other :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

well that was the wettest weekend away i've ever had (and not in a good way),thank goodness we'd got a good guest house.we were in room 5 at the top of the house and although there were only the 2 of us we had been given a family room so plenty of space and cupboards.nicely decorated and a good sized f/s t.v with freeview,very handy in view of the weather.shower room/toilet very clean and of a reasonable size with good water pressure from the shower,although the extractor fan could do with beefing up.usual breakfast choices seemed well met by the other guests but my other half and i don't eat meat so the choice was limited to eggs and baked beans on toast,however the scrambled egg was nice and more than enough for someone like me who rarley eats the meal.
finaly a tip for curry lovers,the balti restaurant just a few yards up the road is totaly fantastic and well worth a visit ,it boasts many unusual and orignal meals and is much larger than it seems from the outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kusadasikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This place was five minutes' walk from the train station and five minutes' walk from the seafront. My room was small and basic, but all I needed was a single bed and a lockable door, and it also had a kettle with tea, coffee and milk and a washbasin. No bathroom, but I opted to have a room without; ones with bathroom were available. My room was in the top floor facing the road, which was a sort if cul de sac/disused tramway, but very nearby was a busier road and roundabout so I really needed my earplugs, but with them I got a really good night's sleep. Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank Hansieryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had two rooms, including one en-suite. The beds were very comfortable, the manager was very helpful, and it all cost less than £20 per head. No regrets!
The location doesn't look great, but it is actually 2 minutes walk from the center, the beach, and the station, so it is actually very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

we have just enjoyed a long weekend here we chose this as it is cheap and close enough to seafront with parking and we wanted a ground floor room. we thought it was clean and tidy good breakfast and the host martin very helpful he even got us a fan as it was a clammy weekend! there was fresh towels every day, plenty of tea coffee and biscuits daily. will go back next time very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrea_bob11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#35 of 166 in Weymouth
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
7.1 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Guest House

Address: 5 Commercial Road, Weymouth DT4 7DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £51 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlotte Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charlotte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Charlotte Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing