We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Couple of Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bedford Guest House
Ranked #7 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy Couple of Nights”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Staying at The Bedford Guest House was like home from home, Renia and Graham were very friendly and welcoming, breakfast was tasty and a lovely comfy room with a good view and great location, what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritpoppau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Our thanks to you both for taking the time to leave us a review on TA! . We enjoyed your company and hope to maybe see again one day. Good Luck for your business this summer. x x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
130
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Myself and my two children booked into a family room which overlooked the harbour. We found this to be extremely comfortable and very quiet (well, until we arrived!). The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean, with a little sofa and coffee table so you felt like you could make yourself at home. Renia and Graham were very welcoming and friendly, which made you feel very relaxed. Graham kindly carried my case up to the room and from then on the couple made sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast was excellent and there was no problem to request a variation on the traditional full english for my children, unlike other b&bs we have stayed in. They obviously work extremely hard to make it an enjoyable stay for all their guests. The b&b location is excellent, only 5 minutes from the beach and harbour and the town is not much further. I have been visiting Weymouth since I was a child and I have to say this is the best place I've stayed. Thank you Renia and Graham, hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Hi Clair and the boys! Thank you sooo much for your lovely comments! We do try our best to make our guests feel at home during their stay, but it also makes our job more rewarding and fun when we have lovely guests like you and your boys and definitely hope to see you all again! Best wishes, Renia & Graham x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Renia and Graham greeted us when we arived and were both very nice and helpful. The room was spotless, very comfortable and had a homely feel about it. They also do a great breakfast. The Guest House is in a good location for the beach, the harbor, the town and buses should you need them. My friend and I will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many Thanks Denise for your kind review of The Bedford and it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. We hope to see you again for the Folk Festival next year and which seems to be getting more and more popular each year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

what a lovely couple renia and graham are the most welcoming hosts i have ever met !
The hotel was spotless the beds were so comfy .Breakfast was really nice and they came and cleaned the rooms everyday . And every day i got some mints out of the bowl aha !

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Hi to Claire, Aiden and Niall! Thank you for taking the trouble to leave such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and next time, can I come crabbing with you on the harbour?? Big hugs from Renia & Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A very conveniently located small guesthouse just steps from the quayside and the seafront. Spotlessly clean and friendly hosts, a good 'full English'. Carpets a bit scary although probably expensive to replace. Reasonably priced and Weymouth a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the bay window and a sea view (just)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanette853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you so much Jeanette for leaving your comments on your stay with us and we are very glad you enjoyed it! I know what you mean about the carpet in that room .... and we are slowly getting round to refurbishing each room and the room you stayed in, is next on the list for a complete revamp! So if you come again, hopefully you will have a pleasant surprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife, myself and Cumberland the dachshund, stayed at the Bedford on 26th to 29th April 2013. My husband picked it at random from the internet and neither of us had been to Weymouth before. The moment we entered the front hall we knew it was an excellent choice. Renia and Graham are the perfect hosts and, to be honest, the weekend was more like staying with family than just the proprietors of the house. We were immediately struck by how lovely the old building is, (1750?) and the whole place was absolutely spotless. We sorted out the payment for the weekend and went up to our room which was on the second floor. The room has been newly refurbished in a sort of eclectic way, which added to its charm. There was a great view of the beach from the window. Tea and coffee is available in the room and they were kind enough to lend us a bowl for the dog's water (we had forgotten to bring one!). The bed was super comfy with crisp and freshly laundered white bed linen and an elegant throw that matched the curtains. The toilet and shower was cleaned every day and the tea and coffee replenished every day.

As I said, the old building is lovely but the real jewel in the crown is the beautiful dining room. This is in the basement and through the large window, you could see up into the street. There are many original features in this lovely bright and sunny room and the floor is the original flagstones. The tables were well spaced so that you did not feel crowded and were covered with white lace cloths overlaid with blue linen cloths.

Breakfast, unlike so many places, was cooked to order and arrived piping hot. And it was delicious - sausages, bacon, beans, hash browns, mushrooms, egg, toast, tea or coffee - all lovely and fresh. There is also a choice of cereals, fruit juices and fresh fruit. If you preferred, you could ask for something on toast; I had scrambled eggs with mushrooms and they were lovely.

Renia and Graham were just great. They really were like family and we felt that we had known them for ages instead of just that weekend. We intend to return as soon as we can, as often as we can.

Room Tip: If you find stairs a bit difficult, ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelmilly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you so much Alan and Milly for your wonderful review of our guest house. Was like a real hotel inspector report ...with you making some lovely comments and observations of things which we hope our guests notice and like! It was a pleasure to meet you both (and of course Cumberland, who was a delight, and very clean and tidy!!) and look forward to welcoming you back soon, as friends! Take care. Renia & Graham x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed at The Bedford for 2 nights, very friendly welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Very comfy bed, it didn't even matter that we didn't have a view, ( we were advised of this before we booked ) tea and coffee in the room along with a t.v and comfy chairs to sit in made the stay very enjoyable. Renia and Graham have done very well to bring their guest house to such a good standard, we hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delped, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you Sandra and Peter for your lovely review of your stay with us. Its nice to see that you appreciate the work we put in to making The Bedford a comfortable and welcoming place to stay. Hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#23 of 165 in Weymouth
549 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Guest House

Property: The Bedford Guest House
Address: 17 The Esplanade | Dorset, Weymouth DT4 8DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please do not take the rankings too seriously, please judge us on the comments our customers leave, thank you. Situated on the historic Georgian seafront of Weymouth, just across the road from the beautiful, soft sandy beach with the historic 17th century harbour to the rear. Ideally situated for the visitor to explore all the many attractions Weymouth has to offer, as well as the rest of the spectacular World Heritage Jurassic coastline.The Bedford offers comfortable and relaxed surroundings in which to enjoy your break. We have eight en-suite guest rooms over three floors with central heating, tea and coffee facilities, TV and Wi-Fi, complementary toiletries, towels provided. Complimentary bottle of water, biscuit and chocolate on arrival. You have you own keys and unlimited access to your room. Our aim is to make The Bedford your Home from Home. Breakfast :Freshly cooked full English breakfast is served in our basement dining room with separate dining tables. Breakfast is cooked to order and served from 8.15Am to 9am at high season and from 8.30Am to 9am at other times. •Orange juice •Choice of cereals •Grapefruit segments •Sausages, bacon, hash brown, fried egg, baked beans and tinned tomatoes •Tea or coffee •Toast Please let us know in advance if you prefer a vegitarian breakfast. Parking Permits:We are allocated a limited amount of free parking permits for the "F Zone" which are given on a first come first served basis. These must be returned to us on departure. Car parking in The Pavilion Car Park about 3 minutes walk away - £8 for 24hours parking. Mobility:Built in the 1800's The Bedford is a listed building with rooms over three floors. We have no lift and no ground floor rooms, and there are some period features which might make access difficult for people with limited mobility. Special room rates may be available, please contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Bedford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford House Hotel Weymouth
The Bedford Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing