We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channel View Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Channel View Guest House
Ranked #32 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have been coming to Channel View Guest House with my mother for a few years now usually over the August Bank holiday weekend for about 5 days. We had visited Weymouth a few years ago but did not know the town very well. When I began looking for a B&B initially I had trouble finding the right venue for us, then I found the Channel View and we have not gone anywhere else. The venue is fantastic, a short parade of Georgian houses which are mostly B&Bs. The front rooms have a wonderful sea view. We went in early September this year and the weather was changeable, it is lovely sitting at the table in the bay window (Room 2) watching bad weather in the evening! Martin and Alison have looked after us both very well from our first visit and we really do feel at home. The breakfast is excellent, with a good choice of cereals and fruit juice, you do not go hungry! The rooms have everything you need although we didn't need the fan this year! A nice touch is that biscuits are provided every day with your fresh tea and coffee supplies, not all B&Bs do that. It is a small B&B which we prefer as there is a more relaxed atmosphere which you certainly get here. The rooms are also spotlessly clean and decorated tastefully. The venue is good - the railway station is nearby, and it is a very pleasant walk into town. Already planning our trip next year!

Room Tip: Sea views are worth it (front of house)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KilburnJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
77
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights on a quick break. Alison and Martin the owners are very welcoming and equipped their rooms really well. We paid £68 per room per night including a very generous breakfast. Although the room was a little small we were lucky to get booked at all as it was their last room and they were very clear before we booked that it was not a large room and had no sea view so we have no complaints at all. The rooms had all you needed, all the usual toiletries you would expect to find in a hotel and even had bath robes in the wardrobe. They had even thought to make sure we had bottles of water, a mini fridge and the all important bottle opener (thanks guys). The only drawback although not a problem for us was that the bathroom was teeny tiny, if you were a slightly larger couple it would not be ideal. We would deffo go back, I think I would ask for a sea view room next time.

Room Tip: Just make sure you book a slightly larger room if you are a slightly larger couple ;o) at no extra c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petitemoi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at channel view and we wish we were still there! Fantastic hosts- Alison and Martin really do make your stay so welcoming, our 2 year old little girl loved them (this says a lot for someone who's really shy). Breakfast was great and the room had everything we needed.
Whilst on our little stay we visited the Sealife Centre which was a fab day out, went on the tower which had great views but only lasted 5mins. Best place to eat was the George looks over the 'harbour'- had a fab steak!

Overall a fantastic visit to Weymouth :)

The Kelly's x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at fairly short notice. Martin & Alison made us feel so welcome. They were a great help and the breakfasts were wonderful! Great location overlooking the beach and it was soothing to hear the waves on the shore from the room. Great views of the bay as well. Railway station and town very close. Nice touches in the rooms, binoculars for the views, shower, towels, toiletries, hairdryer, robes, tea making facilities, mini fridge,TV, fan and heating. Would definitely return and for longer next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Fabulous quiet location on the sea front. Very clean and homely. Rooms spotless with excellent shower facility. Superb breakfast and great hosts. Alison and Martin made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were very lucky to find this place at such short notice as a previously booked location had water damage. How a B & B should be. Absolutely perfect and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Clicked swimming pool and fitness centre as excellent in error - obviously these facilities are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Len T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for two days to explore Weymouth and had a great time. The b&b is right next to the beach and just five minute walk from the town centre. Alice and Martin are the perfect hosts., extremely friendly and have lots of information on the area.The whole place is very clean and well looked after. We stayed in the family room that looked out onto the beach. The room was very spacious and clean with a mini fridge, a hair dryer, two robes,a fan, which was much appreciated and a pair of binoculars that my 5 year old son loved. The ensuite had plenty of room and was also very clean and well equipped with toiletries. The breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. Thank you Martin and Alice we had a lovely time and hope to return soon. Diolch yn fawr :))

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I wished we had more time to spend at Channel View with Alison and Martin. Their pride in their guest house shows in the amenities they provide and the cleanliness of all rooms and public areas - inside and outside. The whole place is always immaculate. Alison and Martin are perfect hosts making you feel right at home from the moment you arrive. They will go out of their way to help you in anyway they can. Breakfast is a delight and Martin cooks it to perfection. Tea and coffee in the room is always a welcome touch. The position of Channel View is ideal too; the beach is on the doorstep and it's only a few minutes walk to the centre of Weymouth. We just wish we were here!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if they have one available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ashmira Guest House
Ashmira Guest House
#14 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Stanley Guest House
The Stanley Guest House
#27 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#29 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southville Guest House
Southville Guest House
#47 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel View Guest House

Property: Channel View Guest House
Address: 10 Brunswick Terrace | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Channel View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Channel View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel View Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing