We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingswood Guest House
Ranked #115 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Styed in June as part of our Silver wedding anniversary week, love Weymouth so chose the 4 poster room to celebrate. What a lovley hotel this is. The 4 poster room is very very nice, even has a sea view. The bedding is first class, so comfortable, with modern decor. The car park is really a boon, but only a 5 minute walk to the harbour. Breakfast is excellent with personal service from the owner. Huge bathroom with double shower, and the softest biggest towels ever used. A very nice stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Kingswood Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

Recently stayed at the Kingswood for a long weekend, we were looking for somewhere close to town but not noisy and this couldn't have been more perfect. A huge car park on arrival, (very handy for those who know Weymouth). Room was excellent, very comfy beds, great shower and clean all round. A lovely short stroll down into Brewers Quay then over the bridge to town.
The owners Robbie and Janice couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, they gave us some great tips on places to visit and eat out, although we never wanted much lunch after the fab breakfast that greeted us in the mornings.
I would definately stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dysandisks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed at the Kingswood in Weymouth and had a lovely time. Room was large, the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast.....spot on!
The owners of the Kingswood, Robbie and Janice, were friendly, helpful and made me and my girlfriend feel right at home.
Will be staying here again as very reasonable and location was ideal. Far enough not to get woken up by people walking passed, but near enough to walk into the centre and the sea front!
Thank you Robbie and Janice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Loved the BIG car park, welcome, maps,family room and its layout, flat screen TV, breakfast,location.
All excellent and happy with the odd quirk.
Parking in Weymouth is tough, so the hotel car park was a real bonus!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Having booked the 'luxury' fourposter bedroom we were disappointed mainly with the very uncomfortable bed - soft, creaky and springs in the ribs kind of uncomfortable. We may have put up with the mediocre finish of the room but a bad night's sleep made the price pretty hard to swallow. Having taken our payment upfront on arrival the owner reacted with hostility to our request that we cut our two night stay down to one because we were unhappy with the comfort of the bed. He refused to refund us the total amount for the second night and informed us that he knew we were trouble as soon as he saw us - nice customer service. He went on to rant about his hotel and its star rating and confiscated his guestbook so that we couldn't spoil it with our comments!!

This hotel has apparently been awarded 4 AA stars but on arrival we felt that the hotel was pretty lacking in charm - it smelt stuffy and stale and looked dingy with a dated look that was neither old and elegant or fresh and modern, but more like seventies time warp. This seems to make the pricing quite ambitious - there are much nicer b&b's in the area in quiet streets away from the noisy main road. I would recommend seeking them out and leave the Kingswood well alone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cardboardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We have stayed in many B&Bs and this rates as one of the best all round. Robbie is very pleasant makes you feel welcome and at home. The room was large and very clean with all usual amenities. The breakfast is reported as best in town, and it did not dissappoint. We would stay again without doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrawleyCoasties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Found the hotel after a quick Google when we realised it was either a night in a hotel, or trying to put our tent up in the dark pouring rain. Phoned the hotel while driving into Weymouth, redirected to owner (Robbie) mobile. Robbie was in the pub nearby, he returned to the hotel to meet us and showed us to a room. The hotel is a mix of modern comfort and retains some of its historic character, our room was a good size. Room was very clean, well decorated and very comfortable. Robbie was friendly, breakfast was superb, plenty of choice and quality sausage and bacon, we'd stay again - well worth the £72 we paid for a night, before heading off to the campsite for the rest of our trip.

Justina & Matthew, Essex.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eastney Hotel
Eastney Hotel
#76 of 165 in Weymouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#55 of 165 in Weymouth
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Heritage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingswood Guest House

Address: 55 Rodwell Road, Weymouth DT4 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: £79 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingswood Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing