We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let down”

Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 3 March 2014

food - below average, service - provided by a very blank girl, probably quite new to the trade. other staff extremely helpful and patient with a tired tot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank corneliaf_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed that you found your meal below average and we note and value your general comments. With regard to your positive comments on the other staff that served you, we are pleased that you found the staff helpful.

We would be delighted to see you all again at Westers where you can be assured you would be made very welcome.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Had lunchtime special here with my partner,we chose the Pannini with ham and cheese with tomato It was served with a lovely green salad garnish and garlic dip dressing.and Pot of tea for two .Hot and delicious. Fast friendly and courteous service with a smile from the charming waiter. Very reasonably priced .Will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Huw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Westers for lunch and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife had been here for lunch on 2 occasions very recently and said how much it had changed so we decided to eat here for my Birthday. The staff were very welcoming and friendly bringing drinks to the table and along with Olives, bread and dips. We ordered starters and mains then sat down to delicious stuffed mushrooms.
The mains consisted of Ribeye Steak and 2 chicken dishes, all of which were excellent. The Service was excellent, not over the top but just right. We will certainly be eating here again and it is one to recommend to our guests.
Thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank seasprayWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us at Westers and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My partner had booked a meal for us as a late Valentines evening out.
The service was warm, friendly and very proffesional. We had pre drinks and complementary tappas was served. We were taken to our table there were candles lit and flowers on the table. The food was excelent, we chose from the Valentines menu. Three courses for a very reasonable price.
We had a bottle of wine nicely chilled and finished our evening off with coffee in the lounge. We were offerd a complementary brandy etc. If we wanted but Im afraid we were too full. I was given a chocolate rose to take home. A wonderful relaxing night. Please try for yourselves you won't be dissapointed. Many thanks all at Westers.
Sylvia and Tony

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank desertangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Tony and Sylvia

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us on Valentines day.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Having read the reviews and been told it had been good in the past by friends we decided to book for Valentines evening, four of us. We were given the Valentines menu and were served by very nice friendly staff. However the food was a real let down. We had Halloumi which was too dry (done it many times and as an ex-restaurant owner served it many times) in an altogether dry bit of Pitta bread ! The main meal was mediocre and we were shocked when one of our plates had a huge piece of cling film hanging from it when it was put in front of us ! what does that tell you?! I ordered the triple chocolate mousse which was just a frozen lump of tasteless type ice cream and none of us saw the Champagne Sorbet !!
Overall it was a very disappointing evening and unfortunately wont be going back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank katy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestersWeymouth, Owner at Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are always disappointed to receive a review where customers are unhappy with the service they have received.

I have checked with our staff to ensure your complaint had been handled to your satisfaction on the night however they have informed me that they did not receive any complaint at the time from your table.

If you would be kind enough to contact us directly I would be only to pleased to discuss any complaint you have with a view and hopefully resolving your complaint to your satisfaction.

Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westers The Cellar Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing