We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break holidays review by Sue, Kris and Pete”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gloucester House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloucester House
Ranked #5 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Short break holidays review by Sue, Kris and Pete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have been going to this hotel 3 times a year for the past 12 years. Gloucester House and its owners Chris and Geoff never fail to deliver such a high standard of friendliness and an excellent service as nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The Breakfast is always tasty, well prepared and presented. The rooms are always clean and tidy, well decorated and comfortable. Chris and Geoff are always there to welcome us and to see us off at the end of our wonderful stay and we are looking forward to our next holiday there.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
130
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

For the 2nd Year running we have stopped at the Gloucester House . The hosts Chris and Geoff are wonderful people who are very Welcoming and Friendly. Our room had a fantastic view of the bay , Spotlessly clean throughout, Fantastic Bathroom , Superb Breakfasts , Everybody' s needs catered for . Nothing is too much trouble for Chris and Geoff . We will definitely be returning .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the money .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights midweek unbooked in feb.
Choose this b&b for its location and sea view. Room standard was as expected for a 3 star. The balcony was a nice touch for popping our anniversary champagne.

Breakfast was fantastic, the vegetarian option was great, full English with the choice of either Linda macartney or quorn sausages. The normal full English was highly rated with a perfect 10 for the eggs. Good selection of cereals and herbal teas.

Lovely hosts
Would stay again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Btriplive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had an excellent time at Gloucester House. Chris and Geoff are fantastic hosts and provided a complimentary buffet and bubbly for all the guests on New Years Eve. The breakfasts are superb, the rooms spotless and the location ideal. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We came back to Gloucester house again for New Years eve, as it had been recommended as a great destination to see in the new year. We were not disappointed! It seems to be a tradition in Weymouth to do New Year in fancy dress. Most of the guests in Gloucester house joined in this tradition though not all, and hosts Chris and Geoff put on a free buffet and drinks for all! This was a brilliant way to start the evening before venturing into town to continue the festivities. The clock tower on the see front was the spot to be at midnight, with all in fancy dress gathering there. There was a great atmosphere, and just a very short walk back to Gloucester house where Chris and Geoff were entertaining family and friends, and invited us to join them again which we did. A great night had by all, and definitely will do again!

Room Tip: rooms at the front al have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneBicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our first visit to Gloucester House with friends who have visited twice before for the New Year, it was all that we expected and more. A friendly welcome on arrival, great hospitality on New Years Eve with drinks and buffet provided and the full English breakfast was excellent. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leftpegfid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Superb location. Great facilities. Well priced. But more than all this the welcome and hospitality is second to none. So friendly. Free drinks and buffet. Introduced to family and friends. The hosts even called our mates off the street for a drink. Breakfast spot on. No chance of us not returning. Amazing job, well done.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloucester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloucester House

Property: Gloucester House
Address: 96 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloucester House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gloucester House is ideally situated for Weymouth beach which is literally across the road. The town centre is on our door step and both the railway station and bus station are two minutes level walk away. Greenhill Gardens and Lodmoor Park are a few minutes to our left while the charming harbour and Nothe Gardens are five to ten minutes by foot to our right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloucester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloucester House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing