We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, hospitable and yummy breakfasts!”
Review of Aaran Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aaran Guesthouse
Ranked #63 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, hospitable and yummy breakfasts!”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My mum and I stayed here for 4 nights and could not fault anything. From a warm welcome to a caring seeing us off on the last day we felt like we had been invited to stay with family. The room was well equipped with a luxury towel bale, comfortable bed, tv, shower, chairs, side tables and a handy fridge. The little touches like toiletries, chocolates, bottles of water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits just added to the feeling of welcoming. The room was toasty and comfy. The views beautiful. The breakfasts scrummy! Denise and Jim could not have been kinder, more caring or helpful. An A* experience. Could not recommend more!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiggr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
50
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

What a really nice, clean place to stay! Welcomed warmly by the owhers. Although we only stayed for one night everything was really good. Oh and by the way what a cracking breakfast 5*. Dedinately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed for one night over the bank holiday and found it to be an excellent hotel. The location is excellent as its close to the harbour and beach.

The room was excellent and overlooked the beach. I can't think of a better view i've ever had from a hotel room before to be honest. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. The English breakfast was also very good.

Looking forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerrigan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruniquel, France
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A clean and basic hotel. We stayed for 2 nights in a room that looked across the beach and Esplanade. Friendly reception on arrival and all basic amenities in the room. The breakfast is ample in quantity, but leaves much to be desired in terms of quality. Tasteless eggs, sausages with maxi cereal and mini meat. Toast using the cheapest of slices bread. I would prefer a better breakfast and not have a chocolate on my pillow!

Room Tip: Rooms noisy during holidays when the fair is outside in front of the Paviliion theater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyfatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Mrs Fatfish,
your comments about our breakfast are rather misguided and misleading. We use Foot's Farm eggs, Little Angus bacon, Neway Farm sausages, thick-slice Hovis or Kingsmill white or brown bread (definitely not the cheapest!), HP or Branston beans, fresh tomatoes grilled - and so on. We spend more on our breakfast ingredients than the vast majority of our competitors - we also cook fresh that morning, unlike some competitors. Our ingredients cost £4:86 per breakfast including toast and drinks plus overhead on top of that. Since we charge nothing for breakfast I would say that is something of a bargain.
You could for example stay nearby, paying up to £250 per night and face very similar ingredients for breakfast, but probably not in such generous proportions and not served by the owners. I am sorry we are a 3-star guest house and not a 5-star luxury hotel but we do our best
On the occasion you stayed with us, we were unable to obtain thick sliced bread from our shops here in Weymouth and you appear to have based your comments on that sole fact. We would like you to read the other reviews, both on Trip Advisor and on Eviivo, for example and then study our guest book - where EVERY comment about our breakfasts is good.
Thank you for your attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Me and my mom have stayed at this hotel many times and this as ever is a fantastic hotel the owners are really great and welcomed us like they had known us forever.
The breakfasts are fantastic and the hotel very very clean with great views of the boats one side of the building and the sea the other with mints on the pillows every day the best hotel ive ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We return year after year to celebrate new year and at least once in the summer month`s.Mine hosts Denise & Jim make your stay all you could wish for this really is home from home can`t wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have either a seaview or a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alan_w_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
We always look forward to seeing you and your friends around New Year. You make the holiday period most enjoyable and we can't wait to see your fancy dress costumes each year. We hope you will continue to enjoy our hospitality as much as we enjoy your company. Thank you for your kind review
Denise and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Only stayed for one night but could not fault Aaran House in any way. The location could not have been better, at the quieter end of the sea front and backing on to the romantic harbour. We stayed in room no.1 - Beach View - which truly had breathtaking views over the bay that you could sit and watch from the table and chairs by the large window in our room. Whilst not overly spacious, our en suite room was very clean and had everything that we needed. Our hosts were genuine and hospitable very generously let us have a late checkout due to taking part in the British Heart Foundation charity sea swim. Would definitely return and recommend to young couples like ourselves.

Room Tip: Beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TiffanyCARogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 165 in Weymouth
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weymouth Sands Guest House
Weymouth Sands Guest House
#88 of 165 in Weymouth
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#57 of 165 in Weymouth
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cavendale
The Cavendale
#119 of 165 in Weymouth
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#29 of 165 in Weymouth
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaran Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaran Guesthouse

Property: Aaran Guesthouse
Address: 2 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aaran Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy family-run Guesthouse with fantastic views from every room and generous freshly cooked breakfasts. We do NOT include wifi in our accommodation offer but we do include great value and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aaran Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaran Guesthouse Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing