We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkey & Tinsel Week-end”
Review of The Richmoor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Richmoor Hotel
Ranked #104 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Turkey & Tinsel Week-end”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

********** This was an organised coash trip for a Turkey & Tinsel week-end. Had a fab week-end, staff really friendly and very helpful. We received complimentary tea and coffee on arrival. Our cases were taken to our rooms by the hotel staff. Food was excellent. Entertainment was good. Hotel on seafront not too far to walk into centre of the town. We didn't have to leave out suitcases outside our room until we went for breakfast on the morning we were leaving - other places we have stayed expect our cases to be out outside the rooms by 7am! Would definately go there again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazymiller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    171
    89
    70
    132
See reviews for
187
274
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed at the hotel the other day, had an excellent time! Service was brilliant the room was spotless and the food was great, very good menu with loads of choice. Very friendly atmosphere and the owner couldn't do enough to make sure our stay at the hotel was perfect. I highly recommend the richmoor hotel if you are looking to stay in Weymouth. 10/10 thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pathronax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Like many recent reviews we just had a 2 night Groupon deal. Great location on the Esplanade not far to walk to the town centre. Staff very friendly and breakfasts were very good. Overall a budget hotel but well worth it if you want a short break.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jford53473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I was part of a group of 18 friends who were booked into this hotel for a "Turkey & Tinsel" Friday-Monday break. The hotel is very well placed, overlooking the sea and a short walk from the main shoppping area. We were given a warm welcome, free tea and coffee on arrival and our cases were taken to our rooms by the staff. Our room, on the third floor, which can only be accessed by either several flights of stairs or by the tiny lift (two persons) which, unfortunately, only went to the second floor, so two more flights of stairs to finally reach our room. We were pleasantly surprised by it's spaciousness, ( though, for our friends opposite, it was a very different story, their room was barely larger than a broom cupboard!) We had a double and single bed and a tiny ensuite (no bath, shower only) Strangely, there was not even a shelf or a hook in the bathroom, so your toiletries have to be stored elsewhere. Ample supplies of tea/coffee etc provided and the bedding and towels were very nice.Overall, well presented. Mealtimes weren't well organised, our table seemed always to be the last served, and the food itself was merely ok. The first day we were there, at about 5pm, our overhead lights went out, and as the evening meal was served at 6pm, there were a lot of us trying to shower and get ready in the dark. The same thing happened the next evening, same time, and then again on the morning of our departure. However, as a bonus twist to this tale of woe, this time it was the sockets that failed, so no hairdryers, kettles or hot water or SHOWER. Unacceptable. No telephones in the rooms so, unless you were prepared to make the long trek down to reception,ring the bell for attention and wait for a member of staff to appear, you had to just get on with it.
Entertainment was provided, I will say no more about that but at least the bar stayed open until the last drinker left, so no gripes on that aspect.
The staff and the manager,Lorraine, would very nice,nothing was too much trouble and despite all the gremlins, we did, on the whole, enjoy our stay. Would I stay there again? Unlikely.

Room Tip: We were in Room 305, very spacious and had a lovely sea view....however, the beds were very uncomfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been to many weekend deals at the Richmoor Hotel and always found it to be a relaxing place with lots of entertainment. I came and went as I pleased and joined in the activities as it suited me. Every time I come I make new friends and revisit old places that I like. I have found the hotel to be comfortable and clean and the staff very helpful. I have seen special requests catered for and people made to feel that they really matter. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and will come again as many times as I can. I love it. The food is great too. I have never seen anyone work as hard as Lorraine, making sure everyone is happy..

Room Tip: I have been many times and there are all different combinations of rooms - ask for what you need. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed here for a weekend with a Groupon voucher, £99 for 2 nights and a meal in the hotel restaurant. We had requested a room with a sea view, and after initially being shown to a different room, we were quickly shown to the room we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful, offering advice on what to see and do in the area. The restaurant was fantastic and is open to non-guests. We ate there both evenings and received delicious food and good service. Breakfast was faultless and you could have as much freshly cooked breakfast as you wanted! Overall a lovely weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger-Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Groupon offered a two-night stay for £99 at The Richmoor Hotel - how could we refuse? The owner, Loraine, was friendly and helpful and so were the rest of the staff we met. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the water and was well presented. We laughed each time we walked from window to door as our floor, in the wonderful old building, was slanted. We had a few minor problems that were quickly adressed as soon as we brought them to the attention of the owner. We had a great time in Weymouth and surrounding area. I would reccomend the hotel to people who wanted personable, friendly service and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyjean1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.4 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#23 of 165 in Weymouth
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#56 of 165 in Weymouth
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timrick Lodge
Timrick Lodge
#97 of 165 in Weymouth
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#29 of 165 in Weymouth
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmoor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmoor Hotel

Property: The Richmoor Hotel
Address: 146 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Richmoor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Weymouth's seafront, on the Jurassic Coast Line, The Richmoor Hotel boasts stunning scenic views. Family friendly the owners really work hard to create a welcoming and homely ambience.The Richmoor Hotel is fortunate enough to have Shelley's Restaurant onsite, an ala carte fine dining restaurant that uses fresh local ingredients to create an imaginative and fresh menu at very affordable prices. Then why not retire to the bar? Shelley's Bar and Grill boasts Seaviews, an extensive Cocktail menu and a menu full of simple food cooked well. The Bar has an Entertainment program, including Live Entertainment from some of Weymouths best singers, Karaoke, Bingo, "Fawlty Towers Dining Experiences," Games and Quizzes. For more specific information about the Entertainment during your stay please ring and enquire.All of the Richmoor Hotel rooms are Fully Ensuite and come with hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clocks and televisions. Some boast views over Weymouth Bay. The Richmoor Hotel prides itself on employing friendly, hardworking and efficient staff that will work hard to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable, and they have a 24 hour reception with both Day Managers and Night Porters.Extra Beds in rooms and Parking can be requested via contact with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Richmoor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmoor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing