We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bedford Guest House
Ranked #6 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Clean and comfy rooms, slept really well. The Location is ideal, just a short walk from the train station was great as no driving was needed. Just a short walk to the pubs and restaurants. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, also very knowledgable of the area. The full English breakfast was very tasty and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the harbour and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our guest house. Hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have stayed in this lovely B&B several times and each time it's a delight. The rooms are clean and comfy, the full English breakfast is delicious and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal - very close to the sandy beach, the town and the beautiful harbour. Once we arrived and parked the car, we didn't use it as everything is within walking distance. Weymouth itself is delightful. I imagine that after all the coverage it got in the Olympics, 2013 will be a busy year so better book soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EZF_EZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to add a review for us. Happy New Year from Renia & Graham!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We have stayed in this guest house three times and have enjoyed all our visits. The owners are very friendly and the guest house is very quiet despite being in the centre of Weymouth. A very short walk to pubs and restaurants. Views from the bedrooms have been great either looking over the harbour or towards the bay. I would certainly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the good views
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Manager at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you Peter for your kind review. Its always a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us and we hope to see you in2013! Best wishes, Renia and Graham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Wonderful little guest house with friendly service and great value. Booked the executive single at just £45 a night to find a double and single bed and stunning view down the beach.

Very helpful and friendly staff made it feel homely with a great breakfast.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oz2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed here with a friend for one night over the Olympics as we were down for the sailing. It was lovely with the most friendly couple running the place! Simple, clean and tidy with comfy beds and one of the best home cooked full english breakfasts I have had in ages! They really value their guets at the Bedford and will do what they can to make your stay comfortable. Would take this over a hotel chain any day and will be going back the next time in down in Weymouth!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HRH_HRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your review, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please feel free to book with us again if you visit weymouth again ;o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. The room and the rest of the guesthouse was very clean. The new owners were extremely friendly and pleasant and breakfast was yummy : )

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MCath88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at the Bedford either side of a day trip to the Channel Islands. The Bedford is in a perfect position right next to the port and opposite the beach. We walked from the station which took a comfortable 10 minutes. Weymouth pubs are brilliant and nothing beats fish and chips on the harbour side with a pint of beer. The Bedford is a very welcoming guest house and we had a lovely 2 night stay there. No fuss, no nonsense, clean rooms, a fab position, and a lovely breakfast. If you are going to Weymouth (and if you haven't you must) this is the place to stay but be warned it's obviously popular so book early.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank macca155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 166 in Weymouth
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Cornubia Guest House
The Cornubia Guest House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#1 of 166 in Weymouth
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#4 of 166 in Weymouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Guest House

Address: 17 The Esplanade | Dorset, Weymouth DT4 8DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £84 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please do not take the rankings too seriously, please judge us on the comments our customers leave, thank you. Situated on the historic Georgian seafront of Weymouth, just across the road from the beautiful, soft sandy beach with the historic 17th century harbour to the rear. Ideally situated for the visitor to explore all the many attractions Weymouth has to offer, as well as the rest of the spectacular World Heritage Jurassic coastline.The Bedford offers comfortable and relaxed surroundings in which to enjoy your break. We have eight en-suite guest rooms over three floors with central heating, tea and coffee facilities, TV and Wi-Fi, complementary toiletries, towels provided. Complimentary bottle of water, biscuit and chocolate on arrival. You have you own keys and unlimited access to your room. Our aim is to make The Bedford your Home from Home. Breakfast :Freshly cooked full English breakfast is served in our basement dining room with separate dining tables. Breakfast is cooked to order and served from 8.15Am to 9am at high season and from 8.30Am to 9am at other times. •Orange juice •Choice of cereals •Grapefruit segments •Sausages, bacon, hash brown, fried egg, baked beans and tinned tomatoes •Tea or coffee •Toast Please let us know in advance if you prefer a vegitarian breakfast. Parking Permits:We are allocated a limited amount of free parking permits for the "F Zone" which are given on a first come first served basis. These must be returned to us on departure. Car parking in The Pavilion Car Park about 3 minutes walk away - £8 for 24hours parking. Mobility:Built in the 1800's The Bedford is a listed building with rooms over three floors. We have no lift and no ground floor rooms, and there are some period features which might make access difficult for people with limited mobility. Special room rates may be available, please contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bedford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford House Hotel Weymouth
The Bedford Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing