We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aaran Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aaran Guesthouse
Ranked #58 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Yet another perfect stay at Aaran House. Recently undergone a little touch up but the excellent service still stays the same. Jim and Denise still give you a hearty welcome and still nothing is too much trouble. We stay here whenever we are down as a group of friends and also when we visit with our respective partners. Why stay anywhere else? We wouldn't! Excellent breakfasts ranging from fruit, cereals, toast and cooked breakfasts that are freshly cooked for YOU and tailored to your requests. Very close to condor ferries, very close to the beach and harbour. In fact every room either has a beach or harbour view. Nothing quite like watching the boats go out early on a still summers morning. Very close to the town centre, so like I say.......why stay anywhere else?

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bikeronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
It is always a treat to see you and your friends here again and a great chance to catch up over breakfast - and commiserate if the best fish escaped again (but not this time eh Chris!)
We really look forward to your visits and cant wait till you return.
Best wishes to you all
Jim and Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
48
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Very friendly, clean and excellent breakfast coupled with reasonable price with sea views ....! Five minute walk from the shops or a walk along the beach lovely area and location. Idea for a weekend break or longer!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mark
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed the weekend and would like to celebrate that you had a rain-free visit (thanks to Aaron buying a mac!) and a sack-load of fish to boot. Cant get better than that. We look forward to next time being just as good. Best wishes from Jim and Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here end of April in room 3 . Fantastic views over promenade and beach . The owners Denise and Jim were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble . I really appreciated the information they gave me when I planned my walk to Portland Bill. Good quality hearty breakfast .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1960Raynewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back soon. The "Big Breakfsat" will be waiting for you when you return and we will try to live up to everything you said and better.
Kind regards
Jim & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent location and superb views over the bay or the harbour. Well cooked and a very tasty breakfast. Our room , although a little on the small side was very clean but in need of a refurb. Very nice owners.

Room Tip: We had a front room overlooking the bay but I am sure the harbour view rooms would be more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review - however we are disappointed about your comment on needing a refurb
The shower was replaced and retiled this January. The carpet was new in November last year. The room was painted November last year. The desk and mirror and chair etc are also brand new (only 3 other people have seen them!) The TV is also new (and bigger). The wardrobe is also brand new in February. It is difficult to imagine how much more refurbished the room could possibly be (especially compared to most of our neighbours and competitors who appear to us to be stuck in the nineties).
Aaran House is one of only a small number of guesthouses in Weymouth which do refurbish every year and we would hate for any readers to get a false impression from this review. We are also one of a handful to have gained quality awards (e.g. Jurassic Coast Quality Business).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The room was exceptionally clean, the location was perfect, and the hospitality of Jim and Denise was always warm and friendly. The breakfast was excellent, and they even went out of their way to get me some hot sauce when they found that I liked it with my meal. I would recommend Arron House to anyone without hesitation, and if we are ever in Weymouth again, this will be my first choice.
Bob S

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Owner at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We greatly enjoyed chatting to you both over breakfast and learning about your area of Canada, hearing stories of "The Beast" and other mishaps and sharing interests. We hope you will come back to Weymouth and we very much look forward to more good conversation and a catch-up. With a bit of luck, we may even have some Tabasco to hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived late & staff were accomodating. They gave us a free parking pass & waited until we got our luggage. Room was small but homely & warm. Shower was also small & door was hard to shut but the shower pressure was great & really hot. Room was clean although the valence sheet on one of the beds was rather tatty & had some old paint on. However, we slept like a dream & it was lovely waking up to the harbour. Overall 9/10 :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorningsEleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Manager at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear "D", Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed the room and shower and view. We are sorry to have overlooked the valance sheet - We redecorated all the rooms this spring and it seems possible it was contaminated in the process. We shall replace it, thank you.
We hope to see you here in Weymouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last July 2013, and had a really great time. The room was very clean, and we had a great view of the harbour. The bed was extremely comfy, and the room was kept tidy. This is a really great location, about 15 seconds from the beach! A very quiet b&b with lots of nice facilities included. Great price and really enjoyed our stay, will be returning!

Room Tip: 1st floor double room with lovely view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice616, Manager at Aaran Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you will come back and see us again
Kind regards from Jim and Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#68 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weymouth Sands Guest House
Weymouth Sands Guest House
#84 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seacrest Guest House
Seacrest Guest House
#73 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#37 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#31 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#28 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaran Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaran Guesthouse

Property: Aaran Guesthouse
Address: 2 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aaran Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy family-run Guesthouse with fantastic views from every room and generous freshly cooked breakfasts. We do NOT include wifi in our accommodation offer but we do include great value and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Aaran Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaran Guesthouse Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing