We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome in Weymouth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitecliff Guest House

Whitecliff Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitecliff Guest House
Ranked #108 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly welcome in Weymouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Have just returned from a weekend in Weymouth. We went with our best friends. The location of the guest house is fantastic. Dennis, the owner, was very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely room with a sea view. It was spotlessly clean. The shower and toilet area was small but it was great to have our own facilities. Our friends were also pleased with their room.
We prearranged a time with Dennis for breakfast. The full English breakfast was lovely and the service was very friendly.
The four of us had a great time and we definately give this Guest house a big "thumbs up"
Debbie and Pete Turner

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Myself, my partner and 2 children booked into the whitecliff guest house for this weekend and Dennis the owner could not have been more accomodating with regards to our room allocation. He changed our rooms so they were next to eachother and did not increase the charge despite the rooms being more expensive and was generally a very nice friendly chap throughout the whole booking process.

Unfortunately, children being children, one of them developed tonsillitis and we have had to postpone our trip - will definitely be booking with Dennis in the very near future.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

A lovely Georgian terraced property almost on the beach and near the Art Deco pier-head building I was welcomed warmly by the proprietor, Dennis, who gave clear information about the faciltiies and handed over keys to the house, a bathroom and my bedroom. I was particuarly fortunate as I expected to share the bathroom, but had exclusive use of it. There was also a washbasin in the bedroom, but it did take a while for it to drain. The rooms are extremely clean and fresh-looking. Although I had booked a single there was a double bed in the room, which was cosy and to the front of the property, so had a brilliant view straight onto the beach and the sea. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding felt and smelt fresh. A time was agreed for breakfast, which was beautifully cooked, using fresh tomatoes and mushrooms. I was particularly impressed that Dennis checked I ate eggs, after I told him I did not eat meat. He was very helpful all round with regard to the accommodation and getting around the sights of Weymouth. I suspect he may have been in the forces as he is extremely well-organised!

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the front, the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

Staying in this guest house was not the best experience i've had, the rooms are small and the toilet and shower are in separate closets, it was unbelieveably tiny in both shower and toilet absolutely no room to move in any direction, most uncomfortable.

lots of obvious things seemed to not be up to standard, we weren't looking for things to pick on but there was limescale in the room kettle, a horrid tea tray that looked like it needed a good wash or binning, there were hairs in the toilet sink and pink shampoo stuck to shower unit from previous occupier, some grot around the plug hole in the shower, a piece of the sliding door came off in my hand when showering, and no where to stand bottles in the shower itself, there was old blue tac stuck on the outside of the room doors that also looked like they need a good lick of paint.

our first breakfast there was and ok experience, not much choice it was full english and/ or cereal, our toast arrived cold, along with a grumpy staff member, we were narrowed down to a specific time of when to eat, not what we would have prefered, another couple came down early and were berated by the owner for being early and told to eat cereal while they wait.
i understand he wanted it to be made fresh but that was abit much!

the location was amazing literally a stones throw away from the beach, weymouth itself is a lovely little place, i recommend the sealife centre a 15 to 20 min walk away from the guest house, or take the land train, take discount vouchers as it is a little pricey to get in, but worth it if you have kids and spend the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

decided to go to weymouth at last minute and turned up without booking anywhere however if we go in future we would book this bed and breakfast as i dont think we could of got much better. the place is very clean, Dennis very helpful and couldnt do enough for you. beds are comfortable, no complaints at all, breakfast is brilliant, very well cooked, i couldnt eat lunch i was still full up!! excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate20554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Just what is needed for a few days away !
Mine host, Dennis ..... welcoming and cheery !
Beds very comfy, Breakfast , well we both struggled to eat it all !!
A view to die for, right on the front , situated on the terrace of smaller B and B's , that we preferred ,rather than larger , more impersonal hotels .
We'll certainly return , and hope to bring more of the family again soon .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Recently updated with new carpets and furniture. A charming guesthouse with a friendly, personal welcome serving full english breakfasts. Excellent location on the seafront with views of the sea from the breakfast room. Easy walk to the town, harbour and railway station. Very quiet position with no noisy traffic passing by.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollyputthekettleon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
2.6 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
4.1 mi away
Pump Cottage
Pump Cottage
#1 of 3 in Upwey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#88 of 170 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitecliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecliff Guest House

Property: Whitecliff Guest House
Address: 7 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitecliff Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whitecliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecliff Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing