We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely b & b - great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bedford Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bedford Guest House
Ranked #8 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
2 reviews
“Lovely b & b - great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room we stayed in was clean and tidy, tea and coffee and clean towels were provided every day. Graham and Renia were very friendly and helpful. The only negative for me and my husband was that breakfast finished at 9, which was a bit early for us whilst on holiday. Everything else about our stay was lovely-would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouW1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBedfordWeymouth, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you to you both for taking time to leave us some lovely comments and we do hope you return again one day! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
109
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Rudham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a lovely stay at The Bedford Guest house. Tasty, freshly cooked breakfast and clean, spacious and comfortable room. Perfect location near to Esplanade and old harbour area. Renia and Graham are perfect hosts, friendly and thoughtful. Thanks for a lovely stay! Michelle and John.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 661MichelleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBedfordWeymouth, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Michelle and John. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your few days in Weymouth. Thank you for taking time to leave a review and for your kind comments. We hope to see you again in the future... and we both loved your curly hair Michelle! Take care, Renia & Graham x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Heyford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Many thanks for your help and accommodating me once agian at short notice.

Very nice guest house and freindly, nothing seems to be too much trouble. Very clean and presentable.

Thanks again and keep up the hard work, you deserve all the praise you get for the work you put into running such a lovely buisness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBedfordWeymouth, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Martin - Awwww, thank you so much for you very kind words regarding your brief stay with us. Its just so lovely when guests appreciate what we do here and we will carry on doing our very best! Hope to see you again some time soon. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

lovely guest house reina and graham are lovely people very helpful food for breakfast was excellent good choice of food beautiful sea view from bedroom window would definatley go back there and also would recommend to family and friends thank you to reina and graham for a beautiful stay

Room Tip: room 9 beautiful view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bev50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBedfordWeymouth, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Bev and many thanks from us both for your review. We are very happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us and we hope you can both return - maybe for more than two nights! Warm regards from Renia & Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here with my 9 year old daughter for 2 nights over a very busy June week-end. Our hosts, Renya and Graham were lovely. Friendly and helpful but professional at the same time. The room and en suite were spotless as was the rest of the house, the breakfast perfect, fresh and filling and the location spot on - just at the end of the esplanade near the harbour, so not right in the middle of it all but only a couple of minutes from everything. What was particularly noticeable was the attention to detail and everything taken care of so you didn't have to keep asking for things. Furnishings were good with no chintz or plastic flowers in sight, very tastefully decorated and child friendly hosts. Yes, would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank network21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBedfordWeymouth, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello to you both and a very big thank you for leaving us a review and the lovely comments you made on your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and sincerely hope that you come and stay with us again! Best wishes from Renia & Graham x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Decided to relive my childhood and introduce my husband to Weymouth.I haven't been back since I was 11, so I was praying nothing had changed. As we never stayed in guest houses when we were young, this was going to be a new experience for me. I left it quite late to book (a week before) and booked through booking.com - i used the recommendation from trip advisor.

Easy train from London to Weymouth and a 10 min walk from the train station. Bedford house is situated just in front of the old harbour up by the Pavilion - the perfect spot.

We were greeted by Graham and Reinia on arrival and they are such lovely people. They welcome us into their home and it did feel like a home. We were shown to our room on the first floor - room 2. It was light and airy and beautifully decorated. We had a double bed, large chest of drawers, a mini fridge, tea & coffee facilities, 2 armchairs, plus an ensuite with a shower and mini products. They apologised for the view from the room, as it backed onto the a house, but as we explained we were there for the sea side, not for the view from the room.

We decided to have a shower and go for a walk. The bathroom is small, but we knew about this, but the shower was hot and welcoming - what more do you need. You have your own key to come and go as you please, so there is no clock watching like the old days.

The bed was extremely comfy and even though it was a hot night, the room stayed cool as you could have the window open and not hear any noise. There are plenty of blankets if you do get cold and the linen is of a great quality - great nights sleep was had.

Breakfast in the morning was served between 8:15 - 9:00 and was made to order. There was fresh fruit, juice and cereals which you could help yourself to and also a full english on offer - bacon, sausage, egg, beans, mushroom & hash brown. you could also have things on toast if you wanted to as well. Nothing was too much trouble, extra tea & coffee if you wanted it or a spot more toast.

This is a wonderful place and would give any 5 star a run for its money. Its spotlessly clean, its safe, the staff and owners are amazing and the food its traditional, hearty and excellent quality.

Just before we left we had a look at room 3, which has a large bay window and its a bigger room and I think we will try for that one next time. Hubby and I agree this is our new secret spot and we will be regular visitors here from now on.

Thank you for the perfect weekend and for being the perfect hosts

Room Tip: Room 3 is a big room with a large bay front window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBedfordWeymouth, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi to you both. We are so pleased for you that your visit to Weymouth turned out to be as enjoyable as you had hoped and that your childhood memories such as of Rossis ice cream did not disappoint ! Thank you from us for your in depth and fab review of your stay with us and we sincerely hope that you do return to visit again. Best wishes from Renia & Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I have just stayed 3 nights at this lovely, friendly, perfectly situated guest house. Renia and Graham were just wonderful hosts and genuinely nice people. The hotel was so welcoming and had a home from home feeling. Our room was a great size and had lovely views. Breakfast was ample and always served with a smile. Wouldn't hesitate recommending and we will definitely be back fora return visit.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely and big with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBedfordWeymouth, Owner at The Bedford Guest House, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Joanne and Paul, it was so lovely to meet you both - we enjoyed our chats with you at breakfast time! Thank you so much for your review and really hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Best wishes from Renia & Graham x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.7 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Guest House

Property: The Bedford Guest House
Address: 17 The Esplanade | Dorset, Weymouth DT4 8DT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please do not take the rankings too seriously, please judge us on the comments our customers leave, thank you. Situated on the historic Georgian seafront of Weymouth, just across the road from the beautiful, soft sandy beach with the historic 17th century harbour to the rear. Ideally situated for the visitor to explore all the many attractions Weymouth has to offer, as well as the rest of the spectacular World Heritage Jurassic coastline.The Bedford offers comfortable and relaxed surroundings in which to enjoy your break. We have eight en-suite guest rooms over three floors with central heating, tea and coffee facilities, TV and Wi-Fi, complementary toiletries, towels provided. Complimentary bottle of water, biscuit and chocolate on arrival. You have you own keys and unlimited access to your room. Our aim is to make The Bedford your Home from Home. Breakfast :Freshly cooked full English breakfast is served in our basement dining room with separate dining tables. Breakfast is cooked to order and served from 8.15Am to 9am at high season and from 8.30Am to 9am at other times. •Orange juice •Choice of cereals •Grapefruit segments •Sausages, bacon, hash brown, fried egg, baked beans and tinned tomatoes •Tea or coffee •Toast Please let us know in advance if you prefer a vegitarian breakfast. Parking Permits:We are allocated a limited amount of free parking permits for the "F Zone" which are given on a first come first served basis. These must be returned to us on departure. Car parking in The Pavilion Car Park about 3 minutes walk away - £8 for 24hours parking. Mobility:Built in the 1800's The Bedford is a listed building with rooms over three floors. We have no lift and no ground floor rooms, and there are some period features which might make access difficult for people with limited mobility. Special room rates may be available, please contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bedford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford House Hotel Weymouth
The Bedford Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing